Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Blood Moon

by MagnesiumNinja - Jam Entry

Blood Moon is an action-stealth platformer about a monster forced out of its home during a night-time hunt.

As you make your way through the city, you will learn more about the situation you've found yourself in, and what your future holds.


This game was made entirely in 72 hours by two people. If you have any feedback, negative or positive, we'd greatly appreciate it!

Thanks for checking out our game!


EDIT: Fixed a crash when pressing Control

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Overall(Jam)4.23
#31Fun(Jam)4.03
#58Mood(Jam)4.03
#72Innovation(Jam)3.85
#115Audio(Jam)3.72
#197Graphics(Jam)4.06
#393Theme(Jam)3.62
#882Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

jphelps says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

cant believe that this was a team of 2. great job

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

This game is very well polished with smooth graphics and mechanics. Overall a job well done!

FZeroRacer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47am

It's a super, super good game. Incredibly polished and impressive, it really surprised me how much care was put not only into the design of the character's skillset but also the levels themselves.

My only complaint is that it doesn't really fit the 'theme'. It doesn't really feel monstrous and the writing is overwrought and forced. Other than that though, easily one of the best games I've played here.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

great game, nice learning curve.
love these grapplehook mechanics. :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

So good! Super fun, the right amount of difficult, fluid controls, interesting yet simple concept. I'd play a full game of this. Two quarrels though: maybe it's just my mouse, but right clicking was often over-touchy and I would rapidly switch between the two characters. Also, when you die and respawn you always start as the white skinned character, even if you died as the ninja dude. But seriously so good.

C

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

I love the story, and the frequent checkpoints, the mechanics are great as well.

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

This game is absolutely beautiful, and the gameplay is incredible! I can't even begin to imagine how 2 people accomplished all of this in 72 hours. I gave up when you have to climb up the wall after the shifter says "there is still hope" had no idea how to get past the moving spot light. 5 stars all around though

kalthose says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:59am

Wow, really great. The hit boxes in shadow form seemed to be a little wonky when you were on the ceiling/walls(sometimes I could clip half the sprite into lights!). I actually ended my experience because I hit control and it caused a fatal error.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

What a cool game! This looks like a game that would have taken me weeks or months to make, not 72 hours. I know there were two creators, but that is still impressive!

The gameplay is fun and unique from what I've seen so far in the Jam. The shadow form reminds me a bit of Mark of the Ninja. I do have one complaint: during the tower climb, there is an area with walljumping that is pretty difficult. That is fine, but the same black screen text appears every time I spawn. Makes it frustrating. A player wants to get right back to playing the game after dying, not waiting around for the same part of the story to repeat itself.

That aside, you guys have a quality product here.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

Hi Kalthose, thanks for the comment! We're working on patching that fatal error out of the game now.

Thanks to everyone for the feedback!

packetpirate says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:10am

Fantastic! I loved it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:15am

The fatal error has been fixed!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

Another team of two!! Congratulations!!! Loved the art and feeling aswell!!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56am

This is a fantastic game, brutal but fun. Nice art as well. Great work!

4KbShort says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

An extremely fun game. Took me back to Amok with the mouse aiming and keyboard controls. Would make an excellent speed-runner if levels and timers were involved in some way.
Love the use of light and dark as the focus of gameplay. Excellent work!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:05am

Great job! It was a little tough for me though.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:28am

One of the best so far! great work.
You could add space bar to jump. :)

mooncalf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

Great mechanics. Fun gameplay. Audio was great. Didn't feel the theme coming through though.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:49am

I really like the mechanics and the art for this game. Awesome job!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:04am

Very polished game, quite impressed.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27am

Absolutely fantastic game. Gameplay was rock solid, the mood was perfect, controls worked great. All around a fun and enjoyable game. Expand it and sell it, you'd earn a good bit of coin. :)

SeaDads says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:59am

Great stuff, challenging but really satisfying. Looove he background artwork :D

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:06am

+ background, character design, animations, gameplay idea
- difficulty progression, controls (azerty here)

4stars.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

I love the menu. :D This is a very solid game. Aside from issues with the dash at corners, the controls were very good.

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

This is a very professional looking game. Plays quite well and is quite fun! With a little more work, I could see this one being a commercial product!

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Very nice game. Mechanics were fluid and concept was awesome.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:50pm

The yay:
- variety of locations
- graphics & animation
- audio
- dialogue

The nay:
- got confused at the beginning, not knowing I can walk on checkpoint barrier
- the dialogue kinda distracted from gameplay at some segments ^^"
- the game would better fit the theme if we were playing as the other side *whistling*

Very good entry overall, one of highlights!

mar3k says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Really cool game, but mostly the idea! There's not much else to say that other people already did not. Good job!

Mutt says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:52am

Wow. Really, really good game. I mean, I can find lots of things to nitpick but only because I find myself evaluating it as if it were a real, full fledged game and not something made in 72 hours. Definitely in a category above most of the other entries.

Really loved the gamefeel and the ninja-like quality of the shadow form. Controls could be made a little more polished though, if you keep working on it. It wasn't always 100% intuitive feeling, but again, that's just nitpicking.

Some of the graphics are a bit bland, but other parts are insanely well done. I loved the title screen and the parallax clouds background. And the game is just so complete, it even has saving.

Fantastic work overall.

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:04am

Nice one, I'll keep it by site and I'll take the time to finish it later. ;)

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:11pm

It's quite minimalistic but good looking! Nice game!

Kep says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Great animation and mechanics, but I rage quit on the balcony and never got to see the end. Well done overall.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:53am

Good entry! Game mechanic looking pretty interesting and I like how you used it. Puzzles are pretty challenging, yeah =)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Hey! We made very similar games! :)
Really liked the jumping between surfaces. Nicely done

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Overall 5/5! Great game! This entry shows the developers' master ability of design! The graphics and sound is nicely done!
The learning curve is adjusted so well. The handy save point allows me to really enjoy the game!

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:47am

Blood Moon authors, please, make Win32-build.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:24am

Like jetpacks grapplehooks also make everything better. Very well done!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Not the most beautiful nor the most innovative, but THE BEST, at least for now.

Really worth expanding to a full game.

Well done!

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Awesome game. One of my favorites this LD. The quick restart points after death were perfect. The story and the story telling throughout play kept me entertained. The only issue I had was my thumb unconsciously hitting the space bar for jump. I would have loved to play this with a controller, but the keyboard worked very well.

garvon says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Perfect, nothing else to say

Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Polished game with nice gameplay and difficulty progression. Impressed at how much you guys were able to get in and keep things balance with educating the player on everything. Great entry and the switch mechanic worked really well.

Fenreliania says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I died 79 times trying to finish this before I finally managed, which is testament to its design. The mechanic is very interesting, and enough changes were made to the level design to give an interesting difficulty curve. The graphics were fitting and well made, and the audio was suitably subtle. Some of the challenges were a little tough, but I appreciate the forced learning in some aspects. There could have been a better explanation that leaping in shadow form doesn't have to hit a wall, because about 20 of my deaths were trying to get over that one sweeping spotlight on an outside wall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]