Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lady Bug

by dickpoelen - Compo Entry

A simple game about a bug lady who just wants to kill everyone.

Arrowkeys to move, X to jump and Z to cling to walls.
You can restart a level by pressing R.
Toggle fullscreen with F.
controllers also work (D-padd, x and the shoulder button).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Post jam version with several fixes: http://kingpenguin.itch.io/ladybug

Read about the changes here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/08/27/lady-bug-post-jam-edit/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

OSX: if you get an error saying the file is damaged and can't be opened, you have to switch to "allow applications downloaded from anywhere" in system/security & privacy.

Linux: you may have to enable "allow executing file as program" for the runner file. It's under properties/permissions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Overall3.95
#40Mood3.96
#45Audio3.82
#63Graphics4.14
#67Fun3.80
#110Theme3.98
#183Innovation3.48

Comments

mrjorts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

This is really impressive. It looks great in motion, and getting a good run in a level feels really cool. It feels like the guards shoot too quickly, though, to the point that there's nothing you can do to avoid the bullets. Even when you find a strategy that works for a level, it doesn't feel repeatable, and you can get shot seemingly at random. It also takes too long to restart a level considering how often you die. I would have liked to keep playing, but I had to stop on the third level because I felt like too many of my deaths were random and I was just sitting waiting to start over.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:51am

Absolutely wonderful! I loved the way the game looked and how it played. I am really impressed. The only issue I have is the speed at which the guards fire might be a little too quick and precise - I'd often do the same move multiple times and it'd result in different outcomes: sometimes they'd die, sometimes I'd die.

I suppose I shouldn't complain though because that death splat is juicy as hell.

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

I didn't understand how to navigate the main menu but it is a truly amazing game for ludum dare. top notch graphics, gameplay and level design!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

Awesome, but I agree with Mr Jorts that is suffers from a lack of repeatability. That some delay, or reaction time, from the guards (maybe indicated by a ! above their heads or something) would reduce some of the frustration without ruining the challenge

Miltage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02am

mrjorts brings up some good points. The game looks amazing and the controls are tight, but the difficulty ramp from the second to the third level is insane. I didn't get passed the fourth. I think you're going to be hard pressed to find people with the patience to make it past the third.

Some of the camera pans on the larger levels are a little awkward, especially in places where you have to jump to reach the other parts of the level.

Other than that, the concept, fast-paced action and responsive controls are all spot-on and make for some fun platforming. Great work.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:33am

Thanks eveyone!

Yeah there're somethings that aren't as good as they could be. Lots to think about that could use improving. Guess that's how jam games go.

And yes, the 4th stage is brutal. It's the last stage, so I figured lets just make it really hard :)

LittleThor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Awesome entry!
The art is just perfect, and the mood is great too!
The level design is maybe a little too "hardcore". Just add some checkpoints to be less frustrating for big-fingered-totally-noob players like me :p

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Wow, I'm surprised this isn't a jam game. The art and atmosphere is superb. However, I do feel it suffers from a lack of testing (as most compo games do) because of how the challenge is more dependent on trying to figure out a strategy that fails the least, as there are seemingly few consistent strategies that work for each enemy or set of enemies due to their firing patterns.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:34pm

spectacular presentation! Extremely stylized, and gleefully vibrant. A real treat for the eyes. I felt that the music was also really nice, although a bit too calm to feel like a good match for the action on-screen.
You compared this to a blend of reversed Alien:Isolation and Hotline Miami, which is an excellent combination which you really nailed.

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

So good feeling for a game so much based on randomness... That's sad...

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:02pm

So good feeling for a game so much based on randomness... That's sad...
Seriously, on this one, a full game well polish could easily be the indie of the year.

goost says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Fun! Gorgeous splatter effect, very nice Main Menu.
Like the rest said, guards are a little to trigger happy though.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26am

Pretty sick controls and feel. The randomness is the monster though.

Thorig says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Those bullets can not even be dodged in the Matrix. Great entry!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I think some more visual details in levels would make it more interesting but I know it's a jam game. Mechanic is very hotline miami like. Unforgiving. I like the splatters the most. It felt good slaying those scientists somehow :) It's funny how a head drops in front of one and he just doesn't care :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Super well made, with great graphics! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/vxHEoUQEThc

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:31am

Looking pretty wellm like the visual effects. But gameplay is too fast for me. Can't react just in time to doge bullets and kill enemies. Stuck on third level where I have to jump from crouch. Man on the top always shoot me out =(

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Awesome game dude! I really liked the blood splats and crawling through tunnels was a nice touch.
I did find the guards a bit frustrating though, I felt as if it was luck half the time I got past them.

