Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Frankengirl Free-For-All

by Frump - Jam Entry

Zombies have infested the town that you love to terrorize. It's not procedurally generated large enough for all of you.

The current goal in the Jam version is to seek out and kill all of the zombies. Zoom out and peek behind houses to find the last ones. The zombies like to hide in the houses. That's uh, emergent design, a feature, not a bug. Nope.

As you get hit you start to fall apart and lose some abilities, but keep running! It was intended that you reassemble yourself but I didn't work the bugs out in the last hours.

WASD = Move
Left Mouse = Attack
Right Mouse = Spin Attack
Space = Create new level
MouseWheel = zoom in/out
Secret Debug keys: lots

Unnecessary backstory: Your Frankengirl got home to see her house in flames (she just finished decorating), burned down by the villagers. She goes to the village to terrorize them but finds it crawling with all kinds of other monsters. That makes her doubly mad, that's her town to wreak havok in. Gotta show 'em who's boss.

Software:
Game Maker: Studio
Photoshop
Pyxel Edit

The music and sounds are Royalty Free added for mood.
Horror Tale music from playonloop.com
Chainsaw sfx from Soundjay.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#587Graphics(Jam)3.27
#655Mood(Jam)2.95
#674Theme(Jam)3.25
#681Fun(Jam)2.86
#711Humor(Jam)2.43
#786Overall(Jam)2.93
#886Innovation(Jam)2.50

Comments

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17am

Good job for a Dare

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17am

PLease OS X/web version

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:26am

Nice work, the controls are nice and smooth. It felt a little easy to defend myself, but I imagine as you added the repairs, that would have been tweaked. Loved the art style too!

FieroNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30am

Solid jam, I did have a couple bugs switching between levels, but was fun enough to keep me playing for a while

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36am

The music was SO good :) and I really liked the title and continue artworks - they were gorgeous.

It felt a bit like you couldn't finish the game as you planned to, the game part suggests that there should've been more.

What I found was absolutely adorable was how you implemented the healthbar with my bodyparts flying across the map whenever I lost "health".

Good job :)

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13am

+ awesome title screen and overall art direction, mood, potential fun
- animations, controls, & MAKE BLOOD ! :)

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:14am

great job , but it missed a score ( no goal :/), but nice graphics and gameplay

Frump says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:56am

Thanks everyone, I'm glad to see so many positive comments.

I uploaded an HTML5 build and a build with a lot of important fixes.

@LeafTheif Yes, definitely. A chainsaw wasn't even enough to make the amount of cuts I made to get it to this point. I tried to go a different direction than my GB Jam game which had a ton of art and polish on the core mechanics, but no game. This is slightly a game with a lot less art and polish.

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

the houses look great, the atmosphere is good, i think there should be a goal (time limit) or something like that.

JakeL168 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:48am

The aiming makes me a little dizzy.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:54am

That's awesome! One of the best games I've played this LD. Graphics are great, and music was spot on but the chainsaw sound got a little annoying after a little while (which I guess makes it like a real chainsaw, so appropriate at least). But yeah could use a goal and with the spin attack it's a bit easy (should put that on a cooldown or something).

Shaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:31am

Game functions well, and controls feel good, music and graphics are really nice, some animations would have made this really good, and maybe some gore, when you kill the zombies. Excellent job none-the-less.

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I really love the art style. Very cool!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:34am

Always a fan of overhead view games. Would love to see a fully fleshed out version of this. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:35am

Nice procedural generation! The character moved a little slowly, though, and I was able to remain invincible by spamming the spin attack. I like the artwork, and animation would have made it better.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:41am

Very nice artwork, especially frankengirl, healtbar and houses. A bit easy - spin attack just kills everything and lasts forever. Missing more havok, like zombie parts flying around when meeting the chainsaw, blood, etc. Could be nice to play with movement, e.g. make one attack faster, or make the spinning attack limited in time and the character unable to change movement direction whilst it is spinning, so its like a special attack.

Anas Azmi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:57am

Nice! I like d music as well. it's really fun but it's a lil' too easy to defend myself

P.T.A says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:25am

nice game, very solid and interesting, the art is good but doesnt have much animation, anyway good job!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:11am

I like the look of the game, particularly that limb for health. Level generation works well and the losing abilities mechanic works really well

collaboration says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:15am

Mouse is too sensitive, hard to concentrate. Not bad at all.

Goutye says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Love the hero <3 and nice graphics as well!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:51am

The camera and player movements shoul be improved. It really hurts the gameplay. The idea is good. graphics and music are nice.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]