Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Writhe: The Thing from the Omega Sector

by DragonXVI - Compo Entry

In "Writhe: The Thing from the Omega Sector", you play an alien organism recently escaped from Research Station Omega. None too happy about your captivity, you decide the best thing to do is to eat all the scientists on board, destroy all their stuff, and escape!

Use your tentacles to snatch defenseless Scientists and destroy security systems. Once every scientist is devoured, the exit teleporter will activate. But be careful! Your tentacles are invincible but if something dangerous hits your main body, it's instant death!

Along the way you'll encounter laser turrets, antigravity panels, volatile explosives and uncover the secret research project of Station Omega!


CONTROLS:
========
This game requires Keyboard + Mouse controls. Gamepad is not correctly supported.

WASD/Arrow keys: Move
Mouse: Tentacle Aim + Fire.
Escape: Quit
R: Reset level
O: Skip level (If you're having difficulty!)

HINTS:
=====
- Your tentacles are indestructible, only hits to the head count
- Turret pointing right at you? Try taking cover and luring its gaze away so you can pass
- You can push against Antigravity panels to slow your movement to help plan your next move
- Level too hard? Skip it and try the next one with the 'O' key!

KNOWN ISSUES
============
- The tentacle physics is pretty simple, so it can go amusingly wrong. It's not uncommon to get a bit stuck in the level geometry and get stretched across the entire level!

CREATED WITH:
============
- Unity 5
- MS Visual Studio 2010 Pro
- FLStudio 10 Pro
- Paint.net
- Bfxr

- Uses the Rotorz Tilesystem for Unity (http://rotorz.com/tilesystem/)
- Uses the Born2bSportyV2 font by JapanYoshi (http://www.pentacom.jp/pentacom/bitfontmaker2/gallery/?id=383)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.53
Audio4.55
Coolness57%
#9Graphics4.61
#13Fun4.20
#13Theme4.33
#16Mood4.18
#57Innovation3.84
#79Humor3.71

Comments

Reecer9714 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Really Cool Idea. Loved the Graphics and the little things like the tentacles steaming and the bones when you eat people.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Love the artstyle and idea, controls are a bit wierd sometimes (sometimes you jitter a bit forward after stopping)

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

Absolutely amazing in every way! Loved it :D

DaleP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

The game “feels” amazing due to all the little touches like the tentacles sizzling when they touch lasers, the variety of sound effects everything makes, polished graphics with nice lighting, etc. Music was awesome and I wouldn’t mind a soundtrack download. The final boss was difficult but beatable. My only nitpicks are that it seemed like the controls weren’t precise enough for the heated tunnels in the final level (I did eventually get past them after some cursing, though) and I accidentally skipped the ending text because I was still mashing keys from the boss battle when it came up (consider not using “press any key” without a delay before it accepts input).

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51am

Woah man. This would be awesome even if it were a Jam entry, but the fact that it's compo makes it incredible! One of the best LD games I've ever played. Super impressive on every level - the art, music, and levels are amazing! Only thing I can think of to improve it is some kind of mid-level checkpoint system.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33am

Amazing in every way. If this don't place among the top 10 I will be very surprised. A game I would gladly pay for.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:35am

Amazing. Very cool game. +5 stars.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:48am

PRetty amazing artwork and world you have created in such a short time. Very well done, I see this being top 10

spatanz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55am

Can't believe this game created in 48 hours, good game~!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56am

Very nice entry, great sound, nice graphics and mechanics work well. Great job :)

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Badass! Music is ace. Awesome work.

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:33am

I really enjoyed to the end. Level design is impressive. I like the feeling that tentacles touch hot walls. Great job!

BOBANY says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I love it! The music is really good and the environment looks really good! If I could change one thing it would be the face sprite, and maybe and faster movement speed.

Filecreation says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:18pm

I like how the game progressively gets harder and complicated, the graphics are nice and the scientists are adorable!
Good job!

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Absolutely amazing. Wonderfully designed levels, great slew of mechanics, awesome art complimented by some nice physics, and a fun boss battle at the end. Would love to see an improved version of this, perhaps with better movement physics and the ability to swing around walls when you grab onto them? Excellent job, the best game I've played so far!

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Excellent! Beautiful graphics, catchy music... Awesome job.

mortus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Impressive work! Tentacles get stuck from time to time, but it's even more fun sometimes.

J@ckWhiteIII says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:29pm

This is simply amazing. Not only because it made perfect sense with the theme, but also because the gameplay just feels right, which is amazing for 48h of work. Little bugs are totally excused, tentacles must be a real b*tch to work with. Thanks for making this!

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Got stuck quite a few times and had the game lock up twice but good fun nonetheless.

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Amazing game, especially for that timeframe! Great music as well!

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Awesome all round, would love to play more! Bonus humour points for one of my tentacles getting stretched all the way around the level ;)

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I am completely impressed. The level of graphics and sound are immense, and so much content!

The best thing is the soundtrack, loved it to bits!

Als the character design of Writhe is genius! Tentacly goodness!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

This is ridiculous, no idea how you accomplished this in 2 days. Nabbing the source on this one. Incredible work.

3CGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Amazing game, I love it! Good job.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Good job! Very well polished. (Only pet peeve: the pixels were sometimes deformed. Maybe it's a limitation of your framework, but still, so close to perfectly clean graphics! :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:01pm

The audiovisuals are ace, the gameplay not so much.

To me it feels like I've seen this before. It's a sci-fi hazard based obstacle course and unlike other similar games there is no platforming, puzzles or exploration. This is a long way of saying there is no challenge. Kind of like a mix of N and Kirby, with no ability stealing and less dangerous hazards.