Birke says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Controls felt great, art and sound effects were good. My only source of complaint is that it was hard to figure out how to best deal with the pistol wielding dudes. I'd suggest make the shots they fire slower and make the interval between shots bigger.

DuzDuz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Whouaa, my goal was to make a kind of game like this, but yours is really better. Good job

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:07pm

really liked the graphics and the mood, but the controls were a bit clumsy and the levels were too hard to keep me motivated to play through after at least 30 attempts in the third level.

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:51am

I was pretty excited to see a game this quality, but it is really hard to handle using the keyboard and I don't have a controller with me. I could not get pass the crouch/jump level...

OadT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:43am

Wow, I finished it :D The fourth level is quite hard at first, but after you find all secret paths its not that hard anymore.
Great entry! I like audio, style and also the fast gameplay

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:22pm

FYI, the game doesn't run on Mac OS X 10.9.5, it says that the "app file is damaged and can't be open".

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:39pm

@K.Chplr that's cause it's not verified with Apple. TO fix that you have to switch to "allow applications downloaded from anywhere" in system/security & privacy. Should work then.

@OadT woah nice! Don't think many people beat the fourth stage.

@everyone thanks! I'm gonna release a slightly updated version pretty soon, which should fix most of your problems with the game (I hope).

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Psssst - you are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4fkEeN5Nys

Zammalad says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Great game. Well polished and challenging yet fun to play

uthamon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I tend to divide games on gameplay heavy and narrative heavy, out of the first group, this is the best game I have tried this Ludum Dare. You interested me on twitter with relating to Hotline Miami, my favourite game and with this game You really did achieve to give this awesome feeling of fast-paced arcade gameplay and repeating the rooms till you play them just right. I'd love to see expanded version, perhaps with Lady Bug escaping the lab and fighting her way through other locations.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:11pm

The 3rd (?) level is nearly unbeatable, but the graphics are top notch. I have one problem with the game, I use a QWERTZ keyboard so after 5 minutes of playing my hand just said "Nope!" and hurt a lot, so please add a QWERTZ layout to the game

0x0961h says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Very stylish, I really like it.

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Super nice entry. Hard as hell! :D

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Love the juicy splatter...just felt I saw it way too much. Agree with everyone here that the guards are a little too precise and a little too quick. I almost cleared level 4, but as mentioned, the strategies I used weren't always repeatable. I just found the strategies that worked most of the time. Otherwise, loved the mechanics, nearly perfect on the controls. Just enough for variation, but not too much for finger fumble at the wrong time.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Nice artstyle and music!
Pretty good entry!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This game is hard. And awesome.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Again, thanks for the kind words everyone!

@CrazyMinnowStudio I think the problem with the guards is actually not that they are to precise, but that they're to random. There's a random amount of spread added to their aim every time they shoot, which means that sometimes, accidentally, they shoot exactly where you end up in a few frames. I'm working on a slightly improved version where they shoot way more accurately, and that actually makes it easier to dodge the bullets. And to play the game consistently. Should reduce the amount of times you see green splatter :)

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:04pm

It's really too hard for me but it looks great!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Very good feel to this one! Solid art, especially in the title screen, for the time constraints; if you decide it expand it to have more levels, varying up (i.e. adding more) music would be an excellent addition (especially if it follows with areas/theme changes as you go).

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Fantastic game, love that you can use a gamepad, really nice art! Great job! :D

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:24pm

really smooth animation and sound design :>

t4u says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:38pm

I bet I would love this game if wall climbing wasn't broken - completely counter intuitive, makes me wanna bash my head against table.

I feel like a child from whom somebody stolen previously given candy. "Here you go awesome game... oops the wall climbing doesn't work so no fun for you" and then the child cries :(

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:42pm

It's incredibly hard but also very satisfying, I'd play a full game like this for sure. The graphical style is also insanely easy on the eyes, and I love the colourful splatters of blood and the way enemies lose their heads.

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Great game. Controls were excellent - I loved being able to hold two arrow keys at once so that when I hit a corner I just kept going. Really helped. Only issue I had was with the difficulty of the guards instant-aim and fast bullets.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:37am

Amazing, difficulty scales up a little too quickly. All the juicy bits really make it feel great. Nice work.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:15am

This game is rad! I had a great time playing it! Definitely one of the most fun games I've played this LD, so far!

