Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

456 TAHINI

by wademcgillis - Compo Entry

OH NO! ME LOCK COOKIE INSIDE!

BLUE MONSTER WHO LIKES COOKIES lost his house key and needs to find it to get to COOKIE. Along the way he meets ANGRY TRASH MONSTER, YIP YIP RADIO MONSTER and more vaguely familiar but legally distinct (I hope) friends.




"This Entry may not be suitable for kids." I checked that box because there is a moment of drug use when the player can touch a mushroom and the game's palette cycles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Humor3.96
#83Overall3.80
#90Mood3.70
#116Theme3.96
#159Graphics3.80
#204Audio3.29
#245Fun3.36
#315Innovation3.24
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

NoahbroCZ says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:12am

Weird, but great. Check my game please http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=45415

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06am

Great work. I really enjoyed it. I couldn't figure out who the friend was, though. I like how the music changed in the water.

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38am

An enjoyable throwback to the retro arcade

Zed says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55am

Much like in real life, I'm stuck trying to find a friend. Other than that, really enjoyed it. Will inevitably come back to this later, to try and figure it out, because otherwise it'll bug me.

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Yip! Yip! Yip!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:42pm

GOTY ... :)

Love games where there's a lot of depth. Nice job.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11am

This game was really something else :D
Good job as usual! The graphics were specially charming, and I love how it makes a tune when you walk and it changes on the boat. Wish I hadn't forgot where the link was for like 15 minutes though, hehe

nicksantan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09am

Loved it, couldn't stop until I beat it, which did take a while, actually!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Charming and funny, I got a little lost once or twice but there's so much to find in the game that I didn't mind all that much. I loved little touches like the walking sounds changing for water and land!

Ending was 10/10.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Fantastic ! I like it !

JustinJ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:41am

I commented on the Pico8 page as well, but wanted to add here, this was super good. Everything was just strange enough to be really appealing, and the tune that plays as cookie monster walks is adorable.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:58am

Fun game! I got the boat and the bee but couldn't find out how to progress further... I may need to come back later.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Cool game. Gonna play "something else" now.

jhrrsn says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Haha, those are some schwifty mushrooms, my man. I love the little tune that plays as you amble round this dream/nightmare world...

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:04am

Loved the "music" as you walked. Great throwback to atari style. It had this constant feel of "this is so weird, but I MUST find a way to the cookie!" feel from the very beginning. I must admit that I couldn't figure out my way all the way through, though.

Hectigo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:54am

Fun little game, took a while to figure out what to do in the beginning. Clever use of audio, though it seemed like some of the samples got skipped if walking really fast.

Dianouille says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:02am

Really nice map :) I didn't really get what to do after finding the red monster (i tried to bring him the mushroom, but he doesn't move either. Anyway that's funny and well done :) Good job !

phi says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 6:46pm

That was awesome! I played it all the way through, and I didn't regret it! Great storyline, I love the little hints and references and the cute graphics and messages. Only the walking sounds are a bit annoying after some time. But it's incredibly polished for a compo! Thanks for making this! :)

igoramendola says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:30am

Ohhh, this entry is adorable!! I liked a lot :D very well done.

Catmoo says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Loved the use of Pico-8, that's not something I've come across for LD before. Enjoyed playing it, and liked the play on it's name ;)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

i love the fealing the game gave me, it took be back to the time where i got first introduced to games well done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]