Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Net

by Rasmus Dyhr Larsen - Compo Entry

This is an intense stealth game, where you play as a hacker, attempting to steal.. a thing.
Hack into terminals to get deeper access to the building, by either opening doors or finding access cards.
Watch out for guards, who patrol the corridors. If they spot you they might call for help.

There was gonna be a relation to the theme, but I spend the time on more important stuff.

The web build may not load, take a while to load, and/or suffer from minor performance issues. Refresh the page or use the windows build if you're having trouble.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#220Overall3.47
#258Innovation3.33
#272Mood3.28
#281Graphics3.44
#406Fun3.11
#492Audio2.65
#1942Coolness30%

Comments

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08am

Challenging and interesting.

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:19am

The guards didn't need to call for help, they killed me almost instantly all by themselves :-) Very exciting game, I enjoyed it a lot! As a personal preference, I would have preferred if the interactions with the objects were mouse driven as well, instead of through a separate keyboard button.

DifferentName says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

This game needs a tutorial level. Even with the controls listed on the right, I don't really understand the game. I think I understand how to hack, but i have no idea what causes alarms to sound sometimes. It took me a while to figure out that I have to hold down the right trigger to aim before shooting, but even then i've only managed to kill one enemy. I haven't gotten past the second room. Those doors are closed and I don't know how to get past them.

More importantly, this doesn't fit the theme at all. The hacker could be a villain, or a vigilante, or a hero, but in no way seems to be a monster.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:01pm

The graphics and mood fit the hacking thing you had going. However, it did not fit the theme at all. Nothing in the game implied being a monster, or heck, even being remotely related to one. Also I could not figure out the controls. They seemed unreliable as I kept missing the shooting even when aimed.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:55pm

I did not found the link with the theme, but the game is very challenging, which is nice and the controls work very well, good entry.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Very tricky but nice work!

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:55am

It's hard when your spotted. But I like the top-down isometric view. Great job in submitting your entry!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:21pm

I really liked the hacking mechanics :) I had a few problems with clicking on the nodes for some reason. I almost beat the first level with several attempts. I think I'll go back to it later, it was very intriguing :)

FistBumpGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Interesting concept with good ideas, I rather liked the visual style.
But the guards seem, well, overpowered with their rapid firing and ability to track you trough walls.
Also the hacking was rather well thought out, but difficult to perform, mainly because the controls were a bit wonky - giving the terminator like guards even more time to kill you.

TestSubject06 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:56am

Excellent mood. I like how there's no theme rating at all on it. You should have made the guards blue squares, and the player a red square. Then you would have fit the theme ;)

liquidmedia says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:58am

Cool game, it was hard to click on the nodes for the hacking part of the game, but spamming the mouse buttons worked.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Theme didn't fit too well, but that wasn't a requirement and I see that that was intended. Awesome game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]