I'm amazed by how simple the graphics are, but how amazing it looks in practice.

I had to try the post-jam version. The camera works way better in most cases, but in doesn't shows two guards (on the pit), on the last stage... This definitely needs more stages!

Congrats =D

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:55am

Man, what a game! It's very much a short game that I want to play more of, and a lot harder than I was expecting, but still very enjoyable. Sneaking through vents and destroying people and dodging bullets is immensely satisfying when done right. The audiovisual experience is sweet, the gameplay is excellent. I don't much like the controls, but rebindable keys is kind of a stretch for a game jam.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:56am

Really great action! Controls a little difficult on keyboard, but on gamepad I imagine it'd play really well. Great work!

plusultra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:01am

I was extremely impressed by this one. Great job!

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:19am

This game definitely had me git gud. Probably my favorite so far. Controls could have probably been tweaked to be a little more intuitive on keyboard.

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Great job, I love the graphic style and the general atmosphere. As others have mentioned though, it's really hard to consistently predict/avoid the guards shots, so it gets a bit frustrating. The respawn time seems a bit long as well, given how often you die ;)
Other than that, really solid entry, congrats!

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:40pm

The game feels very polished, except for the way too hard enemies! I made it to level 4, but after at least 50 retries, I had to quit.

It looks really cool and the sound is great too!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Oh god! I love the pixely gore in this one! Really well done graphics and good gameplay.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Very fluid and exciting - almost everything about this game shines. The sound effects included are very satisfying, in addition the music emphasises the stealthy nature of the game very nicely. The 4th level (which I did beat!) was absolute murder - the guards were practically psychic, it felt random whether or not I'd survive. Awesome work, I'd love to see what you make in future!

parDal says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Simply amazing. Best LD game, I've played so far.

I was going to make some criticism, but looks like mrjorts already did it pretty greatly and you already implemented his suggestions, so I'm kinda late.

I'll be sure to check post-jam version later.

Realize2D says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:04am

Great graphics, audio and mechanics. Just too difficult, couldn't pass the 4th level.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:15am

I really liked it, but eventually gave up due to the randomness. I wouldn't have minded the speed if the guards gave some indication of where they were going to shoot. Other than that I really liked it a lot. Great job.

Azlen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:57am

Other than being extremely difficult, this is a very polished and solid entry.

I hope you keep working on this, this game is quite unique and holds a lot of potential.

Flix says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:27am

there noting to say... its almost perfect:P,hope that you win.

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:32am

The camera is bad in some times but the game is AMAZING!
If you release a Steam version tell me!!

Supernaught says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:07am

Really fun entry! Managed to finish the game once I got used to the controls, which I think are just right. I had to keep pressing R whenever I die since the respawn time is a bit too long.

The levels are really difficult as I think the enemy bullets are too quick, but that makes it even more satisfying to complete a level – not to mention them juicy neon-colored splatters.

Congrats on the game!

– Alphonsus

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:09am

I really liked this game, it was tons of fun even though it too difficult for me to beat it. I also thought that the graphics in this game were very cool with heads flying off of the guard's bodies, blood splattering across the walls, and the font was a nice touch. If this game was a bit easier I'd love to play it more, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying it one bit. :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:04am

Brutally difficult (as a compliment) and excellent game! Love the art style, works really well with the claustrophobic atmosphere. Good music too. That 4th stage is awesome!

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:13am

So stylish! I really dig the presentation and the design of the player character.

block97 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:43am

Really nice polished game. Really like the art style and the music.

KK says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:52am

The gameplay is simple, but work great!
Nice work!

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:14am

Looks great, plays great but often frustrating due to the guard quick-draw skills. But a good run feels so much better because of it, it feels like being a bad ass predator creature or something.

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:48am

Wow! Very good work!! Nice graphics and music.
the 4th stge is... AGGGG!!!

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:30am

Amazing, I absolutely love the graphics and music! it was a bit hard though but that's okay to me. one of the best games i've played so far!

Tuism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:38am

Really good stuff, though I don't agree with every decision you made with it.

With the difficulty being cranked up to 10000 - the speed of everything essentially made it a game of rote trial and error as opposed to master and learn. Sure, there are things to learn, but I pretty much guarantee noone ended up beating a level without dying a pile of times and learning the timing and sequence of button presses of each segment.

