Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Camp Starvation

by Double Zero One Zero - Jam Entry

THE APOCALYPSE IS HERE!

You and a small group of survivors has created a camp.
Being the only one with a weapon on you, you have been selected as chief of the camp.
How long can you and your trusty rifle maintain order in the camp, with food running out and morale plummeting?

-----------------

KNOWN ISSUES:

The tutorial is longer than it has to be.

Apparently, there's a bug where the characters just stop moving. Try turning the game off and on again if that happens (Y)

-----------------

Made by:

Pontus Lundén
Music/Sound, Art and Design

Kristian
Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Overall(Jam)4.16
#28Mood(Jam)4.26
#49Audio(Jam)4.03
#60Innovation(Jam)3.88
#64Theme(Jam)4.13
#196Fun(Jam)3.53
#271Graphics(Jam)3.90
#701Humor(Jam)2.45
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

This entry deserves more views.
It's really really good, one of my favorites so far. I kinda had to be a monster to survive...sent off half of the camp for scavenging, had enought resources for the 5 remaining to last for quite a while.

The tutorial goes for way to long, it could be shorter!

Kudos!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I feel like a monster and I killed everyone...

10/10

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Game stuck after some moment. I felt like this game could bring better fun if made turn-based, not the time-based. Music is just awesome.

Conk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Very cool, the time was a bit annoying, I'm very indecisive and never had time to kill anyone ): Graphics and audio really solid (:

maccam says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

i felt guilty afterwards for being so selfish, but when it's come to surviving, i only care for myself...
seems that i really am the monster here. great job

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:47am

Nice game. Tutorial could be shorter

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:08am

Wow, this game has a lot of content and gameplay mechanics with enough depth!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:15am

Game has tons of atmosphere, fantastic art style and music. Great concept, executed well. Well done.

drilltail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:24am

Cool concept. I particularly like how this game handles the theme -- exploiting your companions for your own survival pays off better than simply trying to keep everyone alive.

I found a bug. I'm the only one left alive, and no matter how often I feed myself, I'm perpetually stuck at 29 supplies.

Does this mean I win?

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Really nice game, at the end everyone hated me, so I send everyone to scavenge and just one survived... I think I should not be the leader of a group

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Great game really! One of the best I tried so far.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Amazing entry. Only a few small details that, if fixed, could make this easily a top-10 entry:

- Time run too fast! I barely have time to assess my people and have to click super fast. Make it slower and/or give me the option to skip to feeding time when I want to

- People stole more supplies than I had. I got negative supplies, and after the feeding phase the game froze. This happened on my 2 runs in the game =(

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:18pm

really good game :D
loved the intro concept that you are the leader because you have a rifle X) such a horrible thing.

the game have a lot of content love to see even more!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Featured Here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/25/my-favorites-5/

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:14am

Excellent entry from you guys as usual. You have all the right elements here. I'm always really impressed with what you guys manage to pull off during a jam. The gameplay is solid, though I did manage to get my brains bashed in. The art is beautiful, and the soundtrack is great. With a little more polish you guys will have something really special here.

Chadivision says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

Very compelling game. The content of the game combined with the music really set the tone. Very well done.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:39am

The Audio made this game. I really like how solid it was and could see this being a fully realized game. Nice job

the31 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54am

I was looking forward to this one (got to it through a blog post) but everyone seemed to move slowly. I'm talking walking-in-place slowly. Weird bug! Here's a gif: http://i.imgur.com/DaMIwVG.gif

I'm refraining from rating. Nice music and ambiance though!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:22am

Wow, emotional connection achieved. I found myself hating the guys with big appetites who would wand to eat all the food and sending them out into the wastes hoping they would either die or bring back food, either way being a "win."

I am a monster.

Music was fantastic, and art style conveyed the stark nature of the environment, even though pixelly.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:32am

I killed everyone the first time I played. The second time I left them to starve while I stuffed all the food for myself... I can't be responsible of a group of people... or animals... or objects... ;-;

Nice graphics, nice gameplay and awesome music!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:56am

Quite good, could be polished more for post-comp version

m3_on says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:05am

This game is AWESOME!!! The only issue I have is that the hunger bar is sort of confusing. It says "hunger" but if it's full then...they aren't hungry? And if it's low then they are...so it took me a little be to understand that low hunger meant the are hungry. But other than that, it is really interesting and the art is great, and animation and the kill animation...the sound track. Very impressive, this could totally be fleshed out into a fully featured game! However, since it's not a refugee camp in Africa and just a generic camp in the apocalypse...I wonder why all the characters had to be black aren't white people affected by the apocalypse too...or maybe that's part of the statement of the game? :)

Kahztein says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:11am

An excellent game.
I would've liked a few more options with what I could do but I understand that would be a little hard in the time you had.

I also managed to find a bug where I just got unlimited supplies, not quite sure how to replicate I'm afraid.

But overall a great entry, I loved the music and it truly does make you feel like "the monster," good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:24am

I liked the Papers Please inspiration! Pretty fun until the game got stuck after sending the rest of my people out for supplies and I couldn't feed myself (bug?). I also did not realize I could give more than one food to people, wish I had known that before everyone got mad at me! And finally, it'd be great if I could skip the scavenge mode if I wanted to go straight to the food time. Overall a strong entry!

It actually has a thematic and gameplay similarity to a past LD game we did called "Rations, Please!" Check it out! http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=22946

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:26am

Amazing game about man with power. As the saying goes, with great power comes great responsibility. But I see little relation with the theme. The game gave me a reason to justify my decision, I don't necessarily feel like a monster. A very polished game nonetheless. 10/10

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:16am

I was really looking forward to playing this, but whenever I go to the web page, the unity player loading bar fills up and then stays there without starting the game. Am I just impatient?

