Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

BROYOTORUSUM

by PnDAA - Compo Entry

Hi, did it in more or less one day, hope you will enjoy this little game.

Click : Shoot
Right Click : Speed Up

Eat the smalls entities to win : 10 entities = level up, 3 level up = game over. If you eat a big entity you restart a the begining of the previous level. Have fun.
(no sounds)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#440Fun3.06
#512Humor2.60
#528Innovation2.90
#609Graphics2.82
#679Theme3.03
#744Overall2.79
#779Mood2.40

Comments

Tigris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Pretty well "hand drawed" attempt. Carnage simulator.

tGiant says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

It was okay.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:28pm

This is absolutely CRAZY! The concept is pretty simple, but the play was challenging, insane and weirdly addictive. I played again! Well done.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Very juicy!

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Interesting. Art style reminded me a little of Ed McMillen’s and AVGN’s Super Mecha Death Christ ;) Gameplay was fun and the little red/green indicator helped me lot deciding what to shoot. Cooldown on the main weapon was a little too long for me but I guess that added to the difficulty. Solid entry!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Pretty cool game! It turned out way harder then I expected it to be.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Took my a while to figure it out, what I need to shoot. Cool entry! Try to add sound effects for the next.

marvalgames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:37pm

that was fun.
Nice mechanic.
Like how you need to play fast to get further.
Like the vector style too.
Just simple and solid.
Will play again

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Nice graphics!

jodizzle says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:48am

I really liked this game! I took me a while to get the hang of what was going on, but I think the game is balanced with a cool set of mechanics (there's a lot to keep track of with each additional level), is challenging with good pacing and scaling, has fantastic art, and is overall just a nice and self-contained product. I would have loved to hear some audio, but you certainly did a good job given the time constraints. I became increasingly tense as I got more and more points because I knew how much I had to lose, and I was genuinely excited when I managed to finally clutch out a win. I'd be interested to see where you could take these ideas, such as adding a point system, making the speed-up (right click) ability more useful/necessary, etc., etc.

I don't have too many criticisms, but one thing that bothered me is sometimes it seemed as if the spacing of the big entities made it impossible to shoot them all (e.g., four airplanes right on top of eachother with some trees at the bottom), which was pretty frustrating. Maybe the random generation could be fixed up, or you could relax the damage the big entities do?

Again though, great job, and congrats on the entry!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This isn't fun at all.
After reaching level 3 it's the pure essence of frustration.

Althrough I managed to beat the game, it doesn't have anything to do with skill or aim, it's purely random: if 10 small entities spawn before a tree - and you manage to pick them up -, you win.
If a tree spawns, that's guaranteed to drop you back to lvl2 without mercy.

Hands down, it's a good entry, but the mechanics need some work.

Nonetheless, the graphics are good enough and it is innovative. Keep up the good work, just please, next time, make it a bit less frustrating.

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]