Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Electro Magnetic Purge

by Kuchalu - Jam Entry

A first person action game based in space.

You are a mech from an unknown location, who's objective is to seek out life in the local solar system and destroy it. Be careful though, because one of the planets has intelligent life, and they have riddled the local solar system with defensive ships.

Programming, game design and 3D models made by Ryan Javanshir in under 72 hours.

Music and sound effects created by Matthew Javanshir in under 72 hours.

Controls:

WASD to move.
Space Bar to Jump.
F to fly (when you have thrusters). Then use WASD and Space Bar.
E to show UI (Tells you where thrusters and weapon is).
LMB to fire (when you have the weapon).

Tips:

Pick up the fuel near where you spawn and go find your thruster (E)!

Known Bugs:

- Big ships don't shoot properly
- Collision errors
- Camera changes when pulled by new planet

Hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#225Mood(Jam)3.54
#256Graphics(Jam)3.94
#278Audio(Jam)3.36
#556Innovation(Jam)2.99
#622Overall(Jam)3.10
#917Humor(Jam)1.89
#928Fun(Jam)2.49
#1007Theme(Jam)2.52

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:15am

Cool graphic style, very athmospheric! But I think there are some bugs in this game, because I found thruster parts, but couldn't get from the first asteroid. Maybe I just doing something wrong )

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:19am

Really pretty and cool, but somewhat lacking stuff to do when you navigate your planet to find pieces of gun/jetpack.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Couldn't really find anything to do, and the console popped up with a null reference error when I picked up a gun part :/

m43c0 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Very immersive game and superb graphics!
Reminds me of a game called Mirror Moon.
Didn't managed to find nothing to destroy though.. better luck on my next play. I'll keep searching!

Resonious says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Excellent music and graphics.

emongev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:04pm

COol graphics and mood, loved the intro although i wanted to get into the game quickly! Got very lost at the beginning, and something started shooting at me from under the ground, it was very confusing, but i loved the art :)

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Mood and Graphics are great, but I ran around on the main planet trying to get away from the monster and find the Thursters/Weapon stuff and never found anything. Seems like it would be fun, but its difficult to get into.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Did you use E to show the UI? You can find the thruster and weapon from there. Sorry if that wasn't clear. Thanks for playing!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41pm

The yay:
- graphics, kinda
- general mood

The nay:
- very, very clunky gameplay
- low mouse sensitivity
- hard to figure out what to do after collecting gun and thrusters parts
- movement feels really slow, especially when flying between planets

If you were to go on with this project, you really need to refine the gameplay. ^^"

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Hey, thanks for your feedback, I'll keep it in mind if I ever pursue the project!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Very cool concept and execution. Partially at least.

Technical foibles:
- You should lock the cursor to the center of the screen with the Cursor.lockState variable.
- There should be a key to toggle fullscreen. The right click menu just about works, except if you need that for something else.
- Fullscreen should be supported. At the moment the HUD is cut in half in fullscreen mode.
- The thruster sound is way too loud and annoying.

Design and gameplay:
- The first few enemies near the spawn are very annoying as they constantly shoot at you (and make an annoying sound to boot) and you cannot shoot back right away.
- This might just be me but I totally missed the fuel canisters the first time around as I was running away from the aforementioned enemies. They could be mentioned on the HUD alongside the other components.

Apart from these complaints I really like it, don't get me wrong. I'd love to see an improved and expanded post jam version.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Thanks! You've given me some really useful feedback. It's really really rough around the edges but i'm glad you found some enjoyment! :)

conormn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:07am

Excellent style. I have use a wacom pen instead of a mouse and unity games always give me trouble. Regardless I really enjoyed the atmosphere and glitch effects :)

hinerz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:45am

Love the graphics and mood :3 The bg music was also nice (reminded me of mass effect). Unfortunately, I wasn't able to do a lot of the stuff. Still, was fun exploring!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:04am

Awesome mood

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:32am

Great game. It feels nice to have the booster after being so slow on the surface!

daydalus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18am

Beautiful game - loved seeing the sun get eclipsed by planets, lens flares, and all the different colors of the world. Nice ambient music as well. A few comments - the loading screen / intro was a bit long. Took a minute to find a gun and shoot the enemies. Occasionally flying between planets the camera would flip 180 degrees and I'd be looking back where I came. Flight + walking felt a bit slow, would be nice if the planets had some gravity if you were close enough. Overall, really nice work!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Wowee, the look of this game and the audio are both quite fantastic! I love the setup and the atmosphere created. Really nice work!

