Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Truck vs Aliens

by SuperChihuahua - Compo Entry

An alien invasion has trapped civilians inside their houses. Your mission is to rescue as many of them as you can with the help of a Saab 900 Monster Truck. You can fit 6 civilians in the truck before you have to go back to the base. You can kill the green aliens with the roller and you have to use missiles to kill the flying saucers.

More instructions and keys at the bottom of the game's web page!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#274Humor3.15
#333Graphics3.33
#343Innovation3.20
#497Fun2.98
#560Theme3.25
#570Overall3.02
#580Mood2.81

Comments

Inateno says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Your interpretation of the theme made me laugh a lot :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:18am

Haha you are the monster (truck) :D
Nice one!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:20am

Nice interpretation of the theme :P You could have added some tree collisions. Otherwise, I loved the art, concept and gameplay. Well Done!

lorcanwsmith says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:21am

Love it when you run over the aliens

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:22am

It took me a while to realise how this fit into the theme, was very happy when I found out how though. I really enjoyed this, it looked good and played well.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:23am

Interesting idea, & bonkers looking vehicle :p Reminds me a bit of Desert Strike. Vehicle Controls were VERY slipperly for me though, made it pretty tough to steer accurately.

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:23am

I like behavior of the truck which seems heavy. It was a little troublesome that a house returns. But nice game!

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:25am

Nice interpretation of the theme, the truck's physics is bit odd (it slides a lot, it bounces off wall like mad but couldn't care less of boulders, and the steering is bit difficult to handle). The terrain is bit empty and should do with a bit of more spicy (i.e. explosions, sfxs, collision with boulders)

StaNov says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31am

At first, I was like "But I am rescuing them, I'm not a monster though..." :) I rescued couple of civilians and then got stuck between a save-house and the wall. Ah yea, I could respawn... Ok, so next time :) Thanks for some fun!

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41am

Almost hit a space ship by glitching the physics :p

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

Damn this is weird and beautiful.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:45am

It would be nice if the truck was a little quicker. Nice art though :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Funny take on the theme! Nice modelling on the truck concideringthe time limit, the truck felt a little slow and unresponsive to me.

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Nice interpretation of the game xD very cool game

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Pretty cool :D That idea for the theme though! What a monster I was for a couple minutes !

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Great game! Loved the unique take on this theme. Also the driving physics felt really tight! :)

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Weird physics. Sometime simple touching make your truck fly. Like for unique theme interpretation.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:32pm

interesting gameplay, I liked the driving mechanic

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Had bit of a problem to make the car ride up a mountain, but once I got momentum, the game picked up pace :)

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Brilliant!

leffe108 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I enjoyed "press S to start". :-) It get a bit repetitive after you figured out how to rescue your first 6 civilians to the base.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:03am

@mantis: There are no mountains :P

@leffe108: You have to be specific or people will rate it bad because they can't find the any key :S

@all: thank you! The other games I made for LD got less good reviews so this means I'm improving my games :)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:21am

I think the idea is great, some sound would be nice though.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:55am

Your game has been rated by our team member Antonin Charvat (music composer). Here is his comment: Really cool game, I was a monster in a different way :-D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]