Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Witchhunt

by Filecreation - Compo Entry

Disclosure upfront;
The ending to the game has not been finished. There were too many problems with the code and I could not figure out how to fix them all.

[The Game]
You are a villager in a peaceful town where nothing too extraordinary happens, until a witch hunt ravages through your town. In order to save your own skin, you enter the other player's house to find evidence of their supernatural nature, while trying to explain why your house might contain some.. unusual artifacts as well.

In the ending you would stand trial with the other player, trying to present your evidence in a convincing manner.
The player who would fail to succeed would be burned at the stake, for they would be unmasked as being the Monster in the town.

[Controls]
The menu's can be walked through with the keyboard, via the arrowkeys and the enter key.
You can exit the game any time via the ESC key and the exit button in the menus.
Once you have been assigned your role within the town, you can walk around the house via the left joystick on an Xbox controller.
(Other controllers might work, but have been untested)

[Feedback request]
Even though the games conclusion is missing, I would like to hear your thoughts on the concept.
Any type of feedback is great feedback that will help me grow as a game artist!

Thank you very kindly for your time and enjoy great games everyone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Innovation3.26
#318Audio3.05
#345Theme3.57
#391Mood3.10
#427Humor2.80
#504Graphics3.00
#540Overall3.04
#588Fun2.83
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:33pm

You didn't add any link to your game, we can't play it!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:47pm

No link...

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:55pm

The concept itself sounds very intriguing! Kudos for coming up with something so original!

I do have to wonder though how would you do the judgement part if there's only two players and not a "judge" player involved?

But as a concept very exciting!

Filecreation says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Sorry folks, apparently I forgot about the http:// part.
Big mistake there, it should be fixed now

chameco says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice concept.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Nice 2D graphic sand also nice gameplay :D

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I really liked the concept of the game (shame it is two player though as it will be more difficult to get ratings), I found the mechanics and overall gameplay to be very innovative and I salute you for that, I think it was a very enjoyable game and found it very competitive with the person I was playing with, I really liked the cute art style and the introduction voice-acting was of great quality, I found that the mood was forwarded by the introduction, great job overall, well done.

ksanochka says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

game was nice but i prefer 2d graphics instead of 3d :)

sergicollado says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I'm alone, I can play it well in order to emjoy it, I also have controller, it seems to need it :(

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Game breaking bug at the end of the level, argument out of range

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice concept but making it multiplayer alienates a lot of players wishing to play and rate. Sound quality seemed good although there was sadly no music. I quite liked the graphics style as well. Main criticism is forcing controller input on players. At minimum keyboard should be offered as well.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Neat concept, reminds me of Mafia.

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:18pm

It is a nice idea, however it is difficult if you do not have a controller (probably should add some keyboard support of some kind) and having to have 2 players.

Electron says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nice art and ideology , just think about the title again

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]