Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

DIAL-NPC (Day in a life of a NPC)

by mzmiric5 - Jam Entry

EDIT: It looks like I originally uploaded the 64bit version of the windows build. I have now added both 64 and 32 bit builds (these are still the original submission version).

LD#33 Jam Entry by HiImMikeGaming(mzmiric5) and LRFLEW.

Mario games inspired Day in a life of a NPC (DIAL-NPC), is a 72hour first LD project we made. And boy did we have fun making, playing and streaming the development process.

The game lets you chose the NPC you wish to play with and the goal is to live a day of a NPC, being trapped in your section of the level, preventing the hero players from progressing further in the level. By avoiding being squashed, getting into the heroes way from the side to kill them (and earn points) and surviving for as long as possible, you become the NPC.

NPCs can jump if they pick up special items that allow them a limited number of jumps per item.

If a hero manages to get to the end of the level section you lose a point.

So get to it, kill the hero player, stay alive for as long as possible and have fun being the monster!

Engine: Unity 5 personal
Language: C#
Graphics: Drawn from scratch in Photoshop, inspired by a number of art styles.
SFX: Generated with Bfxr
Soundtrack: Generated with autotracker.py

Controls:
Left and right arrows or left gamepad stick to move the character left and right.
Space or Y (on xbox gamepad) or triangle (on playstation gamepad) to jump (only when the special item is picked up).

Notes:
The twitch integration keeps on breaking, the menu system is broken when trying to go from game to main menu (so if you want to change your character, it's probably best to quit and start the game again) and the help menu does not work, hero characters sometimes get stuck on the start or end of the level. The fixed version will be uploaded on itch.io later (probably tomorrow), so I'll add the links to that asap.

UPDATE:
One week after the LD33, and we finally found time to get the bugfix version ready for you all (we even added a Linux build). So if you haven't played the game, this version will give you a better experience, and if you had problems playing the original submission, this should hopefully fix them.
You can find all the bugfixed builds at the link below.
Bug fixes:
- player can't fall of the map any more
- enemies don't get stuck on the map limiters
- special sprite now has the right orientation
- twitch integration now pulls the data correctly instead of crashing the game
- menu system is now not completely broken
- the help and game over screens actually show up instead of crashing the game
or being completely unreadable
- player collider is now dynamically resized to avoid wrong collisions on
character change

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#503Theme(Jam)3.48
#572Humor(Jam)2.70
#593Audio(Jam)2.56
#727Innovation(Jam)2.75
#862Mood(Jam)2.64
#932Graphics(Jam)2.40
#986Fun(Jam)2.38
#1047Overall(Jam)2.48
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09am

Error on Win 10: "This app can't run on your PC." Compatibility may need to be a priority at this stage.

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31pm

@chikun Dev Team hmm that's odd, it was actually developed on a machine running Win 10, and I just tested it on another machine with Win 10 and it works there as well. Do you have any additional details?

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Ok I think that some of the buttons hitboxes are a little moved on the left, I don't know why.
Btw I managed to play it and I found in really nice! I like the npc idea and the fact that you actually kill mario! :D
Well done!

blahgyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I think it would be better if it was faster.

kfarwell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Fits the theme well, but a bit boring and repetitive. Would be far better if the pace was much faster and the movement (of either type of character) wasn't so sluggish.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Concept to develop. Interesting. Needs a lot more thoughts to it though.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:47am

COOL!

this was fun

i feel like this could be fun as a multiplayer game!

adsilcott says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Fun concept. I liked it.

Flaid says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I like the concept of this game! Those damn "heroes" have it comin!

In response to some of the other comments - the fact that you move slower than the "hero" makes sense because in the game you're basing yours off of the NPCs really are slower... but it would've been nice to see the powerups give a little more boosts to give you the ability to really stick it to the hero.

I managed to mess up the game by switching from one NPC to the other (menu -> start game, switch character).

All in all, pretty solid!

JonathanG says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:20am

I really like the idea of this game, it’s cool to play as the enemy of a part of a Mario level. The game’s visuals and audio were cohesive to the theme and well done in general, I thought. I didn’t notice that any of the hero players had any different behaviours, that’s something that I think would’ve added a lot to the game both in terms of difficulty and variety. It was nice to be able to pick different enemies to play as, with different powerups, but ultimately I wasn’t sure what the ‘goal’ was. Is there a win condition that I just didn’t see? A couple of other things I should mention - I tried pressing the help button and nothing happened, and when I died, the ‘press ….’ text was obscured by the cloud behind it. Played & reviewed on OSX (10.10.5)

mzmiric5 says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Thank you all for very helpful feedback, we are already working on an extended version of the game, making sure to incorporate the improvements and test them with the community. You guys are just amazing :)

For those having issues with the menus and the game breaking when changing characters, I suggest using our bugfixed build for optimal experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]