Taldius says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I love the art style and the idea.
The only problem is that the game is to big and it can become boring at some point.
But good job overall!

kmiitz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Very interesting entry, although not at all in the theme ;-)
Your game is very ambitious, it's amazing you got a playable version in 72h. They are lots of things to fix and improve, but this entry is definitely among the most interesting I have seen so far!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I do like the visual style of this game. Together with the soundscape it creates a nice mood. The gameplay was somehow confusing though, maybe because of bugs. At the beginning I was able to navigate to the thruster and gun and equip myself, all while a spaceship was clipping through the planet and shooting at me. After I killed that one, I flew through space and killed other ships, who were just flying there and doing nothing. The shooting was kinda stressful, because I had to click for every shot, being able to hold down the mouse button to shoot constantly would've been nice.
Overall, there is potential here, but unfortunately the bugs and/or unfinishedness of the game keep it from being a gratifying experience. I did enjoy the mood quite a bit though!

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:03am

Wow, you had a really similar idea and I totally get how it flows with the theme. Good work!

valid4life says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:05am

I think the intro was quite long and i didn't see a way to skip it
The Camera effect was neat!

mahalis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:06am

I like the art style and the premise, but the gameplay is kind of frustrating—I did find a gun part and thruster part, but once I got off the planet I couldn’t figure out what to do besides fly around. Solid start, though; I could see this being fun with some of the gameplay quirks ironed out.

Odefus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:19am

I really liked the atmosphere and the concept of the game. The moment you go from roaming around slowly on foot to flying around with the thrusters simply felt great.

The game should also somehow indicate you are doing damage to the enemies when you shoot at them. I actually walked away from the first enemy I tried shooting at after a few shots thinking I probably can't kill it.

The camera switches when being pulled by new planets were super disorienting. I get motion sickness easily in games where the controls don't feel quite right or the game does something funky to disorient you and after about 10 minutes of playing this I was starting to feel it come on and had to stop playing.

The controls would need to be tighter and the camera switches would absolutely have to go for me to be able to play a game like this for a prolonged period of time. I may be an extreme case in this sense, but people that get motion sickness is an important group to think about when you are making a game that could in one way or another be disorienting. Generally first and third person games, that don't have a fixed up axis, fall under this category. There really is no bigger buzz kill than a game you cannot play because it makes you feel physically ill.

Don't get me wrong. I like what you have created here. I simply cannot play it for long.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:20am

Great graphics. I love the open world feel to it, maybe try adding more clear objectives though

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:57pm

I had a hard time to control with the mouse.
However, music and graphics are really cool.

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I had a hard time to control with the mouse, the aim keep going off the screen game making it almost impossible to play :S but it have a very well done mood and sound.
Gj

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Graphic and sound are pretty decent. But i can't find anything to kill the monsters. Maybe it's buggy or not. If not please make it easier to be found.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Lovely visuals! I liked exploring space, but I ran out of fuel in the middle of space! XD

One strange thing I noticed was that if I try to go to some planets, I cannot walk there normally like I could on the first planet. I can only move with the thrusters.

Very interesting entry!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Great design, though it was a little harrowing being attacked the moment I started the game. Ambitious to do an interplanetary travel game.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:46am

Quite spectacular!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47am

Wow! So risky have donde in 3D but very athmospheric

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Really cool low poly models.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Not certain what to do, but very atmospheric! Nice use of shaders.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:41am

This game had a great art style, and I loved how you could fly from planet to planet very seamlessly. Definitely a very nice and relaxing game. Good job. :)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:17am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:17pm

simple but nice graphics.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:23pm

This game goes beyond Ludum Dare to the next level, it's a space shooter in which you can even fly and reach for other planets. Great graphics and background music, very nice exploration mechanic.

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:47am

Gorgeous lighting! Great work :)

Catmoo says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

The atmosphere the game creates is pretty cool, and visually it looks lovely, really enjoyed playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]