Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Bashy Bashy

by pokeplun - Compo Entry

A game about a weird red creature that likes to bash things.

Simple.

Controls: WASD Movement
Mouse to Smash

Alt-Tab to Quit (Sorry about that)

Had to submit early due to time restraints on my part.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#609Graphics2.82
#626Audio2.18
#744Mood2.50
#773Theme2.81
#792Innovation2.41
#811Fun2.47
#821Overall2.65
#1981Coolness28%

Comments

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56am

Controls were very bad. Could not bash while moving, and only around 20% of the time while standing still. Basically had to hope that an enemy would walk directly in front of my club, and then hope that my character would actually swing the club. Only happened once.

panda says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

Bashing those helpless creatures was more fun than I was expecting! Good job on including sound effects, and I like the model for the monster! It's cool that we level up after enough kills, but it'd be nice if we changed shape in addition to just growing.
Putting a texture on the ground would also help, at the beginning I wasn't sure whether I was moving at all!

Chunck26 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

I like the graphics in the game. The controls for hitting the bashies is a bit strange.

A_Cat5 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

Really great game controlls are a bit akward

Ybalrid says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

The bashing is fun. The player(mosnter) is a bit hard to controll and the white floor doesn't help to navigate. Sadly you don't score a kill when the "thing you have to bash" jump out of the ground, falling to oblivion...

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

Well it is Bashy Bashy, indeed. :)

I liked the psychedelicism of it all and the fact that the player grows with each "level". Too bad the levels end at the 20/20. I would've liked to see more of those insane enemies, which could do some damage btw. Now you are just hammering away.

Kudos on your entry!

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

There is not much to this game, but the aesthetic is honestly really nice! I love the cute little creatures, and I love how they all have weak points that you have to hit. The physics at times is really wonky and you can't tell how fast you're moving since the ground is all one color, however. When you can see the edge of the ground, it's really cute how slow they all move! That's my second favorite part, and it's a shame you can't see it normally.

My favorite part is how each enemy has weakspots you have to hit before they die. It's strangely amusing watching your character uselessly bash the heads of the enemies...

Anyway, congrats on the entry!

jodizzle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23am

Cool aesthetics! For some reason, the combination of the blocky characters, the camera position, the growing player and the other animations made me think of a mix between spore and rock 'em sock 'em robots. Definitely deserves expanding, maybe with attacking enemies?

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25am

Eh, to be honest, this game doesn't feel like it was made within 48 hours, it feels more like a game made in a few hours. The models are super simplistic, and while not necessarily ugly, do still feel like they're unfinished. The controls are...pretty awful. The A and D keys, rather than moving the player left and right, rotate the player, and the W and S keys move the player forward and backwards respectively. While this might work okay for a 3D game, I feel that for a 2D game (which I would classify this as, since despite the 3D graphics there are really only an X and Y axis) it feels really, REALLY awkward. Also, I noticed that the enemies can fall off of the map while you chase them (something that I will refer to at further points in this review as "ploishing"). What makes this worse is that the player can wind up ploishing as well. Simply put, the player character being able to ploish is a sign of a poor quality game when it's this easy. There NEEDS to be either some sort of border to the world, or the world needs to be infinite. Finally, there's only 3 enemies. While I guess this is acceptable for a 48 hour period, it really would have been nice to get more variety. All in all this game is...pretty bad in it's current state. If you plan on making a post compo out of this, you have a LOT of work ahead of you, but I wish you luck.

ViliX64 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:31am

A background for determining my position would be quite handy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]