Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Yeti's Fast Food

by Balzaque - Jam Entry

Mr. Yeti is usually a nice guy, napping in the peace and quiet of Yeti Mountains. But sometimes he can get dangerously hungry, and running around looking for food only makes him hungrier. Which means bad luck for anybody who ends up crossing his way in the forests.

Although he doesn’t hold a grudge against the puny humans who disturb his silence with their “skiing”, Mr. Yeti does like the way all those winter clothes keep their juicy insides warm. Mr. Yeti calls them Burritos on Sticks.

Intructions:
-Use WASD to move
-Catch the human skiers
-Be careful! Running around makes you hungrier.
-Don`t starve to death

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Theme(Jam)4.40
#18Graphics(Jam)4.67
#23Humor(Jam)4.26
#24Fun(Jam)4.06
#25Overall(Jam)4.16
#60Audio(Jam)3.93
#103Mood(Jam)3.85
#167Innovation(Jam)3.52
#2178Coolness17%

Comments

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:03am

Really cool game with nice graphics !

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

The nostalgia. Brilliant take on the theme!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40am

Played a little slow in my browser, but I loved it!

Innovative, flashbacks of the ski-game that used to be on my school computer! Controls were a little icy (as if the yeti was a car..), but the awesome sounds and graphics kept me occupied.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

I just want to say that I had this exact same idea. But I'm incredibly glad I didn't go for it, because it wouldn't have been even close to this. Really fun, the controls are loose but in a good, challenging way. Artwork is incredible, audio is great, really not much more for me to say other than that so far, this is absolutely my favorite game of the jam.

Also, I set the world record at 101 before I voluntarily smashed myself into trees over and over to deplete my energy to give other people a shot. :)

mklee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

Really awesome! Being the yeti is way more fun than the skier as it turns out. The controls are a little drifty and it can be slightly frustrating to run into trees. :( But the animations and art are really gorgeous! Now you just need to add the skiers wiping out on jumps that the yeti can easily eat! Great job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:33am

Those animations are great! Would be nice to have a downloadable version (not a fan of the web player myself)

Shackhal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50am

Awesome and smooth graphics, good music and great gameplay. Also it have a leaderboard! Cool.

And puts a new gear to that old game that everyone remember. Ah, the nostalgia...

Overall, an excellent game. Good job.

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

Love love love love the graphics

faemir says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14am

Outstanding. Absolutely fantastic graphics, sound and concept.

FiSilva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:33am

The controls were a bit difficult, but I loved how everything was cute and my favourite graphics so far !

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Wow it was very addicting. Controls and movement of the character plus animations feel so right together. Music is the only thing bothering me, it seems like looping a lot. Other than that good job!

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37pm

It really looked like a promising and fun game. Well made and great music/audio to go with the graphics. But it really was much much too hard for me. I played several times before I caught my first skier, and that is the only skier I've ever caught. So I think you need to add different difficulties where the skiers simply go slower. Or have the skiers get better/faster over time. I see from the high scores that others are better at it than I am. But only running around and failing wasn't so fun. Other than the difficulty though, it looks to be a superb entry!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07pm

My biggest tip for catching skiers is to follow THEIR ski tracks. Skiers will generally avoid trees, so instead of trying to move towards them directly, follow the path they're taking and you will have an easier time avoiding trees. You move faster than they do, so even if you're not cutting through trees you'll still be able to catch up.

anissen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Really fun idea! Great graphics and execution :)

Colthor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Great idea and really pretty!
A Unity plugin or native download version would be great though - it was really stuttery in my FireFox, there was no sound, and it didn't register keyboard controls until I fullscreened it.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Adorable, wonderful and a great nostalgia trip!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Holy cow, this is an awesome take on the ski free remix!! What an excellent way to make the visuals your own, the 2D/3D look. Those little skiers are frustratingly agile too...

mboaj says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Hilarious.

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Really good one!! I love it. It is a true inspiration for me

Balzaque says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Updated the itch.io page with a windows build for anyone that prefer a standalone version, really happy with all the feedback, thanks everyone! =]

Rulrite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

A fun and professional little game, even if I'm terrible at it! You did a really great job with this.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Adorable

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Fantastic game. The art is cute and quirky, the controls are snappy, the animations are lively, the sound is great, though the music is a bit dull. But still great job overall.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Lovely. Everything in this game is on a very good quality

Made2Code says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:57pm

What can I say... I am a fun :)

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Brilliant animation, very smooth and quite challenging.

