Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The Monster

by awesomerex - Jam Entry

Controls
arrow keys move the player
Space bar attacks

You wake up one day and realize that you are a giant old man.
Fed up with your reality you decide to go on a rampage,
Tearing down the city that allowed it all to come to this.

Programmed By
Clay Morten
Rex Soriano

Graphics and Level Design:
Frank Moussette

Title Screen Graphics by:
Tiffani Stuart

Music:
Kick Shock - Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#307Humor(Jam)3.20
#512Graphics(Jam)3.41
#781Mood(Jam)2.76
#892Theme(Jam)2.88
#920Fun(Jam)2.50
#953Overall(Jam)2.69
#973Innovation(Jam)2.31
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:23am

SMASH!

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

not sure if getting stuck because of collision boxes was a game mechanic or not..
music was pleasant

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

awesome!

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:49pm

While the gameplay is a little lacking the art is really awesome. Nice work.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I kept getting stuck attempting to go through tight roads or around corners. Graphics and audio were good.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:25pm

The character gets stuck so many times out of nothing. The game is cute and it will get some stars!!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

SKT says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Cool graphics and audio, but like the others I got stuck when I wanted to go on some roads, but maybe it is intentional ?

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:39pm

The game could be more fun with more to do than just smashing building. Or did I miss something ?

Headmade says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:45am

Sadly there is very little variety so smashing the buildings becomes boring very quickly. Maybe I missed something?

awesomerex says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Hey everyone, thanks for playing our game.

The collision detection is unforgiving and definitely needs work. There's also a bug in the building destruction... there's supposed to be 3 levels of destruction for each building.

We were going for a pretty simple game based around destroying the city. Plans were made to have enemies like tanks and obstacles that act as barricades but we ran out of time.

Thanks again everyone for checking out our game we appreciate the feedback!

handkor says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:06pm

The art and music are really good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]