Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Devil in Disguise

by BUNN1E5 - Jam Entry

You play as a devil in a "human's" skin

Please rate game base off of the post version just don't include the second level.

Unfortunately i wan't able to finish any more levels or any music.

However I'm making a post mortem version with more levels and some bug fixes! Post mortem version will get more, but i hope you enjoy!

Note : Make the game full screen or space wont work, Also the embedded player uses the new version

Controls
Right Mouse: Move
Left Mouse: Teleport
Middle Mouse: Consume Soul
Space: Next Level
R: Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#468Innovation(Jam)3.07
#778Theme(Jam)3.10
#860Fun(Jam)2.60
#870Overall(Jam)2.81
#871Mood(Jam)2.62
#944Graphics(Jam)2.35

Comments

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12am

Shame you didn't get to finish it, seems like a cool idea!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Cool concept. Hope you finish it.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Feels like it needs just a tiny bit more.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Yeah, Sound XD

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:00pm

The idea feels rather unique. finish the game man!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:09am

Hm, I'm not a fan of middle-mouse as a control (I'm using a simulated middle-mouse, it might be easier for others).

Like the idea though, good fun once you get it down.

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:18am

It started off strong for sure! After the first level it gets pretty confusing, but I really like the concept here. The alarm sound was a bit obnoxious, and it was hard to tell what my objectives were beyond the beginning. Keep going with this!

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:19am

I liked the graphics, there is just something that draws me to 3D characters with no borders. The lighting was well done, I liked the color change. And the pentagram effects were great. I enjoyed it!

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:29pm

The concept of playing as a demon in plain sight is fun. The idea of stealthily teleporting in and stealing souls was fun, but actually doing it wasn't as hard as it could've been. The teleport makes the people running to the alarm useless. You can just teleport and steal their soul. And about that, stealing souls was a bit frustrating for me because it just didn't work sometimes (I think you have to be right on top of them?) But yeah, It wasn't bad, I had fun playing it and killing everyone :D

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Idea is brilliant! But graphics and level design were little plain and controls fells "heavy". But still, i had lots of fun with this game! (Yummy souls :3 )

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:40am

You have the same idea as me. :3
However, it's really a shame that the controls were awkward and the walls were the same color of the floor in one level. Having no way between levels other than space bar felt stale as well.

phi says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Yeah, I didn't really like the controls very much either... But the lighting effects are awesome! The concept is pretty cool too, and I'd love to see a more fleshed out version of this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]