Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Truck Monster

by adamwoolridge - Compo Entry

A Monster Truck race driver becomes a monster of a person after losing one race too many. He goes on a killing spree in his monster truck...

or something.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#17Fun4.13
#58Overall3.86
#98Graphics4.02
#199Humor3.32
#254Theme3.71
#373Mood3.12
#374Audio2.93
#477Innovation2.98

Comments

dustinaux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50am

Pretty fun. :) A bit difficult to hit people though and I got stuck bouncing around in a forest for a bit. Solid overall!

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

Super Pretty! I love the look of the tire marks. I had a hard time getting the hang of the angles at first, but the difficulty and length were spot on. Great work!

DaleP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:03am

The tire tracks and trees bouncing when you hit them were nice touches. Like another commenter said, the pacing was good, but I thought it would have been nice to see more variation in mechanics as the game progressed (understandable for a 48hr game, though).

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:24am

Woow :D
These graphics are just awesome! Interactive and really nice.
I really liked the feeling of the truck. Great entry!

Indiestry says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

Driving and drifting feel statisfying and the graphics are nice and unique. As said before it was a bit of a struggle hitting people first try, so I often had to turn around and try again, which took away the flow a bit. Maybe just make the truck wider? Also a combosystem could be cool I guess; helps the flow aswell :).

Darkgoon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59am

Great game! I really enjoyed it. It was pretty evil to put you facing the cliff right after respawning at lst level though

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

Fun little game. Like the animation when you hit a tree.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:10am

Great fun, challenging but the sounds are v annoying

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:29am

Must fun I had with an LD game so far. The handling of the monster truck is superb (reminds me of Super Mario). The fleeing people, the bumping trees. Amazing that you did this in a weekend. Kudos!

Oh, and the play with Monster truck deserves a mention, too.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:32am

Fun game. Good graphics & polish. I actually thought the sound was quite good.

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:45am

Fun! And I want my car to be able to rotate like that when stopped!

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:49pm

A super simple idea, great executed.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Really great game, loved all the mechanics except for the no animations, but i would have done worse. Nice interpretation of the theme. Pretty cool sounds.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Good use of the theme. The car felt great to drive. There are loads of nice touches like the headlights and the way trees move when you hit them.
You got a good score from me buddy. Nice work!

YerghaizVerot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Beautiful piece of work here. Drift controls were easy enough to learn, but hard to master. This is the first game I've played in this LD that I actually went back and tried to improve my times :D Well done, sir. Well done.

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Great game... Nice conception

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Great entry. Super fun. Nice looking. Great vehicle control. 5-stars.

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:09pm

A lot on nice little touches with this game making it feel so much more than just a couple of days work, I really like it! the driving feels really nice too!

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:09am

Cool game! I like the graphics, effects and physics, but the sound is not that good. Overall, simple idea and well executed.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:19am

+ controls, fun, animations, 3d design, idea
- UI & font don't fit the 3d graphics imo, annoying engine sound

Friday says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

Love the cartoony graphics and the feel of the car was great, it felt like boosting around a rocket. Good work!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21am

Love the graphics, the way the car leans into a corner, and the look of the trees, controls are simple and solid. Killing people looks great. Excellent job.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21am

Haha spent a good time playing! Good job!

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:31am

remind me of carmageddon. the graphics are beautiful. en it is easy to understand the controls.it take some time before i notice that have to keep driving to take out ever purple guy

conrad123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:33am

You shouldn't be able to turn without moving.

Namide says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

I like shaders and the vehicle physic, it's pleasant to drive and kill.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49am

Really cool game. The controls are sweet and the graphics is really nice!

janiq says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00am

Funny game. I missed the going back with car. Otherwise i liked the controls. Specially the drifting is very good. Graphics are also very nice.

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08am

Fun to play! Damn smaller enemies! :D

amortus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:11am

very fun and good graphics.

Mase says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

The vehicle's size and handling make it seem like an RC truck.
I wish there was some monster-truck-arena stuff like ramps and destructible trailers.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Really tight controls, I got the feel for it straight away and everything reacted as it should. It was great fun just driving around and spinning in circles.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:20am

Thsi was really fun, cute graphics. I liked the little jiggle when you drive near someone.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Holy... Your idea to play a monster truck is my favorite so far. The gameplay is also super fun and enhanced by a great presentation. Awesome overall ;) Keep jamming !

Denis347 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:46pm

So I'm not the only one with this idea :-D Nice game, I like the graphics style. Those people are hard to run over, they sure dont want to die :-D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]