Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

OMNOMNOM

by Zupoman - Compo Entry

Today is the day humanity is doomed! The giant cyberyeti-godzilla hybrid monster is coming for us all! Shake in fear, because all you can do is wait until it comes and eats everyone!

This is a game about being a terrible monster and throwing or eating people. I… don't think there's any better description for this. Just go and kill everything. And don't get yourself killed.

The game has 10 levels and several enemy types. The last level is a boss battle. If you have a moment, please tell me in a comment how far you have reached in the game (sorry for no level numbering, I didn't know it would be useful).
Controls explained in-game. Have fun and thanks for playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Fun3.80
#134Theme3.92
#209Overall3.48
#241Humor3.23
#315Innovation3.24
#363Mood3.13
#553Graphics2.92
#560Audio2.48
#1415Coolness45%

Comments

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

This game reminds me of the flash games I used to play as a kid. In a very good way! It's really fun and I like the mechanic of throwing people as projectiles.

(and that's a sentence I never thought I'd type in my life)

OccamsRazor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

Very cool. Ya, I agree, it reminds me of old flash games I used to play. Very hard, but enjoyably so! Well done indeed!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Nice take on the theme and good mechanics, good job, it was very fun, only thing I complaing is about the tutorial text, it is way too big, may something simple would make me want to read it.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Reminded me of ZX81 games, lovely! The sounds were fitting, esp. the crunchy eating noise haha. The controls were not ideal: On my German keyboard layout Y and Z are switched so it was very uncomfortable playing. Why not use Space for jump? Would have bee much more intuitive. Apart from that, nice mechanics :)

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Eat, throw, throw, eat, must... kill... them... all!

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I like how eating them restores health, and it's cool just eating them ;)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:21pm

This game is so bad it's good. GOTY

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Frustratingly difficult, couldn't get past the snipers-on-the-roof stage, but the frustration was satisfying in its own way. I rage quit, but enjoyed the game immensely. There's a lot of mechanics there that work together brilliantly. I've got no criticism for this title, great work.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

It was fun eating humans :)

lanestp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10pm

This one is great! There is something cathartic about giant monsters eating people. I think this game captures the theme better than any entry I have played.

Good Job!

cyrixd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

Really fun game! Very challenging level design, I couldn't get the level with the snipers on the buildings and helicopter overhead. Had a lot of fun though.

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:32am

Gives me a nice retro feeling. Very Atari-like, if you ask me.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

So I presume windows only? I don't have Love2D, whatever that is. A shame, looks fun.

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:04am

Really fun to play and nice idea! Although the fullscreen button seemed to make my screen go black, freeze the game and lock up my computer...

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:25pm

@Tuism: it's not Windows-only, I'm on Linux myself. It's just not recommended to ship ready executables on Linux, since Linux supports a lot of computer architectures and that executable would work only on certain ones. All you need is to install Love2D – if you are on Debian-based system, you can quickly snatch it from repositories (if you are lazy: `sudo apt-get install love` does the trick).

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Great entry !

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:18am

You had me at the human-munching animation. XD

That level with the snipers on the roof is punishing, though - I never figured out how to aim my throws and their 21-gun middle finger salute made short work of me. ^_^;

MiniBobbo says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:31am

I honestly couldn't tell you if I had a good time playing this game or not. I'm still torn to give you 1 star or 5 stars for fun :) I made it to the second helicopter stage when I would die almost immediately. Then I figured out I could pick up the first guy, throw him at the second sniper, pick up two more guys. Go left and throw him to take out the chopter, then munch the guy in my left hand to recover enough health to survive the next volley of bullets. I never survived the third wave.

You ever play Dragon's Lair? Where you have to hit every move exactly right with not a lot of indication what the right move is? All the later levels played like that for me. I died a dozen times on that level and quit.

But I had fun. I think...

I like how polished everything was. The 1 bit graphics and sfx worked well.

Daisuke909 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:16am

I beat it. With the enemies shooting through walls, with the unavoidable bullets, with the lack of recovery frames, with God as my witness, I beat it. I have never spent that long playing a Ludum Dare game. It's seriously so hard, though. This could be the next big viral video challenge.

dollarone says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I like this game. It has a nice learning curve/introduction and offers some tactical options and challenging gameplay. I only got to level 5 or so - maybe I'll go back for that boss at some later point! I like the eat-for-health option.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:39pm

It was hard to eat people on houses. Why not to add some new features.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Cool game but really hard for some stages to pass.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Finally managed to beat this game ! Great entry, I had a lot of fun to play this

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]