Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Clickacabra

by foolmoron - Compo Entry

CLICKACABRA
Use your clicking powers and Chupacabra army to take over the world in this Ludum Dare 33 clicker game!

!! RUNNING THE GAME IN A NEW WINDOW MAKES IT RUN A LOT FASTER WHEN IDLING THAN IN A BACKGROUND TAB !!

-CLICK THE SKY DURING DAYTIME TO KILL LIVING PEOPLE
-Click icons to buy Chupacabras and other things!
-Chupacabras turn Dead people into Flesh at night, which you can use to buy more things!
-Go until infinity! (try to collect more gems than your friends?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#274Humor3.15
#347Overall3.26
#373Mood3.12
#406Fun3.11
#448Theme3.43
#561Innovation2.85
#771Graphics2.46

Comments

aeveis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

Pretty fun! I'm still letting it go on in the background. The biggest for me is that button clicking doesn't detect unless there's both a down and release on the button itself. There's also a bit of lag on the button after a while.

Visually I think if the buttons looked more press-able- It was hard to distinguish for the stats.

Design wise it seems the first bottleneck is the puppies- once you upgrade that things go a lot smoother and faster. After though it gets bottlednecked by the day walkers- it generates much slower than everything else, and so I need to wait a long time for just that so I could build more nests. I think it could be interesting to reach points where different bottlenecks appear, and so the player has to focus on upgrading a different thing - I guess that probably involves tweaking with the upgrade values.

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I adore this game, and the abstract representations of the units. What makes this game fun after playing it for some time is the balance between clicker game --> idle game. I'm leaving it open in a window for a while, need more puppies!

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Very, very interesting! I played for a while.

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Human population is being replaced by Chupacabras! It's evolution, baby! :P

uvwar says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Maximum Chupas

hgcummings says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Interesting concept, definitely fits the theme well. I found it a little too abstract and did feel a bit too much like just pushing numbers around, but with some stronger visuals around the core mechanic I can see it being a bit addictive.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice. Still playing...

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Really cool game! I thought the day/night cycle was a really interesting thing to have in a clicker game, and I really like the interaction between the day/night, chupas/daywalkers, dead/flesh stuff. I did quickly find that there was nothing really to spend my flesh on - once I was generating chupas/walkers, clicking to get one while I had thousands felted like a waste / there was no point on spawning more chupas because I was already converting more dead to flesh per second than I needed - also making the flesh harvesting not necessary / the puppies already have my people population into the millions so I don't want to click them, so now I'm just idling waiting to spawn more daywalkers. I do like the diamonds for some reason. At first they seemed unnecessary, but now I want more...

chrissou says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice clicker game

BtheDestroyer says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:04am

Pretty good game, kind of similar to mine, actually. Just a bit more... morbid ;)

Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:07pm

- good concept for clicker game, day night cycle works well to give player time to buy stuff
- better art would really help
- an ending would be nice, just to feel some kind of resolution
- it should say the name of things on each icon
- needs to show more stats, like how many days have i been playing, how many people died total, etc.
- i didn't find any diamonds :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]