Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

PokEscape: Magicrap's Stealthy Journey for Survival & Gyrodeuce

by Tuism - Compo Entry

You are the (Poke)Monster!

As a newly hatched Magicrap, floundering about, minding your own business, working damn hard just not to starve to death and scraping up just enough money for your family to get by, it's absolutely insult to injury when some capped kids stomps into your personal space, and starts throwing these bloody things at you.

Looks like you gotta keep your wits about you to outsmart these abominable kids! Who the hell do they think they are??

-------------------------------------

You're a growing monster baby. You need to eat to survive. You also need to hide from the damn humans to survive. Your cover also happens to be your food. Uh-oh!

-------------------------------------

*So* many features that I wanted to include but didn't make it in. But despite that it's all actually pretty fun! What I did manage to squeeze in:
> Rad stealth system where you have to eat your cover to stay alive.
> 5 Levels.
> You can 3 star each level by completing them "perfectly".
> Audio! (Making time for sound is among the best decisions you can make for a jam game)
> Not nearly as many bugs as I thought there'd be!
> A beginning and an end! (of sorts)

This is possibly my most complete LD yet, I'm super proud of the outcome, even though I know it's not exactly where I wanted it to be (yet).

Thanks for taking the time, you're the awesomest :)

Controls (self explanatory but just in case):
WASD to move, Enter as your action (to eat)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#104Overall3.75
#115Innovation3.65
#120Fun3.63
#151Graphics3.83
#182Humor3.38
#284Audio3.12
#343Mood3.17
#437Theme3.44

Comments

krasus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:47am

That was really fun, although I feel that it doesn't really suit the theme of 'you're the monster,' unless it's 'you're the poke-monster!'

Also if you mash enter and race to the exit it's pretty easy to win :)
Great job none the less, very enjoyable!

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08am

Thanks! Yes indeed it's "you're (poke) monster!" - it's the first line of the description! :D

You're right you can just speedrun it, but the real challenge is to get the three coins while doing that. I was wondering if I should lock the exit in some other way, but didn't get that far. Level design is hard!

Thanks for playing! :D

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47am

Well done. Very easy to panic. xD Having the bust out of pokeball and eat grass mechanics on the same button makes it more interesting than it would be otherwise.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:28am

I was on the fence about the button selection for busting out - wriggling left/right was the first choice, but then you'd run out of cover. Same key as eating makes it interesting, but I'm not sure if it's better, but I also don't want it to be yet another button...

The idea here is pretty bare-bones, the original thought was that you get to evolve and play with different abilities like dashing, and/or different types of food that grant you boosts, and different trainers, some will go into long grass, some with wider view, some with better balls, etc.

But of course, overscoped :P

Thanks for playing! :D

sydan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:11pm

This game is quite fun, but also gets hard quite quickly. I would suggest making 'eating' automatic as I just found myself spamming ENTER. Love the art style and the take on the theme was hilarious!

inurashii says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Very clever idea! I was impressed by the polished look of the levels, and the clean animations. The controls were responsive and felt good, and the gameplay was intuitive but challenging. The audio did grate a little bit, but all in all a very fun play :)

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Really funny and stable game. Polished graphic and audio, enjoyed playing it

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Loved the double mechanic of having to eat grass/hide in grass. Really good game design. Could of course use some tweaks here or there but this was fantastic for a compo entry!

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Linux link is broken. Redirects to "Oops! That page can’t be found."

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

I love this game. Hiding as a magicarp in some grass or else the trainers will catch you. Great idea!
(A pokemon like soundtrack would fit really well!)

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Cool game! Having multiple mechanics that allow the player to have an easy run or a challenging run depending on if they want the coins or not. Love it!

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Loved the game,

Found the concept very funny, especially the ending screen.

While it was simple it was really sharp and well executed. I like this entry.

felipeberquo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:19pm

The graphics and the sound are great! Really enjoyed it
Congratulations bro!

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This was fun! Now I have to take a Magicrap.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:23pm

A really interesting take on the 'gotta catch them all' mentality. Really nice art style, and some great humor. The last 2 levels are very difficult to 3 star :p.

Overall, a ton of fun to play!

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Linux version fixed! Sorry about that!

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:28pm

GG loved it!
Nice graphics and fun gameplay, please add more levels! : D
fonts not_comicsans would be apreciated xd

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice game. Thanks for fixing the issue with the Linux link.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:24pm

This game is ridiculously well polished for a compo entry! I really enjoyed it!

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Pretty fun game :) Liked the amount of polishness in the game and the graphics are great :)

recursor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:47pm

This is a really neat idea and quite well executed I might add. Both the graphics and audio have nice polish to them.

