Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fiskarens fiende

by WillysJerry - Compo Entry

It's hunting season for monster whales, and you happen to be one of the last surviving ones. Use your incredible strength and speed to satisfy your bloodthirst, destroy their ships and consume all survivors. The hunters will become the hunted.

Destroy ships for points and experience, eat the survivors to regain health.

Controls:
Directional keys to move.
Spacebar to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#270Audio3.14
#432Overall3.17
#500Fun2.97
#535Innovation2.89
#579Humor2.44
#636Graphics2.75
#652Mood2.69
#705Theme2.97

Comments

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:45am

Some more responsive controls would make this game better

shimage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15am

This is a little difficult for me. But I defeated five hunters! I love that control like a racing game. nice music.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:09am

Ooh, first of all, I noticed controls - it's good!
Sounds and music are nice too.
The game is completely playable

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:50am

Nice music and graphics. The enemies moved rather fast (and flexibly) compared to the time it takes for the attack to be performed. Or maybe I just have very poor timing :-)

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Really nice! And you have Character Progression too! The music is dope!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Nice game-play and decent graphics.

BuddaKaeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Nice game, imo the audio is a bit too agressive

2pae says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I love it,grat idea and great mechanics

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23pm

1) In spite of the slightly clumsy controls, it's quite addictive!
2) Nice models, simple but efficient :)
2) THE MUSIC. IT SPEAKS.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Interesting approach and choice of perspective, I'd never think of this concept as top down, but ti works. Had a bit of troubles gauging my speed and how high the wale was jumping, perhaps a little shadow on the water would have helped. The music was not my cup of tea but the sfx were fitting.

jinxly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54am

Awesome game, love the graphics and music! Very well done!

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:09am

Awesome audio. Loved the feel of this game. Turning could be faster, but other than that solid entry!

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13am

very nice game. unfortunately the controls are not very responsive :(

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I feel difficult to control, but still good to play.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice game! It allows you to work on tactics. but in my opinion, difficulty increases too fast

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice sound, would like to move faster.

goodbadokay says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very very funny game, like it and play so long:)

puddelipip says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I like the slightly sluggish controls but at the same time they made the game very difficult. didn't manage to catch a survivor, (I assume they give health)

Soundtrack works though being repetetive, on the right side of "works" :)

I like how you created a sense of depth of view with simple means, good job!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:52pm

It's tough to get to the boats without getting hit yourself, and the people are an even tougher target. Perhaps a little more friction?

Overall though, I liked the concept, and jumping whale definitely looked cool.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Good game, quite fun and the music was very nice too. It was a bit weird controls but still overall quite good!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:57am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Awesome game really good work. This was a really fun game. I think the premise was really strong and it was well implemented. The only thing is that sometimes the pirate ships would clump up a bit too much. Great work,

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:30am

Nice idea. Found it a bit difficult to control.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:37am

A whale of a time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]