Patomkin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:17am

This. was. AWESOME.
No, really. Great idea, great music, great art style, awesome game.

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35am

Veeery nice, probably my favourite so far :)
Reminds of Gods Will Be Watching somehow, I'm sure you already thought about that.
I love the mood, but also the gameplay. There are a few things that could be improved, like the aforementioned time problem, but overall. it's awesome. Lots of 5 stars for u guys ;)

Piotrek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20am

Tutorial is too long, but the game was funny.
Pixel art and music was nice too.

DanteDouglas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:29am

This is IMPRESSIVE. Dark, challenging, and a really great interpretation of the theme. 5 stars all around.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36am

Love the concept and the aesthetic of the game. The atmosphere really makes you feel like there's little to no hope. The strategy itself feels slightly shallow but still enjoyable. Definitely enjoyed this one!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:36am

Jesus. 10/10

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:06am

Awesome game! Overall 5/5! The concept is realist. I like it! The graphic is lovely and music is great! Picked by GB!

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:18am

Damn, a game's so emotionally suppressing. Hopelessness in every second of gameplay.
Everything in this game feels very solid.

My head was smashed with a stone. My suffering in this hungry world has ended.

If there will be a little bit more variety in a game I will totally buy it.

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:22am

Excellent game ! Nice concept, nice OST, nice graphics ! A very very nice experience ! Thanks a lot !

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:43am

Wonderful game. Finally one where I really felt like I was the monster, and I didn't really have a choice.

parsia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Great idea, though obviously inspired by papers please, well done :)

OberynMartell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Very good graphics, and nice take on the theme.
I just think the time until dinner is a little bit too fast.
But overall, well done!

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Tip: if the game seems to get stuck in a loop after preloader bar is full just wait some more it took a while to load for me I thought it was crashing at first.
Love the game. Considering it's an LD entry, this game deserves 5 in many categories. Won't be wasting any more time on praises (I have men to feed :D), some critics: writing "hunger" on a label for hunger bar is misleading, only at start of Day 3 did I figure out fuller bar means person is *less* hungry, the bar being red which is usually associated with danger doesn't help either, as a matter of fact even after figuring it out I'm still getting confused over that one. Maybe rename label to something opposite of "hunger" or invert the bar so it gets emptier the less person is hungry. And yea timelimit gets annoying but I guess it is meant to be played different from what most people expect once you learn the game logic, I think most of us just want to take it slow and enjoy the setting you set us in, with that being said if you feel like please do expand this game into something more than what it is now by adding more options and situations, and then maybe you could increase or remove time limit.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

arrrg!!! I really want to play this game, but the web keeps crashing... :-( What can I do? (please answer on my page so I can see it)

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

@Drunkteam read my comment above just have to wait for it to load, keep clicking Wait button.
Bug report: on day 9 I got stuck with only 2 more guys and have sent them both to scavenge, after I gave myself last ration (had only 1) the game get stuck and I am just standing at table.

Deity says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Very fun and great interpretation of the theme.

I ran into a few bugs with it getting stuck but thats to be expected in an LD. Great work on this.

JayWoody says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Very original entry.

I liked the concept very much. I wish there would be even more ways to influence the other members of the camp.

Sound is top notch and the mood is great!

Nice entry!

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Hah! Why Unity3D for that 2D-game? Not Love2D? I'm dead while is loading.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Very good, I like the random events! I don't like the graphics, though! Played it 4 times. :)
Keep it up!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice, end game is a little slow once everyone is dead though, since there's no option to do anything. But one of my favourite entries!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice choice for a monster. 5 on the theme.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:01pm

omg this game is amazing! papers please with apocalypse awesome, nice job!

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Great atmosphere, great take on the theme. One of the best entries so far!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Very well made, by far one of the best games I've played.

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:58am

This is by FAR one of the best games I've played. I love psychological games and stories and this one is so effective. I developed a plan to keep the strong builds and emotional indifferents as well fed as possible, while casting the others by the wayside, but I really felt like a terrible person. It was alot of fun to play and I'd really like to see updates on this! Amazing job!!

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:32am

This is a really remarkable entry! The art, audio, mood, and systems are all really intriguing. I had a problem when I started it up and immediately felt overwhelmed by the tutorial, all the people I had to keep track of, the timers, etc. but I think you could really tighten the game up, balance the progression, and it'd be something that I'd love to play for hours!

Awesome work!!!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Looks awesome but I can't get it to play in my browser. Any chance for a downloadable version?

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Didn't run on my laptop (browser crashed), tried desktop and omg. This is very good - theme, mood, graphics, fun. This entry has it all.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:40am

Impressively complex, brutal with great visual style, quite arresting...

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:01am

Amazinga game!
A bit hard to survive, but this game is impressive!
The music fits so well with the game to!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Day 14 - Everybody has died scavenging for food a long time ago. I have lots of supplies and I think I can just eat that one bug over and over. May be I have been alone for too long and am just imagining things. May be I should just eat the bullet next.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Great gameplay! I love it :)

randomhuman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:35am

I sure did eat like a king! Somebody bashed my head in with a rock on day 10, but I totes had it coming.

My only criticism is that there's a bit too much to weigh up in the time before dinner, I would prefer to be able to send everybody that I want out for the day, then manually proceed to feeding everybody else.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:21am

Wow really intense!! Very grim but awesome. Saw complaining but ignored it: i was assassinated. 5/5 on mood.

cbstegeman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:22pm

You guys always make cool games with very interesting concepts. Great job!

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:38pm

very original game play. it was fun

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]