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Good Game :)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Wow! Definitely a cut above the average. Interesting gameplay mechanic—I'm the hungriest creature I've ever played. Good thing I'm vegetarian. Hilarious grumbly tummy "hunger" noise. I didn't quite get the "hiding" mechanic though—really just seemed more like dodging, since the poke masters always saw me no matter what I did (it seemed).

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:22pm

This is an awesome game! Stealthing around and dodging pokeballs feels very satisfying. The achievements for each level are a nice added challenge.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Hilarious idea, love the graphics. "Gyrodeuce" is pretty impressive. Unfortunately a little easy to win if you run all the way to the end and mash enter, but if you play it the right way it's great!

afisicos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nice game, i enjoy playing it. Gotcha escape em all.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Thanks everyone for your awesome input! :D

Comic Sans was a conscious decision :P I thought - if I'm gonna make a joke game, I might as well go all-in with the jokes :P

The difficulty is a really tough one to balance, I know I didn't want to trap the player in a level if they can't get past something, but at the same time, I didn't want it to be easy. So I eventually settled on this - where it's easy to get through, unless you want that extra challenge (I do!).

I can tell you this - This was nowhere near as well designed as it can/should be. The compo is REALLY hard to do some really good level design in... Heck ALL level design is damn hard, and is definitely something I need to practice and learn in massive quantities.

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:57pm

The presentation was good but I found it quite difficult to figure out how to best deal with the trainers. Seemed like running fast was the best option but then you also had to look out for keeping your food level up which often conflicted

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Extremely polished, nice clean rule set, easy on the eyes. Good work.

Ardy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00am

Really nice game. A shame that you didn't get to implement other of your ideas. I think you should lock the gate so you have to collect at least one coin to open it and the rest for the stars. That would add some challenge/incentive.

(I found a little bug. If you happen to get out of the pokeball while the trainer jumps in you, you both get stuck and all you can do is starve to death!)

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37am

Lot's of fun, cute graphics, great take on the theme, good level design. Laughed at magicrap too. Good Job.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00am

Nice game

Thorig says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:46am

This is a great puzzle game. My son must play this game, he loves Pokemon. This entry is really good! It is simple and plays well.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39am

Haha! I love how you've executed the Pokemon perspective!
the graphics are neat

next time that I'll play Pokemon, I'll think twice before throwing a Pokeball on a magikarp

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:42am

Great entry. Could be expanded to a full game easily! (maybe with some tweaks to avoid lawsuits)

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07pm

This is adorable. The art style is great, it's super cute, and the gameplay is challenging.
Kinda wish hunger was based on movement/action rather than time, but I guess it made it easier to balance, since it's a game jam and all.

Awesome work!

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20pm

@Ellian you're right! I actually wanted to make the game turn-based to start with, and make it an almost roguelikey sort of super thinky stealth game, but I quickly realised... That would be so damn hard to build, balance, and everything, so I settled on this quite quickly.

The next version? Who knows? :)

bytegrove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Haha, fun interpretation of the theme! I like all the little clever ways in which you manage to avoid copyright infringement, hehe! The game got pretty hard, pretty fast, but it was fun, I think you could develop this further for sure. Nice work!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Near mechanic of eating your own cover. A few bugs in it though (The coin counter never reset so you could skip fetching coins and still get 3 stars, which made it trivial). Nice presentation too

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Super fun, awesome game. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/NqmWO8MUX6c

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Excellent game with nice polish. The mechanics were great and there was a good amount of challenge.

Now anyone playing this game will understand how annoying it must be for animals to be captured on-the-spot by random weirdos. XD

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:13am

This was great. The background music really helps in making this feel very parody-like. Great job! When's this going on mobile?

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02am

Haha wonderful idea =)

shawn42 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56am

Super fun and cute. Very unique mechanic; I like.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:05am

This was a lot of fun, sad that it ended so soon! Liked the clarity in the graphics, was easy to see what was happening at all times. Escaping from the poke balls (or whatever they are called here) was quite easy but I thank you for it, otherwise I would've never completed this one :D

Overall a very polished game, nice work!

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:23am

1st Thought:
"Wow, this looks really well done"

Pros:
Art.
Gameplay was very well balanced, and the controls felt good.
I liked the rad stealth system.

Cons:
The feeling of being the monster just wasn't there.
The music didn't quite fit the feel, it was just kind of there.

Overall:
Very well done, I legitimately enjoyed playing this. Great Job.