Here are a few suggestions to make the gameplay more challenging:

If you want to keep the slowly floating around and slashing things with tentacles mechanics, you'll need to make the adversaries much more formidable and rely on stealth to take them out. This would keep the stakes high at all times.

Another options is to go with a more action oriented model, but this would require redefining the game mechanics to include faster movement abilities and different kinds of attacks.

The current environment hazards play into both of these suggestions. They force the player to rethink their strategies based on the context. A group of enemies next to a few turrets require different tactics than the same group within an anti-gravity field.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:11pm

The only explanation I have for this game's existence is that the creator is a killer robot from the future. Who also makes games.

Beautiful art, great sound track, great gameplay with innovative mechanics for the tentacles (thought a little too hard for me in places!). Stunning.

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45pm

wow this is really impressive, nop-notch sound and graphics! great job

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46pm

*top-notch :P

dethe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02am

This is a wonderful game, so impressed with the quality and graphics. Super fun.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:09am

Very nice game as usual. The only thing I'd prefer is being a little less of a one-hit-point-wonder, as getting hit once and being forced to restart everything isn't very fun.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Amazing. Nice touches and a great aesthetic - loved it.

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The polish on this is incredible. Great job!

Arche-san says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Really good projet. Fine art, fine music, fine level design, fine controls. I really had a good time playing your game :) Good work !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

The best entry in the compo category so far IMO. AWESOME JOB

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:38pm

the game was awesome in every way!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Thats an all out 5 stars on ever ything.
It's pretty cool how this actually works.

Sound is really neat, great stuff!

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Awesome, I like the music!

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:56am

Very nice game. Very awesome that you finished this in 48h!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Fantastic entry, I'm extremely impressed by the graphics

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:25pm

...and music. The gameplay mechanics are very well handled too, my only real issue is that some of the hot tunnels you need to crawl through are almost pixel perfect! An amazing entry, keep it up!

superfluous says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Very fun game. Looks great, very enjoyable mechanics. I would have preferred alerting the scientists to create some sort of tension/danger, and I found myself wishing the tentacles could glorp around corners a little more. But those are such minor nitpicks. This is a phenomenal game, especially for only 48 hrs.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45pm

This is superb! I can't believe you did all this in 48hrs - love it!

allinlabs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:58pm

This is truly horrifying. In a good way! I like the pixel aesthetic with modern effects like lights, the game plays well, is simple to understand but fun.
And man, how awesome is the music?! I launched the game but went to another tab, and after a few moments, I was like "what's that sound? Is it from the tentacules games? Holy crap, that great... ok let's play it!".

There's no mention of any collaborators. Did you do it all by yourself? Because the music is incredible, the level design is pretty good and interesting, graphics are great... some people just know their stuff here!

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:00am

Really liked it, all around awesome game.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:42am

Fan-bloody-tastic! I was super excited to play this game when I was seeing being posted on the main page and now that I have, it's amazing. The art is beautiful, the gameplay is really solid and the sounds/music is great too. It took me back to my ol' Amiga days where I'd play games like this!

Sheer awesomeness!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Awesome, beautiful game and the music is great!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Astonishing entry. I can't believe you had the time to achieve this level of music quality while polishing this much the game... Plus the concept is relatively original: not much game where I can play an octopus!

One thing I regret is the slowness of my character. I would have liked the kind of speed I get from "booster" as a normal speed...

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Amazing well polished game!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:24pm

This is the best entry I've seen! I love the rag-doll movements of the tentacles. The art and audio are incredible! This is defiantly the best / most solid entry I've seen this LD!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Really cool!

wooltech says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:05am

Not much to say - looks, sounds and plays fantastic.

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:39am

Pretty much everything is amazing. Would love to do even more things with the tentacle powers. You delivered in such a serious way!

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:38am

"Out of range exception". XD
Beautiful game. I love the music. Good work!!

intXparts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I've been so excited to play this since you released the initial images of it. Excellent work with this game! The mechanics and atmosphere are amazing.

zuurr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:20pm

cool to see another game that does tentacles (other than mine). i saw your post mortem and had to check it out but it took a while before i had a chance.

your music is real good as was your character and background art. you're extremely talented.

the idea is more innovative and leads to better gameplay than mine (although yours is much harder, possibly bordering on too difficult). the tentacle stickiness and idea of eating the enemies is great. with mine you just bat them around and you tentacles can clip through walls/hazards (i wasn't sure how to handle when they click to an unpathable area, you handle that by going directly and sticking, which works well for your game)

i think my tentacles and particle effects looked better, at least as pixelated objects. yours are antialiased very heavily which does not fit so well with everything else (i know you used unity, so it won't be as easy as it was for me, but you should be able to write a shader in unity that works around the anti-aliasing, if you care).

i wasnt a fan of the font you used but you didnt make it so hey.

p.s. sorry for the comparisons to my game but when you see something in LD that is very similar to your game its hard not to compare them (you'll know what i mean if you look at my submission).

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:19pm

The level of polish here is astonishing! Great music, visuals and tight controls. Nice work as usual mate :P

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:41pm

This is really polished, the little steam clouds, the screenshots at the beginning of each level, such simple details but they add so much.
The gameplay is also surprisingly smooth, i always expect tentacle movement to be unwieldy but you made it work really well.
Impressive amount of content too, nice level design, challenging but not frustrating. I will say that being able to destroy turrets may be unnecessary though, as it makes those sequences a little easy; i found it more fun to just avoid them in later stages.
Great music as well, just impressive work all around!

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:23pm

the gameplay is very innovative and fun. nice!

arzi says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:04am

Love the music and the art! Great job!

MikeEnoch says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:32am

Awesome, especially in the timescale! :)

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]