Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hate

by ccglp - Compo Entry

¡¡¡¡¡¡¡IF YOU CAN'T PLAY OR CAN'T PASS A LEVEL. READ THIS.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-If controls aren't working on WEBGL version, just go full screen, move, and go back. It should work.

-If you can't beat the time level. It's not a bug. You have the answer in front of you, you can figure it just watching the first screenshot.








***********************DESCRIPTION*************************************

In Hate, you'll encounter a story-driven game. Your choices have consequences. The game has multiple endings. Are you the monster?


************************CONTROLS*******************************
Move: Arror keys or WASD

Attack: Left click or left ctrl (Seems like left click doesn't work if you are using WASD. So please use left ctrl instead)

******************************Personal Failures*****************************
No music in the game.

No focus in mechanics. This is LD, for god's sake.

No art. I don't have a clue in 3D art :P (Maybe I can do something with it next LD :) )


*******************************************************
This is my very first game using Unity. Not my first LD, you can see my other games clicking on my name. I learned a lot with it. So I'm pretty happy. You can report any bug without a doubt, maybe the english in the game isn't very good. Sorry about that, you can report it either way.

Twitter: @CCGLPDEV
Web/Other games: http://ccglp.itch.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#554Mood2.88
#729Theme2.94
#779Innovation2.44
#783Humor1.63
#876Overall2.51
#916Fun2.03
#920Graphics1.56

Comments

Vereos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

Wow, this was... weird. But it left me with something to think on. Nice message, nice game.

Thormedor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Quite liked it.
But then I got stuck in the first level with time. (top view, need to do a slalom with 5 baddies). Always ran out of time even when being quite perfect with my path...

ccglp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:31pm

@Thromedor The good part about the top view, is that you don't see the Y Axis, so you can make things "fly" :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Interesting. I always ran out of time on the slalom level, even when I managed to avoid the bullies. I would have liked to know how it would end.

samcoy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I've just given your game the most sporadic of ratings :P
The art was, well.
It did fit the theme really well and had a great mood and story, so nice job.

foxor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

How does the click to kill work? I clicked and nothing happened.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I couldnt get the controls to work with webgl version. It seems cursor keys or wasd are not doing anything :( But it started ok, so unity webgl worked otherwise fine.

sararyCow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Interesting entry. Visuals are kind of minimalistic but gets comepensated by deepness of the message.

I'd say click controls doesn't work properly even on the desktop version, but somehow I managed to finish it.

In overall I enjoyed the experience. Greetings from an Anait comrade ;).

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Kept running out of time and couldn't pass that level.

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Nice story, fits on the theme pretty well! The clicking worked for me.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Nice job, this is something to reflect on. I think I got two endings?

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:08am

Nice story telling! Got 3 different endings, but one was weird... I avoid killing everybody but the yellow friend stage didn't had a light blue zone, and time didn't end it, so I had to kill everybody... And then at the final boss I didn't kill him but the ending still said that both of them were killers, and apparently there was a third person...? Didn't get it >.<
I thought it was fine with just geometric shapes, but some audio would have been nice to give more mood xp
Anyway it was fun to play!

Aaranos says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Interesting game, still not sure what you are supposed to do on the timed level.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]