Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Stealth Yeti

by cottontrek - Jam Entry

Stealth Yeti is a "stealth" game all about making a lot of noise, breaking stuff, and sneaking around at the same time.

The McCoy Cryptozoology Libraries have apparently captured most of the major cryptids around the world. As the yeti, sneak around and destroy their dangerous research to prevent further captures.

I worked on the art with dainryoo, so check out her tumblr! http://dainryoo.tumblr.com/


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#74Overall(Jam)3.93
#87Fun(Jam)3.79
#101Graphics(Jam)4.31
#103Innovation(Jam)3.71
#105Theme(Jam)4.03
#197Mood(Jam)3.58
#258Humor(Jam)3.32
#302Audio(Jam)3.29

Comments

hdong says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36pm

AYYYYYYY, I MADE A YETI GAME TOO, but yours is probably better.
Your game was amazing. I see a lot of potential in your future work! I liked the sound waves the yeti created when it walked

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Brutally unforgiving if you get caught, but clean graphics and sound.

Would have loved it if the controls were a little more sticky, I slipped off a ledge a few times, ruining an otherwise perfect plan.

Loved the use of the sound in addition to sight for stealth

Flaid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:44pm

This game is awesome! The characters are adorable. The lighting effects are great, and the gameplay is intuitive and simple.

Despite the simplicity, it is a tough game! You actually have to think! I really enjoyed it.

Thanks!

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Damn, that game is hard - it took me a while to figure out the effects of sight and sound. I even managed to evade a bullet... twice. Maybe I did something wrong? :P

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Tough game, but the graphics were slick and the audio well executed. Seemed to be a few points where the game would lag (such as after I was shot while breaking blocks). The lighting was also a nice mechanic. Great game!

neuroaktivo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:59pm

noice!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:01am

Great interpretation of the theme! I loved the adorable animations.

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

nice style! took me a few tries to grasp game play, nice work

Downtown says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:18am

This is really good, most complete game experience I've run into so far. graphics, animation and sound were fantastic.

game play was really innovative. Perhaps needs a little difficulty balancing. I couldn't get past the 3rd level. I may have been missing something stealth tactics wise.

Solchain says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:23am

Took a while to figure out how to steal stuff as a bumbling yeti. Interesting to use the roar to move guards around the building.

corupta says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:26am

Managed to escape some of the arrows tho always dying in the end. Cool game.

yajiv says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:28am

I really really liked the aesthetic of this. I love how silly the whole premise is, too. Well dome :)

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:34am

This is great, I love the lighting!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:52am

Great game, visuals and level design! Could have been one of the best games in the jam if the controls were a bit better. The Yeti slides a bit too much when sliding, and jumping is too fast - coupled with the way AI works, it can get very frustrating. But it's a small thing in an otherwise excellent submission!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05am

Very fun game, only thing that's missing is music. Very solid entry, I'd be surprised if this isn't in the top 100. Great work!

Keon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:02am

Very nicely done. The jumping causing a huge noise was something I hadn't seen done before, and it created some interesting scenarios. I love the artstyle - everything fits together in a nice color scheme except for the yeti.

Overall, everything was very well done. Great game!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Just love it, don't know what to say more, really cool! Do you have twitter? Want to track this game :)

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:10am

That last level was so hard ^^
Nice graphics, sfx and mechanics, and very cool monster-stealth game overall !
A less serious objective than those "dangerous research notes" may suit the game better maybe?

shelleyl says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:04am

Love the style! That is one cute Yeti :D

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:19am

Really cool game! Hard, very hard, but very good overall.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very cool, I was hoping there would be more stealth games since I opted for one myself D:

valid4life says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:49pm

It took a few failures to understand the game, but once I learned it became quite fun!
Difficult but very good game!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Soooo cute! "Roar"! :)
Great LD entry.. Outstanding animations and creature design. Really fun to run/ jump through the walls (destruction of which is also cool and pretty rewarding :))
Not very forgiving but fun to play.
Thank you for your entry! :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:02am

ICREDIBLE.amazing game feel! just perfect indeed! The animation of death is so cute, funny and sad at the same time! hahahah! CONGRATULATIONS! Really enjoyed it!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cool, really difficult but super polished and very enjoyable

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Love it, super adorable! Congrats!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:19pm

This game was very well made! The visuals were very well done. Not only were they pretty but also had some thought put in them beyond that. The choice of color as orange for the levels was easy on the eyes but also allowed for the Yeti's cooler colors to stand out. The sound was rather simplistic but it was functional. The choice of monster was quite original and the game was pretty difficult(couldn't get past the second level. Overall, a great entry!

Flix says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Well. I am not a big fan of yeti, but this game make me want to hug the yeti: P.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:36pm

oh my God, this is probably the cutest game in the jam. Coupled with some polished stealth mechanics and well-thought-out level design, Stealth Yeti is a real winner. Wonderful job.

chuckeles says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:14pm

The game has a very nice graphics and sounds. I like the concept and gameplay mechanics of the game. But... it is HARD... Still a good game.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Awesome game, would love to see more levels. Was hard but that's part of what makes it good.

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Cool "stealth" game. Fun and nice!

Tuism says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I am sad that this is windows only, really wanted to try it :(

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Great sound concept for this game! I also love the art and lighting aspects of the game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Aesthetic is one the most beautiful things for this Ludum Dare session which I have seen. This avatar is so cute. Maybe a little bit hard for me. Great interpretation of the theme. Neat and well done. Thank you ++

mitkus says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:54am

Lovely concept!

Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Really love so much about this. The feel is fantastic, you really feel heavy. It's hella hard, but pretty great.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]