Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Manster Ltd

by burjandedy - Jam Entry

This Platformer game is inspired by the animation movie called Monster Inc.

In this game you have to scare kids, rescue Boo, jump on enemies to kill them.

This is not only my first LD game, but my first Game I ever created. So please don't be so harsh about it. :)


Arrow and WASD - Movement
Left Control - Scare a child
Left Shift - Switch Character
Space - Jump

You could find additional information int the help menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#665Audio(Jam)2.04
#752Humor(Jam)2.33
#829Theme(Jam)3.02
#972Mood(Jam)2.36
#979Graphics(Jam)2.18
#1011Fun(Jam)2.32
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.12
#1065Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Couldn't run (using Java 7):

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: main/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Couldn't run, need an executable

Dodechotomy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50am

Not a bad first effort, but needs some instructions, and something to do. I collected some canisters and jumped over a girl, but couldn't figure out if there was anything else.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Sorry mate. Couldnt find the aplication in the rar. best of luck

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

The collision could do with some work. I like the Monster's inc inspired design. Controls are solid which are just fine for this. Oh btw most people still have Java 7 so you should change the project compile version to 1.7 and then people can run the game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53am

If that's your first game ever I have to say it's very good for a first try, but I hope for your sake Disney's lawyers don't find this page :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56am

Worked for me. I'm a sucker for games that you can switch between two characters that have different abilities. This was really solid for your first game, just keep on doing this and you'll be making great work.

burjandedy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:58am

Thank you for your feedbacks. I made an executable for this game.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:09am

A bit buggy, but for a first game, this is amazing!
I liked the character swapping as a mechanic, and you used some of the doors that that opened for you.
Really, very well done! Welcome to Ludum Dare!

dorny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

nice, but i don't get it...

cicanci says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

Really nice game for your first project!

packetpirate says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:22am

Jumping on the children did nothing, and I couldn't complete the level.

eLLectron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

It's working, but it's too simple for me :
- GFX :/
- Gameplay (i don't want to write something on...)

burjandedy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

You won't head to jump on children, you have to scare them with CONTROL key.

burjandedy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

*have

wesley werner says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

This is true programmer art, and it is perfect for LD. The platform styles remind me of commander keen. Switching characters to alter abilities is a neat mechanic, I can see your levels leverage this a lot! Great work for first game, and for using JAVA and not some game builder! ++

Mekuri says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Not bad for a first game. I beat quite a few levels on 100%. Some animation would've helped greatly, but for a first game, in such a short time, this is nice :-)

razavidn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I think some of the reviewers didn't read the HELP menu on how to play. Once I did, I found it straightforward. Nice job on using different characters to do different mechanics. The jumping noise got a little annoying, and the platforming mechanics were occasionally sticky or strange, but there's a lot of fun nuance here in switching characters, some enemies attacking you only if you have the bonus, etc.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Well, nice remind!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:48am

Kinda lackish, I liked the programmer graphics in this one :D

bumbu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Nice one. Just needed some instructions, and would be nice to have motion effect and some sound. But overall, liked it.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:46am

Good work, especially for a first entry!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Good for a first try I must say :) Played smooth had no issues

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Nice game! Nice fonts!

glerikud says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Good concept! Nice little game you made from the movie.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]