LazyPenguin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Fantastic!

5k0d says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Nice graphics, i had no sound though. Thumbs up!

plusultra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

Extremely cute! I love the movement, it makes it pretty challenging and very silly. Good job!

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:38am

A fantastic and incredibly polished game! The way Ski Free should've always been :D

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:29am

Good game :)

The way Mr.Yeti moves is charming. The sound effects, especially the scream, are also pretty nice.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:45am

This is an amazing jam game and an amazing game in its own right! The difficulty level is perfect. The mechanics are SOLID. As game-makers, we understand how difficult it is to nail these things, and by golly you nailed this one. Also, the art is hilarious and cute.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Super cute graphics! I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/tto3rRaLBXQ

scorched says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Funny one, my game is about yeti too

Zemmi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:53pm

My Yeti preferred to eat the greenery.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:26pm

This is honestly perhaps the most fun LD game I've played to date. The yeti has to gather up momentum, but it's still relatively easy to control and ends up creating an amazingly fun challenge. The relatively close camera adds to the feeling of you actually being a starving yeti chasing skiiers in a hurry. The graphics are simple, adorable and all-around lovely to look at, the music and sounds are cheerful, wintery and really suit the game well. Amazing job! C:

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:02am

Cutest animations I've seen in a while. Really enjoyed this. Dang, even leaderboards? Impressed!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:18am

Looks really good, nice animation, and I love what you did with the theme!
Controls were pretty hard for me though, I ran into a lot of trees- maybe if I didn't slide in the snow as much.

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:26am

The animation on the yeti is amazing lol

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:50am

Nice Game, great graphics!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Yeti is awesome!

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Really fun and feels very polished, well done!

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:38am

Loved it! The graphics(specially that of the yeti) was really good. Hope to see a future version of this one coming out. Good job !

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:58am

Great desings and really fun! Congratulations! :D

Twinters says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Amazing polish on the graphics and sound. The gamefeel is also done outstandingly well (I love how when you hit a tree, everything shakes. I sure felt the impact of that blow!). The game also really intuitive. Great job!

graebor says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Love it! Nice visuals and very polished. I appreciate the thought put into details like the fact that you not only have to touch the skier's hitbox but stay on him for a split second to actually eat him.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:38am

I'm one of those that spent an unhealthy number of hours playing SkiFree. I must say, I now have a new found sympathy for my old nemesis.

The game felt very polished- Controls where nice, as well as sound and graphics. I specially loved that the guys on skis were just as shitty as I used to be :P
Good job, and thanks for the nostalgia trip, with improved graphics :P

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:12pm

That was lots of fun! But damm those trees! I'M HUNGRY! :D

Sanju says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:24pm

It's so funny to see that hungry yeti running after the skiers XD. Great little arcade game. Loved the graphics and the take on the theme.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I really like this. By far the best reverse ski-free entry.

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:29pm

It s so polished, animation and gameplay. I really like it!
I really enjoyed it.

jcourt says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:15am

The windows version is missing an executable...

Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:49am

Cool game. Got me a little nostalgic haha. Nice job.

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:29am

So lovely in every way! Made me feel nostalgic. Harder than I expected :)

Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:10am

Argh! Way too difficult! So many trees! But cute graphics :)

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:32am

Nice idea and cool graphics ! Congrats ! Find the path of the skiers is a cool gameplay feature.

theshadowteam says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Nostalgia , great theme

Drauthius says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:54pm

That was very nice, and very difficult. I like the delayed bit, since it means it has to be a bit better planned.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Love the fluid gameplay, the clarity of the artwork is superb (except some assets seem not to render correctly on Safari?), just a really superbly polished package, nice work! The footsteps effect and particles add a huge amount - "juice it or lose it"!

adsilcott says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:07am

The animation of the Yeti is just the best thing ever!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:30am

Brilliant game!
Well polished, slick and enjoyable.
I loved the sounds, the graphics, when you stump into trees and kill those adorable sloppers.

Well it is a great entry! Well done!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:11am

Got only three skiers - I would make a bad yeti :D
Awesome entry with stunning animations. I only wish that meat indicator on the top would show how far to the left I need to go

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Very polished and fun entry.
During the first try I was trying to catch them on the fly because I thought they sky faster than you run (just ate 1). But then I started chasing them and I loved it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]