Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Escape The Prison

by ImGone - Compo Entry

You spawn in a prison with no knowledge of how you got there!

Your best friend contacts you and tells you your son is trapped in the same building.

Help your son get out and escape the prison!


P.S I was no where near finished with the game.

*Website applet not working yet, will be fixed soon*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2178Coolness17%

Comments

Novaki says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:15pm

" Applet failed to run. No Java plug-in was found.

Applet is not currently working, I will fix it when I get the time! Sorry! "

RadMcCool says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Same here.
Do I need to download java stuff or is this a problem on your end?

ImGone says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:03pm

It is broken on my side, been trying to get it fixed, but I think I will just remove it altogether

TestSubject06 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:36am

The game still doesn't run

ImGone says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:59am

Hmm, it should work with java on Windows and Linux, maybe not mac though. Is it not starting or just seems kind of broken? You should just have to write "java -jar (nameOfFile.jar)" in a terminal.

Resonious says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:00am

Works fine for me. Pretty basic entry. The graphics are obviously kinda bad but I actually found them amusing and likable in a way.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:47am

Worked fine for me too. Just once I had a crash, for some reason the game didn't tell me to kill the enemy, then I went to the right door and it crashed.
The game is very simple, but I really liked the setting! I wish I could see the end of it... Can't vote on the Theme though, since there was no light on it.
Graphics were very "sketchy", but I liked it, just some more polishment and it would be nice~ Mechanics were quite basic, but no complaint on that. With enough aggressive enemies it could get quite challenging.
Anyway, good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:38am

Had to update my JRE to 1.8 if others are having problems still. Interesting game, one thing that bothered me was that dialogues would disappear while I was still reading them and the centering of the words was off so it was hard to read.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]