That's cool, it's great how tight you've made this, but at the same time not as fun as mastery by reaction and learning how bits work, for me anyway. Especially in a game as tight as this.

The controls are pretty decent but it really feels out of the norm, and so I feel more like a retard than a killer most of the time.

But damn, it's a well put together piece, really. One for those addicted to punishment. And a gamepad, too, I guess.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Not much to add to the previous comments. I loved the agility the monster has and there's a ton of satisfaction when you finally tear this dude up with those beautiful neon splatter effects. Unfortunately, the way the game works, when you do finish a section it normally feels like you got lucky rather than used great skill. So I think a lot of work would need to go in making the player feel he is completely to blame about screwing up etc.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Again, thanks so much for the kind words AND pointing out problems, everyone.

If you have the time, please check out the post jam version here: http://kingpenguin.itch.io/ladybug

I hope it fixes some of the issues people have. The randomness and feeling of luck for one. So if you've played the comp version, please check this out and let me know if it felt like an improvement to you.

Just leave a comment here, or on Twitter: @dickpoelen

thedashdude says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Probably the best game I've played. It had a hotline-miami-esque feel. A slower difficulty curve would be nice, but I still beat it. You fixed the camera system in the Post-Comp version, so I can't complain about that.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Brilliant entry! I loved the music, graphics were simple but very effective (I fell in love with the blood splotches, mostly because I got to see them a lot T_T), and gameplay felt very smooth, hard without feeling unfair.

One of the best compo entries I've seen so far, impressive job!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:47pm

cool fast and smart game.
Level 4 is so hard. I almost finished it but the last guy kill me...
I will retry later...

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Best game of LD33

Sparrow says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Very hard but fun. It is beatable just got to get used to the timing of the gun.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Very fun, lots of frustration, but in the end it was fun. Would love to see a new version of this in the future, full over more levels (and maybe not as steep a learning curve).

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:33am

Some of the levels were pretty hard (Must have died on the 3rd like 20 times) but I like the gameplay mechanics a lot (although the jumping is a bit floaty).

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:23am

I really liked this game I give it high marks for fun. It took me a bit to figure out to use Z then X to fly high up. Controls were smooth and AI pretty tough

wesley werner says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:31am

Hard as heck but impressive and spot on the theme!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:43pm

This is funnnnnn! Unforgiving but once it works (i.e. you get more skilled) - it's super rewarding.. actually even dying feels rewarding - with this awesome splatters! :)
Love the graphics with it's minimalistic approach (cool color palette choice), music complements it nicely..
You are onto something and I would love to see it as a full release.
Great submission! Thanks! :)

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Loved the level design. It was really difficult but I completed it :D

Only thing is that the "Best Time" should be shown on the game over for all the levels, at least I could brag here

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Definitely one of best entries I've rated so far. Awesome graphics and audio, and it was actually very fun! I love being the monster! :)

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:49am

Cool game, first i felt a bit weird about gamepad controller, then i realized it was swap (upside down)compared to keyboard input. That's quite dynamic, and a bit hard sometimes, but nice concept !

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:48am

Awesome game, great work. And a compo entry too, wow. There's something very satisfying about murdering those scientists. <_<

Like many others, I also had issue with the seeming randomness of the deaths, but I've tried the updated version afterwards and it's a big improvement (and with more levels to boot!).

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:51am

Impressive entry! Art: AMAZING. Gameplay: AMAZING FUN if a little challenging. As a scientist I can only hope I meet my end at the hands of an adorable-splatty-making insect like this one. Bravo, A++.

rudra says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:11am

This is really well made, one of the best entries I have played. Good job :)

Sanju says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:43am

Great entry. Simple and addictive game. Nice music and animations. Very Hotline Miami-ish.
Congratulations!

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:16am

Well, that's very impressive! I'm a bit sad it's so hard as others have already said, I didn't finish it (I may have broken my keyboard before I could reach the end), but it's beautiful and the feelings are amazing!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very well made game, great graphics and feel. What mrjorts said stands though.

mantis says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Great game. Tight controls, sweet mechanics. Love it!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Impressive entry. It's a really hard game though. Was unable to beat it. Combat felt a bit random because the average intelligence/reaction time of guards wasn't really something I could predict.

Loved the graphics and the music. Animations are gorgeous and the overall level of polish is astonishing.

A really good game. It's going straight to my list of favorite entries. Great job man!

