Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Kong's Revenge

by piopio - Jam Entry

It's a LCD Game&Watch style game, where you're a giant gorilla
that tryes to survive against bad boys that try to deactivate
the platform to make you fall and die.

There are two game modes 'A' and 'B'. Both are almost the
same with a small difference. Activate one or other just
pressing "A" or "B" key. Move the monkey with keys [A]-[D]
or [cursor left]-[cursor right] keys and throw the barrel
pressing [Space bar] or [Keypad 0]. There are only one life
and speed increases as things happens.

I know the game is too simple and not very challenging at
starting. I though it would be easy to program and have
time to add more stuff and testing, but the "LCD" simulation
taked too much, and I had few time that week end. Anyway, I
liked the idea and I plan to add more stuff and change things
to add more fun. If you like the idea too, keep a eye on my
Ludum Dare place, where I'll announce any upgrade.
[http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/piopio/]

Oh, I've added the sources too. You see, I've done it in
Object Pascal. Yes, people still uses it. You'll need
free Pascal and Allegro.pas (SVN #283 or 4.4.5 [it isn't
released yet and it will take a while, but it will]). I've
included a Lazarus project to make things easy. All are
free and open, so you should find them just googling.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#650Overall(Jam)3.07
#2056Coolness24%

Comments

piopio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21pm

If you look at version number, you see it's 0.1.1 instead of 0.1.0. This is because I discovered a small bug that I fixed.

NineBears says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

This game's aesthetic is absolutely amazing. How you managed to create such a faithful recreation of game and watch is beyond me. The games are really fun as well I especially like game A as I always felt donkey kong had an easy job in the original game

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I can't play it since I'm on mac (and thus not rating it), but brilliant idea. It looks great in the screenshots.

piopio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

To @mikelovesrobots3: If your mac has Intel inside, may be you can try by installing Wine HQ. It is NOT an emulator, so you don't need a windows.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:18am

As you've stated, the game is too simple but it's very well presented, I hope next time you'll get enough time to do ample play testing!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Retro, but too slow for my taste

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I like the art and the retro style. But I think it's too easy. Anyway well done buddy!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

AlexSet says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Nice retro graphics, preferred Game B as it offers more of a challenge.

killersnoofie says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:01am

Awesome I love the overall feel of he game

killersnoofie says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:01am

The*

TheGreenTie says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:16am

Could have fitted one of the "Game & Watch"-themed jams.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]