Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Dweller

by Zammalad - Compo Entry

*** I had reports that the OSX version is not working and as of 02/09/15 I have managed to resolve this issue ***

Controls:

Movement: Arrow Keys
Generate New Level: R
Quit Game: Esc

So this was my first effort at a real Ludum Dare and it has gone better than expected. I don't feel the game is as good as it could/should have been but the learning experience has been worth it. I will try to keep updating it right until submission hour but I'm running low on free time now.

As it stands now there is no core gameplay mechanic or win/lose functionality. The levels are randomly generated which was something I was still learning coming in to this weekend so I am happy with how that turned out. There is a big lack of music and the sound effects that are in there are horrid (sorry!). I'm a programmer by nature so the artwork leaves a bit to be desired, I can do better but not in a short time frame like Ludum Dare.

I took inspiration from the old Alien Breed games back on the Amiga which can probably been seen in the graphic style.

Tools used:

GameMaker: Studio Pro
Bfxr
Paint.NET

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#322Graphics3.36
#619Audio2.21
#629Theme3.13
#665Innovation2.68
#730Mood2.53
#768Humor1.84
#786Overall2.72
#839Fun2.38

Comments

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Fun Game! Great job!

Tigris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Decent attempt, I like the random generator.
Nice art for a programmer. :)

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Pretty good art, fun too!

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Great job! Love the art. Much better than mine. :P

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Hitting R appeared to kill the character occasionally. Not really a game, but it has some potential if you're planning a post-comp version. I respect the procedural generation and the effort.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:50pm

@charliecarlo - 'R' basically generated a new room and places the character in the middle again (or at least it should have!) I do intend on continuing this as a project after LD as I was enjoying it. Sadly I did just run out of time due to personal commitments.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice dungeon generating, art isn't too bad.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Monster looks a lot cooler in game! Screenshots don't do it justice.

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:34pm

The artwork is better than you give yourself credit for. The level generation seems solid.

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I love randomly generating dungeons and worlds. I have such an addiction to them, all of my games have them!

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I like it

Claire1605 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:25am

Nice artwork :) Had a fairly sinister vibe with the only thing you can hear being the monster's footsteps (and occasional other sound?)

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:30pm

The graphics are nice and the procedural generation appears really well done!

Frozen Ninja says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very nice art, looks very ominous. One of my little gripes with this is totally irrational. you forgot to divide the strafe movement by sqrt(2), this means that diagonal movement has an effective velocity of speed * root 2 instead of just speed. Good JOB! :)

Zammalad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:01pm

@Frozen Ninja - Thanks this is just the sort of feedback I need so I can improve specific areas.

stevenlr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:28pm

It can be tricky to get a decent random level generator working in 48 hours, so congrats for that! The sound effects are quite annoying. Instead of adding them just for the sake of having them there it would have been more logical to get rid of them. A simple thing you could have done to have some gameplay would have been simply collecting some kind of item in the level, and simply implementing an exit to find. Sure it wouldn't have been very original, but it would have given a goal to the game. Sure it would have taken some time, but it may have been more profitable that time spent on sound effects. Anyway, I hope you'll apply the knowledge of random level generation you've gathered this time to make a great game next time. ;) Oh and nice shadows. :D

Zammalad says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:32pm

@stevenlr Yeah I hated the sound effects, the attempt at monster roar anyway, and wished I had removed them. I definitely plan to take all the feedback away and continue this as a project post LD. The shadows were a rush job, they need a lot of optimisation but I couldn't figure a way to get them working the way I wanted in the time I used.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:52am

I really like the art, the dungeon generation was really good too! I just wish there was something more to do and perhaps the audio could be slightly better. Cool game!

Druid says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Wel.. There is zero gameplay. Bud everything else works pretty good. Controls are friendly, sound effects scary and graphics nice for programmer. All in all, unfinished, but still solid entry. If you finish this game, let me know on druiduv.net@gmail.com I gladly play it.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:08am

I'm glad you took the time to submit it, even incomplete. It's a good start and I'm glad you learned from it. The sound and art do set a neat mood.

dollarone says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:30pm

The art and the colours generate a mood by themselves, even with the loud sound effects:) The game plays really smoothly and without bugs. Some of the levels "felt" designed. I think you can make this into a cool game with some more time!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Fantastic start! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3UFkqjoD81E

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]