Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Golbertz Party Sing-A-Long

by Franklin's Ghost - Compo Entry

(twitter: @FranklinsGhost)

Golbertz Party Sing-A-Long

You're invited to the the Annual Bobble-Head party and are at the beck and call of all the guests. Choose between your Angelic and Devilish sides to please the guests.

Controls:
Use the mouse to click through till you get to the guests requests. Then your Angelic and Devilish sides will appear and you have to try and click the Angel to proceed. It's randomized so be careful when you click or you won't know what's going to happen. There are quite a few different outcomes depending on whether you click the Angel or Devil.

Wanted to keep the responses a bit ambiguous so the player could fill in the gaps but think I probably kept them a bit to ambiguous.

Very short game but hopefully it means people can get the full experience.

Used:
Flash
Photoshop
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#25Mood4.07
#78Audio3.63
#92Graphics4.04
#140Humor3.49
#313Overall3.31
#431Theme3.45
#454Innovation3.02
#536Fun2.92

Comments

Tosic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:41am

Wow, really good, I am impressed, the Android version is awesome, the game is awesome, congrats man :D!

krasus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:12am

The audio added nicely to the overall atmosphere which felt pretty creepy. The way the characters were drawn and their animations also added to the atmosphere. Quite enjoyable, but a bit short. Good work none the less.

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:41am

Bizarre and surreal. I love it!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:11am

Bizarre and quite terrifying. Lovely art.

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:12am

Really digging the atmosphere, it was nice to spend a few minutes in such a surreal world.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:35am

That was amazing.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:50am

Thanks everyone who's played so far. I seem to end up always creating weird worlds with weird characters. Next time I'm doing something more straight forward.

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26am

I love it ! It's completely crazy.

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56am

Em not sure what just happened lol.
I nearly crapped myself when the woots played.

tc4mpbell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Nice art, ++creepy. :) Well done.

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Very nice! Well done!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Kinda cool, great graphics and everything was so funny. Especially the sound.

"Bobblehead. .. "

I clicked demon, "Whats this?" I though.

NOOOOOOOOOOOO

-muffin- says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Loved it! Especially the background music...

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Fantastic graphics, surreal audio, extremely creative! Too short, but I can't be too sad, that's the way of it for compo games. Well done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Cheers peeps. Glad to see people are enjoying it so far. Hard to tell when you're working on it and haven't slept how it'll actually turn out.

Also will make sure I get to everyone's games who's commented, just need to find sometime between work this week for it.

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Wtf did i just play. Definitely a unique experience!

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great atmosphere, a bit weird, a bit creepy. Nice work!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22pm

This is certainly different, i enjoy the surreal art and sounds, though it gets a little obnoxious when the sounds play over each other.

bombjack says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:59pm

weird...

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

This game just felt like nonsense to me. While I like surreal stuff, surrealism is when what is depicted defies our expectations of reality or logic; none of the things in this game defy my expectations in an interesting way, they're just sorta random. The same can be said about the audio; though it doesn't fit conventional standards of music, it's not strange in an unsettling way, just random and incomprehensible (with the exception of some elements, most notably the vague voices/whispers, which were genuinely unsettling).

The gameplay has no challenge and due to the random yet uninteresting nature of the events it also doesn't feel rewarding in an exploratory way.

I didn't really see the link with the theme here; all of the characters are monsters but it's not even confirmed that the protagonist is a monster, let alone that the protagonist's being a monster would affect anything. The text 'you are a monster' pops up at every bad end, but I have no idea why. Maybe I just don't 'get it'.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh creepy!
"her dark empty eyes" oh god
Nicely done! I feel like I ate toilet paper

miotatsu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26am

I love the artwork

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:42am

Veeeery creepy. Very well drawn.
I think the ambiguous responses make enough sense. I attributed the wrong doing to myself, so I think it works.

I know the feeling of not getting all the content you want in. Better luck next time, but the mood was well worth it!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very awkward game. I liked the feels of it but to be honest it's too short and mechanic is not that interesting.

Mase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39pm

The scenario and character designs are cute.

The game's progression is not ideal; it's a bit boring to replay 4 times to see the different endings. It's not a huge problem because the game is short... but maybe you can find a more clever structure.

The audio is weird, which is good, but your voice-work could use practice.
Also the WOOT WOOT part is very loud relative to the other sounds.

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:52am

Very......um....interesting..... but hey! I's a complete ludum dare game. Keep up the eccentric look on games ....bobble head...bobble head...you are my friend.

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:29am

my dog went crazy hearing the sounds from your game :D
and I'll have this "bobble head" song in my head all day now ^^
weird, creepy and surprising experience, I guess that's what you were going for so good job on that :)

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:27am

I.. what did I just... that atmosphere though..

freaknarf says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Haha weird psycho game once again ! mhhh bobblehead,mhh you're my friend... this song is quite scarrying, even more when it loops again after 10 minutes on the game over screen oO
The game reminded me some Joe Cartoon and your LD31 game also! bizzare...
Thank you for the Brutus trophie ;) Cheers!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Yes.

Bizarre and excellent. Everything just is so very, VERY unsettling in an extremely subtle way.

Think this has to be my favourite entry so far. I will be having strange dreams tonight...

Saf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Okay I cannot explain what happened on the last 15 minutes on my computer screen :P Definitely a refreshing game.. I don't know what you were smoking but it worked good!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:00am

Creepy. I like the art style. Except the clipping in the sound samples :-)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Weirdest game ever...Of all time. Seriously, I think this game deserves a reward for being so weird. But cool, I gave you all 5 stars. 5/5

Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:24am

That was pretty creepy. Very blue velvet. Android version worked a treat

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Creepy mood,i like this

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Wow, that was really weird and special, in a very good way. I wish you'd had more time.

frokes says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:33am

Took me a while to figure out that you were supposed to click on the loading screen but after that it was a really funny little game. Credits for the cool audio.

local minimum says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:49am

Impressive! That's one of the best games I've played this LDJAM so far. It wasn't entirely clear to me from the start if being good would be the right thing to be to get the party going or not. But that was totally OK as I wanted to explore all outcomes anyhow. The art was just perfect and well the only thing is it could have been much longer and have a more in-game ending. It could be nice to have it so that some things should be dismissed (being evil). It could also be very nice if at some points one could choose either and the game would go down different paths for a while. But I get that the explosion of possibilities and the load of work. However I really hope you continue working on stuff like this.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Odd. But loved the art :D

igoramendola says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:56am

hahaha that was kind of bizarre, but in a good way :) the sounds are good, also the graphics.
It's short but has a pretty cool concept ^^

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:55pm

cool!

i really like clicky game like this!

i could imagine this as a bigger experience!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]