Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Loch Ness

by SnoutUp - Compo Entry

Float around the Loch Ness lake in this little snake-like game.

Eat people, dodge your tail and boats.

Controls: arrow keys to move around, "space" to dive and resurface, R - restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:57am

Super fun, simple, humorous. Good controls. Excellent submission for LD33 theme. This is a perfect example of knowing how to keep it simple. There's really nothing to improve except sound and maybe a few more challenges like the guy with the light. Way to go!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

Clean and cute. The boats and diving/resurfacing mechanic adds a nice twist to the classic snake game.

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

This is a nice twist on the Snake-style game!

Would've been nice to make the person in the boat look a bit different -- I kept wanting to eat them :)

belva1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:59pm

I like it :) simple and fun

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I just wonder why Loch Ness monster would want to eat people...

blubberquark says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Interesting how similar some of the Nessie themed games are. Snake mechanics seem to jump at people when they think of Nessie.
This is a nice interpretation of that. The diving mechanic looks so cool.
It's a shame there isn't some more depth to it or at least more levels and some sound and music...

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Very nice submission!!! Take some stars, I just loved this snake game relecture!!!

handkor says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:53am

This was very cute and well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]