Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monday Night Monsters

by spotco - Jam Entry

LD33 - You Are the Monster!

Controls:
Mouse - Move and Aim
Click+Hold - Throw Ball
Space - Timeout
Click+Drag on Teammates in Timeout - Give Commands

@spotco
@shyamguth
@JoshJWong

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#13Overall(Jam)4.30
#16Innovation(Jam)4.19
#27Fun(Jam)4.05
#50Graphics(Jam)4.48
#56Mood(Jam)4.04
#69Audio(Jam)3.88
#91Humor(Jam)3.80
#350Theme(Jam)3.67

Comments

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Awesome looking game, but I couldn't seem to move my team at all.

spotco says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Click + Drag teammates in timeout (with space held down)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice mechanics, worked really smooth and I enjoyed playing it through!

hinerz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11am

So polished! The giving commands in timeout reminded me a little bit of transistor :D Love the general theme and art too!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:55am

Wow!Relly good one! Like the tactic elemnt in your game as well as visual representation! Tere is no the theme but anyway this is really good game, and I've enjoyed a lot, thanks!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Really love the paralaxing. Interesting control scheme, worked well after a while. Felt my self actually getting competitive, so I think it was well executed!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:01am

Quite a fun take on football! You should consider developing this further! Great job guys!

peterkirk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:30am

I got way more into this then I expected to. The introduction with the two announcers set the mode perfectly and the way more players per team are added was a great way to do difficulty curve in a short time.
Excellent entry all around.

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:51am

controls were a little hard at first. But amazingly taticall when you get used to it! Animations were out of this world!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:09am

WOW! That was awesome, really liked the mechanics, got way too into making different plays

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:13am

To me, the best game so far. Amazing art and very fun.

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:23am

Amazing job. The whole game had a great feel to it. I think the intro added a lot.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:25am

Very VERY good game!! Loved the mechanics, you can pull some cool strats! The graphics and the music are great!
It is a bit too easy in my opinion, but lots of fun.
Also one moment the AI just stood there until I scored, and I couldn't shoot if I was right next to the goal.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:38am

Wow, this was awesome, really solid entry in all aspects! the mechanics are great. I have a little complaint, the radius of the player that you can click to select is small and often you would miss the click. Really well done!

plusultra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:56am

really, really good job with this one. super polished! the gameplay is a tad clunky but once I got into it the controls were pretty good.

ehtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:05am

Controls are a bit weird, it felt hard to play. Other than that, excellent job.

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:08am

Very nice one, one of the best I played so far :)
The only downside is that I was enjoying it too much for it to end so soon :P
Great job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:12am

Such a refreshing game to play within LD. It took a few tried to get used to the controls, but after that, it was great. The visuals were very appealing. Giving the player micro-goals (no pun intended), separated by the commentating was a great decision. Great entry, bravo.

Frump says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:26am

Fantastic. Was well made in all regards. I had fun playing it and it was satisfying to make plays work out.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:40am

This mechanics are very fun! Really awesome game!!!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:40am

Quite interesting game!

FrederickK says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:45am

What a cool game, made a smile on my face! :)
Reminds me snes for some reason.
Awesome job guys!

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:01am

Very well put together game. I only wish there was a proper end screen instead of the game just looping.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:47am

Ridiculous levels of polish! :o

Strike says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:53am

Very well polished. Interesting game play with cool graphics. It took some time to learn how to play properly, but once it's done, it's pure pleasure.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:15am

Incredibly polished game! The art style is fantastic, it's a great take on the theme and the gameplay is interesting. It was a bit difficult to begin with, but I really got into it. Fantastic entry!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Wow. Great entry... Love the idea. Took a while to figure out the "timeout" but made sense in the long run.

VoxelSquare says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Great looking game! Controls are a little complicated to start with, but you get over it pretty quick.

KamikaziUk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Awesome work, very original

crucknuk says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Really impressed you managed to produce this in 72h! Animations and graphics rock!

danialias says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:27am

Wow, winning felt nice :D. Cool game! Super-polished, with very nice mechanics (although "Timeout" is a bit confusing name, even after reading the instructions takes some time to understand the importance of the space button), and very fun to play. The AI worked nice for me, they were a though defenders and even scored a goal.

Overall, a great game! Good job!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:27am

Ahh this is really fun! Superb art style, Lovely music; I love everything about this. :D

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Good game, you MONSTERS!

Yeah, I had fun. The controls were hard to get used to at first but once you got the hang of it, this was so much fun! This is a very innovative take on the theme. Good job guys! The AI is great and responsive. Great entry for such a short time.

-Loi LeMix

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This was wonderful. The music, graphics and the announcers really added to the whole thing. This is one of the favorites I've played so far.

I would have liked to play an actual game though. Pick a number of players on a side and duke it out for X minutes.

The only thing that felt weird was that I held space to give orders but would pass and shoot in real time. I understand this was for game balance reasons, but it felt a little awkward. I bet if I played more it would be fine.

It reminded me a little of Mutant League Hockey and Mega Man Soccer :)

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I love the monster designs. It's welcoming to see an entry with a completely unexpected genre.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:44pm

This is incredibly well polished, and it's nice to see someone else aim for an unexpected genre ;)

disperse says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Wow, I can't believe you pulled this off in 72 hours! I love Blood Bowl so this was a treat.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:46pm

This should totally be developed into a full game.

Perfect scores from me. The game idea is quite original and you've managed to fit the theme very cleverly (the skeleton announcer at the beginning and between goals were an awesome touch). Polish in graphics and audio was incredible for the amount of time, and the mechanics feel smooth, engaging and most important, FUN. Perhaps having the ability to define behaviour presets that can be overridden at any time by a player command could enhance the pacing, but I really like the micromanagement part as the core, too) %0

walsh9 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:21am

Add me to the list of people who love the announcers. The art and music are wonderful. It felt like my guys were bumbling around a lot of the time but I think that's that's part of the charm and it was still really fun.

Ninja Garage says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:31am

Awesome! Your game is pure love!

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:36am

Why isn't this a full game!? :D

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:27am

Absolutely fantastic! Reminded me a bit of FFX Blitzball. I wish I could plan a pass in pause mode. Great Job!

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:29am

Nice game, and quite a different take on the team. Nice game play and mechanics. Well Done!

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:13am

Great game! I had a lot of fun

LeoM says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:35am

Very nice game, nice mechanics and fun to play.
Just the AI, may be annoying but it's not offensive enough. ;)

Pusty says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:59am

This was fun! I would love to see a further developed version!

lukepilgrim says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:16pm

i liked that one very much!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Very nice and polish. I love the timeout system for commands.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Well done! I really liked the game. The controls were shown quite quickly in the introduction, but luckily they were also written below. The controls felt quite natural after a while. The graphics are very nice, there is much detail, and I probably still missed a lot while I was focusing on playing. I also liked the music and the commentators. :)

cyrixd says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Best game I've played. So original and genuinely fun. Would love to see a full release!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:41am

One of the best so far. Looks great, sounds great, and really fun to play. The great controls offer tons of strategy options. Nice work!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Super neat idea! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CgBnxdy5Yfk

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Very interesting and fun concept.

ALobker says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Hilarious game and very well done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]