Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Life Review

by athaclena - Jam Entry

A text game looking back over my life. What's happened to me and why am I here? The answers lurk deep within my mind, as I spiral downwards towards the inevitable conclusion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#329Mood(Jam)3.38
#644Innovation(Jam)2.86
#701Graphics(Jam)3.00
#716Overall(Jam)3.00
#952Fun(Jam)2.45
#1034Theme(Jam)2.40
#1752Coolness36%

Comments

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

No download links available.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:25pm

There is no download available ^^'

athaclena says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Yeah, that's because I'm the *content* producer, not the person who actually know what they're doing. It should be running through here now, or go here: http://osthekake.github.io/LD33/main.html

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Pretty cool, the repetition really served to put me in the frame of mind of someone going in and out of consciousness. I had trouble finding the correct dialog choices which made the game drag on in parts, kept me interested to the conclusion though.

TeamPretty says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Suddenly went into a screen with just Saturn and no selections. Couldn't continue. Didn't find any monster before that (quite a long time).

Shugor says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:41pm

This was cool! I really enjoy narrative games but they're a rarity during LD. The story was interesting, too. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Interesting...

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:55am

I think this is a very immersive game! The choice options flow great. The story breaks and loops sometimes, though.

Blobo says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Really well done. the story was nice, and all the flashbacks were deep.

tweedle says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

This is some serious 'choose your own adventure' stuff! Really like the story, and how you can alter it. Great writing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]