Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Deep in the Dark

by Crocanti de Pollo - Jam Entry

Deep in the Dark. A stealth game by @doc_pollo and @musivara

Story:

Deep in the Dark. This mysterious forest is your home. You are just a child of a nastily mistreated race. Humans came in to erradicate your kin. What can you do? Well, you can try to summon your father, the Dark Lord, he could manage those pesky hunters. Or you could flee finding the exit alive. The choice is up to you.

Instructions:

Arrows or WASD to move, X to interact.
Try to avoid being seen by hunters as just one shot could kill you.

Credits:

Concept, design, code and audio by @doc_pollo
Art and animation by @musivara

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Mood(Jam)4.04
#79Graphics(Jam)4.38
#80Audio(Jam)3.83
#291Overall(Jam)3.50
#461Theme(Jam)3.54
#499Innovation(Jam)3.04
#627Fun(Jam)2.92
#843Humor(Jam)2.14
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Great atmospherics. Loved the audio and visuals. But the levels were difficult to really piece together, I had no real sense of where I was going. Sometimes I'd end up in locations that didn't really fit with the direction that I moved. Nice dynamic tho. Love stealth games.

emongev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Great game! I admire you for doing a stealth game, i've always wanted to do one :P Great job!

bumbu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Game looks nice and the atmosphere is nice. But transition between screens and inability to move in some directions (when it seemed that is should be possible) was weird.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice atmosphere

bradur says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:29pm

The visuals & audio were both very well executed! The game was a little confusing though, and the way the hunters shot at you was quite irregular & random. All in all, quite a solid entry!

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:01am

I find I could not stop walking and change walking directions in linux (several tries). A bug?

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I'm sorry for the general brokenness of the gameplay. We mismanaged our time very badly and the game was barely tested by the end. I'm going to try to make a less broken post-jam version within this week.

@LastLeaf: I have one friend that had a similar problem. It turned out he had a steering wheel and pedals connected, and the game was registering the unpressed pedals as the horizontal axis all the way to the left.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:19am

I felt very lost, and at one point I hid in a bush, then the camera seemed to drift to the side a bit. Then I couldn't do anything, and had to exit the game. The atmosphere felt perfect though, and I liked the graphic style. Well done!

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:28am

Stunning art with great mood - thoroughly enjoyed playing (even if the control system was a little picky at times) :)

JamesTanm says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:14am

I didnt really understand the goal of the game, which made it a little unsatisfying to just wander around lost

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:41am

Mood is great! Awesome graphics and audio!
Mechanics seemed quite nice, but I had some problems playing this game so I couldn't finish.
- It was very hard to navigate. Maybe it was on purpose but it was very easy to get lost. Also a lot of invisible walls.
- Hunters were almost blind, I could walk past them and they wouldn't notice me (still got shot a few times ^^;)
- One time there was a strange force pulling me left.. Don't know if was a bug or really something pulling me. Didn't last long though.

Anyway if it were a complete game I'm sure I would enjoy it ^^

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:51am

Awesome graphics, really freaking hard to get past the hunters (not a bad thing) Great job

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:10am

wonderful sprite-animation(so somooth and good concept design) also the enviorment ambient is great~

mild oppressive/Covert anxiety....... not very like but it is really cool and worth to try and feel it~

map's design so difficult , but i still escape the forest finally~aha~~ >v<
I love the design that i can avoid these hunter's bullets as well as long as i dash fast enough (At the same time also need courageous enough!it is cool and Motivating~)

these hunter look a little bit silly(cute),that is good,and this enhence my experience which our hero is running alone in the dark(also disappear in the dark).... really great!
(if have another music when i meet these hunters ,it may be more cool--->to increase a sense of tense also enrich the rhythm of this progress~)
full of potential!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:17am

oh~ otherwise
the Parallax effect is good~ but not perfect~
some part of it made my version feel not harmonious enough...
i am not sure which part have problems~~
some feeling about this may come from the foreground's occlusion? may be the key point is the speed (compared to hero's speed?)
sorry for feedback not precision enough...orz just recognized it~
hope it be better~ best wish

Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:49am

Thank you all for the feedback! We really appreciate it :D

The thing about the map and feeling lost it's because we thought it'd be cool to make a game that made you feel the need to draw a map of your own, like a labyrinth. In the original jam version we made the map too big and it ended up being so frustrating because the reusing of the scenes. In the post jam version, it's almost haf the size and still repeats scenes, but at least you can orientate yourself better by noticing the placement of the hunters. In any case it was nice to experiment with it :)

@Tanton-H2X Yeah the parallax is a bit off sometimes, I think is because in some scenes the is some vegetation being drawn in the wrong layer. And maybe in the mostly vertical scenes the foreground is not really designed properly for it.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Cute graphics! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3UFkqjoD81E

Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Thank you Jupi! Glad you liked it :D

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Visually and aurally impressive!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]