Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Banana Eater

by Dizzyman572 - Compo Entry

Go on a rampage as an angry gorilla who eats sentient bananas!

This game was created for Ludum Dare 33 under the theme: You are the Monster.
It was my first time making a game for this competition and I'm proud to deliver what I can consider atleast a decent game.

I hope you enjoy my game and please let me know what you think of it, I'd like to know if there is anything I can improve upon for the next Ludum Dare.

Controls:
Z=Jump
X=Eat
Arrow Keys = Movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#19Audio4.10
#47Humor3.91
#239Fun3.37
#268Overall3.39
#327Mood3.19
#439Graphics3.14
#606Theme3.17
#730Innovation2.56

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24am

Oh my god i love the music. Really sweet design and fun premise!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35am

Best music yet.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37am

landing page is a bit overwhelming, wasn't sure where to go to play at first.

great sound effects, nom nom nom! do like the game thou! good job!

ferdbold says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Okay, raise your hand if you can beat this audio, I dare you.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39am

Audio 10/10 x). funny.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:45am

LOL this was fun, hilarious audio

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50am

You have the voice of a thousand angels. I had a good laugh as soon as I hit the title screen! The art is simple but unified. I think it works really well, especially to help the golden bananas stand out.

And at the end, F to fart? Boy, I'll have you know that many have outgrown that s- TEN OUTTA TENNN

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great music / effects! The game plays really well too.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58pm

The music cracked me up so badly. Love how black , white and some occasional yellow can make a great game with an awesome feel. Guess you are a banana kind of guy. Awesome and fun

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Ahhh, NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM!

Great, now I'll be singing this entire day :D

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Great music!!!

JaytleBee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

The eating animation is a bit too long, which makes it really tedious to eat bananas and since there's no real point in doing so, you most the time won't. Love the audio though

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

The Music is really nice. Simply but good graphics. Some Little Bugs: Bathtube has a black border and you don't see the player behind the Bathtube and you slide on the yellow Banana. good job.

sprawl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

The gameplay gets repetitive and the eating animation gets annoying when you have to restart levels multiple times.

However, The graphics and sounds (they're amazing) make the experience enjoyable anyway. It was really fun, good job on the entry !

General says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56pm

This music is still playing in my head :D
daam-dum-dum-daam-dum-dum

Very fun game! I like different types of banana citizens.

I made videos of me playing LD entries: http://youtu.be/6Al6aF0oETA
Your game is at 19:18

merrak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20am

Music really made it :D

tullyhansen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

This is great, especially the audio. Also enjoyed your apeeling puns. Congrats on a first LD success!

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:52am

LD33 Winner, best audio. Especially the "song" at the end.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Funny soundtrack on background and actually artsyle is stylish. Liked that. GJ

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:44pm

First of all, the music is genius. I was laughing out loud before I even started! Then I got into the gameplay, which is equally humorous. The crude graphics match the audio perfectly, and the level design is great. The movement could be a bit more polished, but overall, a great entry. 4/5

ceosol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:10am

My favorite part of the music was when you took a breath. It made it so relatable and I think exemplifies the spirit of Ludum Dare (making something from top to bottom within the time). Nicely done all around.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:50am

Eating bananas never felt so good!

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45am

This music, these sound effects, these graphics just the entire thing. I sent the link to this to a few of my friends because of how amazing I thought this was. You have done a fantastic job with this. Any chance of a OST release? ;)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:50am

Hilarious, best sound effects so far!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:52am

Thanks Shaw, I really appreciate that! There's already some audio files on the gamejolt page, but I'll get to work on a official release. :)

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:09am

So this is what it feels like to be the SkiFree Yeti. And there's not an F key in sight. :3 (Though those dart-shooting guards are equally maddening!)

The soundtrack and SFX were hilarious. I'm glad I waited until the end of the victory jingle and caught the city-shaking burp. XD

Also I love how bananas leave giant peels behind when you eat them. And the guards' peels still have little caps on. Oddly satisfying hunting down those smug golden bananas and eating them as well.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:19am

Incredible XD Is it me or does the music get more intense as the game progresses?

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:25am

I found the background "music" disturbingly funny. Like the names to such as 'potassium park'. Would have been badass if the banana sat chilling in his hammock smoking a fat cigar instead of walking around.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:52am

nom nom nom 5 for audio and humor"nom nom :D But gameplay was pretty standard. All in all, pretty solid entry.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:10am

HAHAHAHA I laughed so hard with the music! Nomnomnom >.< good job! Potasium City is great, I like the minimalist graphics.

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:06pm

I love the audio and the little details! My only complaint is that it's too easy to accidentally trigger the exit.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:51pm

That was actually really cool. The music is funny and the atmosphere is humorous. The theme could show a bit more though

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:08pm

NomNomNomNOmNOM Ah Oh oh! Music is just awesome! great job this is fun!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I stomped all your flowers flat! Fun game, great sound.

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Ok this soundtrack is really fun! :D
The game is nicely done but not very challenging.

bombjack says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really good level design; god job!

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:52am

The sound and music? make me laugh a lot! And that is original..

Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:01am

This was great, thought the minimalist use of colour with the black, white and yellow worked really well. Level layout also worked really well in guiding the player along without feeling like you're being to forced along the path. That music has also been my favourite so far. Right from the title screen it set a nice playful mood.

adsilcott says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Fun and humorous game.

mubox says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Game stops responding after first movement. =/

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:44pm

@mubox Really?, you're the only one whose reported a bug like that. Try running the game again and if it happens again let me know. I'd like to trouble shoot this.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I've fallen in love with those music and sounds <3

HThomson says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice game dude, like the monochromatic art style.

Couldn't make my mind up about the audio, at first I found it amusing, then annoying, then really annoying, then amusing again, then suspenseful, then annoying again. Argghh, one thing's for sure, it's unique :)

Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Funny, well made game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/WVNLcoTqal4

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Awesome audio XD! Art is great (although the bananas look like strawberry to me ^^; ), and very fun to play! The first time I beat it I didn't get all the bananas, and it was written "The End ?" so I thought "Maybe there is another ending if I get all of them!", but got the same ending xp
Anyway great entry!

Oh I got this weird bug where if the dart would hit me right after landing it wouldn't kill me. I think it was on the last stage...

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 1:04am

Btw, welcome to LD! Congratz on your first entry ^^

conormn says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Rad on all levels :)

Kizler says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:41pm

45/45 and 5/5... I think I nailed it :D
This game was awesome. The music had me laughing the entire time I played.

Teesquared says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

Makes me want to eat a banana. Nice art style and funny audio. Orange you glad I ate the banana?

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

Gorgeous soundtrack :)

Liked the missiles etc. Actually found myself running back into them on occasion, they move so slow.

You really needed to put a link to the game in your recent post to the front page -- I couldn't find it ;)

superfreak says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:02am

The sound effects are wonderful! (Also a great take on the theme)

adsilcott says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

This was hilarious! Best audio I've heard. love the ending! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]