Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Peaceful Farm Stroll

by iMer - Compo Entry

....of DEATH!

Featuring:
- Blood
- Death
- Animal Slaughter
- Blood
- Bloodsplosions
- Flowers
- Powerups
- Crunching

GET IT NOW!


This is my take on "You are the monster" - I have chosen the literal interpretation - I hope my lack of creativity is gonna be made up by a completed (to my satisfaction) game with sounds and even (shitty, i cant music) music!

Gameplay Tips:
Use the arrow keys to lunge at stuff. This is gonna be your main movement, but it uses energy.
Use WASD to move to the middle.
Animals restore energy. Special ones restore more.
The other objects distract the monster in its blood rage, but do nothing.
Get rid of the music by pressing "m"
Collect powerups.


No osx build since I dont have access to one, the linux build is untested - If there are any issues compiling it yourself is pretty easy - install sfml deps, run cmake and compile (dont forget to init/update the git submodules)
Windows version may require the visual c++ 2013 runtime http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Fun3.76
#146Innovation3.56
#242Audio3.19
#257Overall3.41
#423Theme3.47
#427Humor2.80
#575Graphics2.88
#1942Coolness30%

Comments

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:49am

this ones a ton of fun, the controls feel great, the visuals while basic effectively convey the purpose of things, and the pacing feels fantastic.

mpw1989 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43am

Awesome game! I love the controls! Using WASD to move around and direction keys to strike enemies is really cool and fun. I gave 5 stars for innovation.

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:28am

I feel that controls fresh. Nice music. I got 600pt!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

I think you have made a good game I believe you should aim to improve on your character design and very simple graphics despite the short time frame :D

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:44am

Nice! The concept is a little bit more original and the gameplay is solid. I would maybe have added an HP bar that goes down when you hit rocks and stuff.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:11am

Was a lot of fun when finding a large herd of animals :D

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Super fun and innovative game! I liked the little details that you can even eat your mouse. A bit dependent on RNG but it was always possible.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:59pm

High score of 22,180! I think that is pretty good. The game got stupidly hard at the end though. Like there would be one animal every 5 seconds and I had to hope that I would get another round of the OP lgbt-pride cows. I think instead of making the number of animals decrease, maybe actually have them increase and have the meter drop faster. Overall, nice simple game! Good job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:50pm

man this was fun! very stupid...very mindless...very fun :-). You kept it simple but it has enough variety to be played over and over. I didn't find the music annoying btw. it didn't get into the way. Great entry - this might be something I actually keep playing after the evnt since it is great for a 5 minute game break while working.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]