Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Salvie

by Teesquared - Jam Entry

Who are you? Why are you here? And what happened?

Turn off the lights, put on your headphones, and enjoy this supernatural thriller as it unfolds. The game is an interactive story where your choices reveal different parts and perspectives of an engaging and profound mystery.

Make selections from the available choices to the left and right of the ghostly vision by clicking them.

For this Jam game, we used creepy music from Incompetech and a font from Google. Everything else was created by me and my daughter.

The main tools were iPhone 6 (for videos), After Effects, Photoshop, Flash Professional, and Flash Develop.

Feel free to post your opinion of the story in your feedback.

Thanks for trying out our game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#53Mood(Jam)4.06
#171Theme(Jam)3.91
#238Innovation(Jam)3.40
#284Overall(Jam)3.51
#457Graphics(Jam)3.54
#754Fun(Jam)2.74

Comments

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

Really interesting game!

Demy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:53am

I like this type of games. Pretty nice story, but it would be more interesting if there will be more story lines or endings to extend replayability. Anyway, good game.

Twinters says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:30am

Very original graphics. The music succeeds very well at setting the mood. Really great game, well done!

Mykaelos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:40am

Excellent minimalistic style. It really set the mood of the story (along with the music). I really really really would have liked to see more endings (or maybe I missed them? I played through a few times). And this one also hit me in the feels: I have a 15 month-old daughter, so I definitely related to the "father being proud and supportive" perspective. And I'm not gonna lie, I'm a little jealous, I hope I can make games with my daughter when she gets older too! Excellent game!

Vantaug says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:49am

Why can't I rate the audio, It was really good :/

mubox says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:33am

Very good story. :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:02am

Amazing job setting a mood. I like the videos and the use of theme a lot, too.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:10am

Simple but haunting. The looping black and white images along with the music was quite effective for setting the mood, and the story was mysterious but a page turner (a gamestate tapper?).

This is pretty dang great. Excellent job!

undefinist says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:56am

Really loved the mood! Interesting story, too. One nitpick is I wish the buttons were more obvious, thought the first 3 choices were a poem lol.

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Really well made and innovative. I thought this was one of the most unique game's I've played this LD.

scorched says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Interesting idea. Videos are rare at Ludum Dare.
I have to say it feels counter-intuitive that the menu is above the main text, I even missed a couple of paragraphs because of that.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very involving story, but I think lacks the gaming factor. I'm don't have any control. But between the music and the story, and how is telled there's something very interesting here that may become to a really nice game. Thanks!

OFF says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Like many other interactive stories, you allow to real play a "monster" deeply.
I'm impress by the use of the video, because they create a real mood and not a cheap realism.
Actually i think the end is maybe too explicit, and the game would have been better by speaking at the first person and not narrator. Also maybe allowing a bigger impression of control before the "end". Also i think that the font is maybe hard to read, and break the game feel.
You could take a look at "Monster" who is also an interactive story in the same kind of "story"
This feeling of playing a ghost is really powerful.
Nice entry, and really a different kind of interactive fiction.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Very unique idea! The mood was set well by the black and white colours and the looping video, very chilling! Nice one!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Your use of video processing is an innovative touch in supporting the mood. Great work!

Shaun LeBron says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:22am

Oh God, I need to play something happy now. Too scary. Truly made me feel like a monster.

(nice use of the theme, and loved the filtered videos.)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:01am

A moody and entertaining game!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:01am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:06am

Fantastic art!

To me though it makes or breaks if there's a way out, and I didn't find it! It would take grinding and I'm not up to it.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:07am

Interesting!

bukt says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:45pm

It's awesome. All five (but fun). The mood is just killed me and make reborn again.

wooltech says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Interesting. The text was hard to read when the game was full screen, so I had to shrink the browser size down, but otherwise it looks great.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Now that an surspring entry and on its own way very fitting to the theme. Music and audio are really fitting to your game...or let´s call it novel instead of game. Very goog entry! But i dont understand understand why you disabled audio rating?

igoramendola says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:06am

The mood is very deep and the music fits perfectly with the thriller atmosphere. The concept is quite differente compared to the others entries that I have played on this LD and it's nicely done. Good work ;)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

This was a very cool game, loved the video capture! The game also had a very interesting tale wrapped into it is well. You could say that I'm 'so proud' of what you accomplished. Hehe, game puns.

Beta says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

This story, and music *_*. I loved it, great job !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]