SecularBaron says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:55am

Super cool game. I really liked how fast it feels.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Great game ! A bit hard for me but really good indeed.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Ridiculously good. I can't believe you got this done in 48 hours! Awesome job!!!!!!!!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Great game, loved the whole atmosphere and feel of it. The audio worked really well with the graphics and setup. Also tried the post jam version and think it is a nice improvement, would be nice to see a future version that is slightly more forgiving with the shooters being a fraction slowly and then maybe getting faster in later levels. Definitely understandable with the time constraints for this version though. Nice job.

General says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:39pm

My video review: http://youtu.be/S-puJwH9Sq0
Your game is at 9:59

But the screencasting software failed to record the game in full-screen mode, so for the most time you'll just hear my voice :)
I was really impressed by great gameplay and I definitely think that you should release this game.

Like many commenters here I failed on level 3.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:03pm

@General Haha! That's great. Hearing your reactions but not seeing the game was super funny. (And yeah, it gets difficult on level 3) Thanks for playing

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Wow This is prettz NEAT entry! Nice stylized art, simple but addicting gameplay!

What i liked? ... Pretty much everything :D

What i hated? Collisions were little wrong. Sometimes i get stucked in wall.

All in all. This game make it pretty high! All 5 for this one!

Frump says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:03am

I REALLY like the logo. It was super hard, made it less fun for me. Well-made nonetheless.

strong99 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I love the blood graphics and intro screen a lot D: Very nice to see what you have been able to add in those few hours after we had split up. I never got to the end of the game though... Some guards are just ninja fast with shooting.

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:26pm

The game is really good. It has nice music and art, and has a nice balance between difficulties.

Great job!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:42am

Super-duper hard game, with the guardsman being ridiculously accurate to navigate. I particularly dreaded moments dealing with a thin-corridor with a guardsman at the end. Otherwise, I think it's tight controls are fantastic! Definitely felt in control. Felt the enemies were smarter than me.

The music was a bit repetitive, and the difficulty level was steep. Perhaps easing the difficulty, such as slower fire-rate, slower bullets, and better placed levels could have helped. Overall, great job!

AndyBrown says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:01pm

That was a lot of fun! Okay, I almost raged a bit on the 4th level. The randomness of the shots and me missing the second shortcut in the end room was getting to me. Once I noticed the second shortcut it was pretty easy to get through. I loved the blood splatter effect, very satisfying. I would love to see more of this. The quick and precise gameplay was really refreshing.

cambrian_era says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 1:36am

Oh man, I found it really hard. I'm just not very good at these sorts of games. But it looked and sounded great, and the core mechanics were solid, I just... kept dying so much!

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:48am

Excellent job on the little details in the animation. I love the wing flutter when you jump, and the feedback for chomping dudes. I had some trouble understanding how the bullets tracked me, sometimes I would charge ahead in a setup and not get hit, but if I tried the same strategy a second time I would get hit. Since this is a pretty hard game where you're solving room-by-room, I'd recommend making the restart time sliiiiiiiightly faster (the splatter feedback when you die is great, just a hair long. I want to get back in the action quickly when I die to try and learn how to overcome what killed me). I couldn't play as much as I wanted for the difficulty, but I think it's a solid entry. At some points I wish certain challenges were isolated (like the crouch jump part, I kept dying in the subsequent parts and felt like I had no way to practice or prepare and so kept having to do the crouch jump challenge over and over). Camera panning could be smoothed out, but that's polishy stuff. Well done!

Tselmek says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Really hard game, the mechanics feel very nice and the artstyle is gorgeous. The camera movement feels a little clunky but it wasn't a big deal gameplay wise. Really nice entry.

Demy says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Wow, the graphics is so good! Awesome game with some smart ideas.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Really really great entry! The game play is superb and the murdering was visceral and satisfying. I would love to see this expanded and refined.

My only concern was the camera. It didn't move smoothly and made me a little disorientated.

rubna says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:43am

fun, but way too hard in a bad way. you shouldn't make enemy movements/shots random, that feels unfair.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

This was stellar! I loved the simplicity and despite it it was really engaging and having a good run in a level feels so amazing. It also looks and sounds great, too. It's hard as hell, though. I'd say that's the main fault with it. I tcould have stood to be a little more forgiving. Other than that, fantastic!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

This was a really fun game. Great entry. Love how visceral it feels.

Nov 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I included your game in an article of my favorites and added a trophy to your profile! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-1-uzbzpjci

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]