Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Detective

by popcorn897 - Jam Entry

This is our entry, a mystery adventure platformer!
Someone here is a monster, but who? You, Mr Monster Detective McMillan McCoy, must collect evidence to accuse someone of treachery!

Controls [IMPORTANT]
W,D - Move left and right
Q - Show Map (You can click on unlocked rooms to go to them)
E - Show Notepad
Space - Interact
M - Mute toggle

Sorry it's unfinished. Thinking small isn't easy.

Programming - Popcorn897
Art - Sirmi, Foursnail, CarelessShenanigans
Music - CarelessShenanigans

Please let me know glitches in the comments. As well, all criticism appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Audio(Jam)3.95
#211Mood(Jam)3.56
#272Fun(Jam)3.42
#278Humor(Jam)3.28
#288Innovation(Jam)3.32
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#353Overall(Jam)3.42
#912Theme(Jam)2.83
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

SKT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:03pm

I love the graphics, the music is pretty cool too. But I would have like to be able to use the arrow keys, the gam isn't easy to play if you are not left-handed ^^ ... I think i found a little bug-exploit to get out of the cellar, you just kill yourself and jump while you are dying, it gets you on the platform (because of a speed boost when you respawn I suppose)

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

The levels were fun and difficult. I think the difficulty came from the jumping because you have to learn you have to jump from the edge. Overall, I like the game. The music fit the game perfectly.

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Fun little game, would be interested to see it finished ;)

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:03pm

So who was the mosnter?????

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Great concept! But surely if I am the monster, then I did it?

lurumdurum says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Managed to get myself stuck in one of the spike traps at the end :/ Allthough overall I really liked the music, it really fit the game very well! I think you could have gotten away with a much shorter but more complete game. I also liked the map it looked nice. As you said, you guys may have been a little to ambitious with your project. :) I enjoyed what was there, the game had a nice atmosphere to it.

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:27pm

@lurumdurum I still haven't caught what causes that spike glitch. It's pretty strange. I agree we should've worked on something smaller.

Flaid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:54pm

This game has got a LOT of content! The graphics, sound effects, and music all go really nicely together and the gameplay was interesting -- finding clues (whodunit) but also a platformer!

If you ask me, the entire lot are monsters for building such a ridiculously dangerous house! The chef is simply wasting gas by leaving his burners going all the time, for some reason there's a wizard's tower that is completely booby-trapped, and the pool doesn't even have water in it.

It seemed really ambitious, and all-in-all I thought it was well done!

However, I played it three times and unfortunately I got Mr Monster Detective McMillan McCoy stuck each time, causing me to restart...

Got stuck on some spikes (I think they're spikes?) in the game room while moving right-to-left. This happened during two different play throughs.

Ran through the wall on the library after jumping across the platforms (left-to-right) and fell to the bottom, but was stuck on the other side of the wall.

FerraWare says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Hey! Nice graphics and awesome music, also some pretty cool level design. I'd love to see it finished!

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:55pm

@Flaid, massive thanks for all the time you put into that review. Getting stuck can be resolved by using the map and leaving the room (sorry about that). The logic of the house is obviously flawed, but it's all in good fun.

Zettelkasten says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice graphics and music! I played it for a bit, than got stuck one a spike left to the pool.

Slapunas says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Just wanted to ask did anyone else experience mass ad spam or malware infection after installing this? I've only tried this game and clumzilla outside of web clients and got infected with lots of malwares. Sorry if I'm falsely accusing just wanted to be sure of the origins.

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:42am

Graphics and music were awesome! Definitely a solid entry!

Pyrofoux says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:02pm

So, you also made a detective game ? :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]