Tuism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:03am

Yeah the music was pretty much something I could find from a generator. I initially wanted a nice relaxing pokemon-esque track, tried to write one myself, first with Bosca Ceoil, than with Garage Band, then I just realised I ain't gonna be able to make it on my nub of musical talent :P So I went procedural hunting. I also wanted the music to pick up into pokemon combat music when you get spotted........ But alas.

The feeling of being a monster was the feeling of being a (Poke)monster, as far as my interpretation goes :P

Thanks for the input :D

jtpup0 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:34am

Amazing as always!

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:25pm

I thought this was really interesting. All of your mechanics work together really well. Having to resist being caught was a really good idea to counter the speed and rate that the trainers were throwing. The only thing that I really think could have improved was more polish on the art. The shadows were really dark and I think the colors could have been tighter and less saturated(not trying to down you just scratching my head trying to think of anything because this is a really good entry). I think it was a really good idea given the theme and the execution is expertly done :).

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Very funny take on the theme ahah. I found it too difficult to avoid the pokeballs but I completed the 3 levels, even without most of the stars! Good job!

careless says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:17pm

The graphics were nice and clear and fun, sounds perfect for this type of game.

Really simple and enjoyable idea, I liked that you were being hunted like a Pokemon.

This is the sort of game which you could put on a mobile and keep added new levels and challenges too.

Great entry!

Miltage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Great entry Mr. Tu! The concept was simple and executed well. The choice of art style fits the game well, and allowed you to pull off simple animations that still felt good and gave the game a polished feel. The difficulty ramping throughout the levels was perfect.

Not sure why the pokeballs were diamonds though. Circles aren't that hard to draw man! #TuuGood

Tuism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Spot on on the simplistic graphics - They started out as being placeholders, then I totally remembered my previous experiences, and made sure I made "good enough" placeholders just in case, and sure enough :P They really really helped though!

I made the pokeboxes... boxes, because I didn't want to tread on trademarks :P

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:11am

Nice job. I've minimal knowledge of Pokemon, but enough to see the twist. Nicely done. Great graphics and solid controls.

Piotrek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Graphics and animations looks nice.
Idea for enemies was very funny too.
Nice game!

Tuism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Bookmarked: Indiegames.com had PokEscape in their roundup of LD33 games :D

http://indiegames.com/2015/08/ludum_dare_33_voting_open_with.html

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:29am

Very interesting mechanic. The levels needed a little more depth. Quite polished.

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Loved this game! The concept is clever, eating your own hiding spots is great, and the difficult scales just right. Without a doubt, my favorite part was escaping the pokeball mechanic - after having thrown so many pokeballs in my day, it's hilarious to be on the other side. Great job!

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Really nice game. Taking perspective from a Pokemon monster? Really lovely graphics.

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:20am

Hey!! Simple but really fun!!
I really like the pokeSQUARE. XD
It's a reallt good game and funny, congratulations!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Hehe. Such a lovely graphics. Really fun idea!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Just awesome. Feels very polished. Not much to say here.
One little thing though. In the last level I collected one coin, yet I got the stars for collecting all three coins.

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I like the game. It wasn't too hard if you just mashed enter, but it was still a pretty enjoyable game.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Cool game, interesting gameplay! :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:01am

Ahaha that poop joke :3
I knew I'll get to play as a wild pokemon this when the theme came out.
Getting out of pokeballs was great fun! Awesome job!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:17am

Nice game mechanic, loved the idea hahah. Good job with this! :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:28am

Really good concept, and solid implementation. I liked the simple, clean graphics, they added a nice touch.

Well done!

Pomb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice work Tuism! Damn tricky getting the balance between surviving and having enough grass to hide in!

Ulydev says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Moving to the beat was really fun! Great entry overall!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:03pm

this was cool. I liked the simple setup, nice methods of running around. I felt like i kinda did the same kind of thing, but yours was much more puzzly, felt more like pokemon(not mine of course)(mine was alien), and the dynamics of the game felt nice an tight. The choice of magiccarp was what kinda confused me since there are more "monsterly" pokemon in the bunch. :D

sikosis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:19am

Nice graphics and controls, though I thought it was a rogue-like turn based game first and quickly realised I was wrong. You should definitely keep at it. Good job.

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:27am

Wow, great job very complete, interesting idea that you have to eat your cover, great gfx and point system, well done!

Tuism says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:07am

Haha, the choice of Magicrap was really just that its the most uselessly floundering pokemon of the bunch, and I wanted to convey the feeling of helpless pokemon more than anything else :) So yeah, my take on this wasn't the usual rawr-eat-everything-scary monster, but just the word monster in pokemon :)

I really do want to develop this in a roguelike, turn-based direction, though it would really be something else, due to the projectile dodging that's happening now.

