Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstrous Clicker

by Nizl - Compo Entry

Hey everyone!

This is my first entry ever and I'am really excited to get some critique.
The game itself is called "Monstrous clicker" and is programmed in plain javascript/html.
For the creation of the game I used:
- Notepad++
- Paint.net
- Audacity (my own voice)
- Chrome (for testing and playing)

If you finished playing the game you get a ranking. There are 25 possible rankings you can get which are simply chosen by your end-results.

Sadly I don't know how to set up a online version of this so you need to download it and run it in your browser (I recommend Chrome but it also works on IE and Edge, don't know about Firefox).

If you have anything to say please tell me so, so I can make a better game for the next LD!

Thank you for reading this and have a wonderful Ludum Dare :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#399Humor2.87
#528Audio2.58
#700Fun2.68
#793Mood2.36
#862Graphics2.12
#893Theme2.28
#899Overall2.44
#904Innovation1.92
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

masel3 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Pretty good game, i hate it :)

BuddaKaeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41am

You asked me how to do the sphere view :D
Google "post processing shaders"

colozz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43am

My mouse thanks you =)

Sadale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:44am

Good game. I've found a few bugs.
* The background isn't working. It's black background here.
* The game is significantly easier if you shrink the window.

Nizl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46am

@Sadale
I don't know about the first one but the second one doesn't work good :D
If you play the game like that you get a bad time since you get penaltytime :P

McFood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

Funny and Fun!
I got 1:16, "fast clicking person". It would be nice to know how many faster ranks there are, to know what I can aspire to.

You can host it on the web, buy putting everything in your "Public" folder on dropbox (if you have this folder, some accounts don't apparently), right clicking MonstrousClicker.html and selecting "get public link".
Going to that link should allow embedding here.

Did you do the voices yourself? They were pretty awesome.
Consider having a small button to start the next level, since its a clicker game, I always missed the screen between levels.

It feels odd that "score" increases with time, since high score sounds good, but is bad here.

Anyway, good job!

Mizipzor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:42am

A simple concept but I struggle to see how the theme applies. Left clicking both within a level and to transition to the next level made me miss most screens between levels. Could do with some music. Could really use some particle effects and stuff like that to make it more rewarding to complete objectives.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Not a very complex or innovative game but still fun ^^ The ranks at the end are a good idea and the sounds are funny :) Nice !

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Simple, yet entertaining :-)

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Fun little game, seemed to freeze every so often

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

It's definitely not my kind of game, but it's a game, and it works.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Very simple game, but it works and it's a full game! :)

Zeriver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Simplistic game with nice concept but at the current state it can't hold player's attention for more than few minutes. But with some improvements and new game mechanics i could see this as s really fun to play mobile game.

NickFrushour says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04am

I like the moving mechanic, how you always have to jump. It makes sense, cuz you're on the moon.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Fun and simple game. Good job on your first try.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Congratulations on yor first LD entry!

Nice little game. It would be nice if there were a bit more challenges. Like faster moving enemies or good guys who nearly look like bad guys.

I really like the sounds. :D well done!

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Good job! I enjoyed this one :) Was a little bit hard to actually hit the people, other than that, no complaints!

Frozen Stick says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:25am

This is kinda funny!I don't who should I kill!But anyways fun game.Could be better with some music.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Lol nice game, man!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]