Thanks for your kind words everyone :D

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:47pm

I always teased my spouse how it's mean of the trainers to catch Pokemon and put them in little balls. Maybe this game will elicit some empathy! :D Great job! Fun little game.

Fonserbc says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:40am

Man, those 3 stars are hard!

Druid says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Wow! Flawless entry! Balanced gameplay, neat graphics! Well.. Music was little unfitting. I expected something more action... But except this, solid entry!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:51pm

This was so much fun, just wish there was more levels cause I really enjoyed playing. The art was great and worked well with the story. Hopefully you keep going with this and release another version with more levels and the hunger mechanic adjusted to moves which I can understand you not doing with the short time you had.

Pusty says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Haha I love it! :D

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Cute game, nice concept.

Twinters says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I was looking forward to playing this when I saw one of your posts about it during the 48 hours, but never found it again until now. Lovely game. I really love the artstyle. The mechanics are intuitive and the levels were quite hard. Well done!

freaknarf says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:36am

Nice game, easy to "speedrun", but quickly hard to complete "perfectly"... Maybe locking exit until the first star of something like this could make it more leveled at first sight!
Simple but smooth visual, good tune, a bit short one after a while :) Magicrap reminded me Kirby's "Kine"

freaknarf says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:22am

Awww sorry, what i just wrote on the tune, another game was launched in the background and i was not hearing your tune :] I just realized it and came back to your game to listen to the music...
My apologies, this is not short and repetitive as I wrote, that's a good piano tune :)

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:03am

good concept. I die too fast ;p. the art is simple but nice.

LMT says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:39pm

That was a pretty cool entry. The graphics are really cute and the gameplay is pretty original also.

radmars says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Great. Way to go!

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Magikarp finally has it s revenge!!! BEST THEME FOR THE GAMES I RATED!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Really cool game, I loved the turn around with you being the pokemon! Now I'm wondering about ethical nature of capturing pokemon. I mean, c'mon, you're literally making this pokemon your slave! I think there needs to be a Pokemon Rights movement in that universe.

jcourt says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I liked the idea having to hide in the grass and eat it to stay alive. It's a little too easy though, because you can just run right through eating all the grass you come in and dodging the pokeballs.

hexagore says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:51am

Weirdly this game seems to be greater than the sum of its parts if you know what I mean. I've never played Pokemon so I'm going to assume the music is some sort of reference to music in that sort of game but it drove me bonkers by the end :) The art was beautiful and suited the game well.

The game itself, sure, you can just run for it but I played it to get as many coins as I could (ended up with 11). The mechanic of hunger + edible cover = very interesting indeed. Definitely turned it into an actual challenge to play properly. The decision to let you try escaping from the balls was a very good one, too.

Thanks for making it :)

Tuism says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:31am

Thank you! :D

I tried to go for something very pokemon-ish, started composing in Garage Band, then realised I still have no musical talent to speak of, just like last time I checked... So I found some procedurally generation and went with that. It was... Better than nothing :P

The balance between the two polarising goals of the game could definitely have been handled better - I wanted to not present an impossible task for people who give up quickly, nor did I want it to be a cakewalk. The optional challenges I thought was awesome and would give people something if they wanted it - which is what many did, and that's awesome :D

I should have made perhaps one coin mandatory before moving on, or something more interesting than just "get to point B". Further development will tell, possibly :)

Dianouille says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Haha the use of the theme made me laugh ! And the graphism are pretty nice, good job ! Maybe propose controls with the arrow keys can be a good idea, for tose of us who use a azerty keyboard ^^

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:28am

Fun game. A bit disappointed that I didn't get a different ending if I got all the coins, but still very entertaining!

Tuism says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:16am

Omg guy, did you get all the coins?? :D Yeah I absolutely ran out of time to actually put in different endings, or even hook in the coin counter properly... :/ really wanted to though!!!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:08am

Had a lot of fun playing this :). Thought the life decreasing rate was pretty punishing. That said, ignoring those stars sure made the game a lot easier to play. Liked the fact that you had to feed off of your own hiding places. Plus, those trainers being respectful and not crossing the grass patches was nice.

Incidentally, I seemed to have encountered a bug where despite not collecting all coins on the map, it still gave me a star for it.

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

This made me laugh really hard. Nice take on the theme, plus I thought the core mechanics were cool. Good work!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Really cool idea, cute gfx and audio, though I feel the level difficulty ramps up pretty quickly. Not too sure how it fits the theme in general though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]