Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Volcano Charge

by Pantelis Petsopoulos - Compo Entry

You are the monster!

Progressively climb the volcano to defeat the ba- *uuh* good! wizard.

Defeat enemies like bunnies, wolfs and even a yeti.

Charge your way through all 5 levels to become the her- *uuh* villain of the volcano!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#168Humor3.41
#329Innovation3.22
#333Audio3.00
#387Fun3.13
#645Mood2.70
#645Overall2.94
#648Theme3.10
#651Graphics2.72

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:38am

I really like the concept! The game has really nice art, great gameplay, and a humorous feel to it! Good job.

merrak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25am

This was pretty challenging and fun to play!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:05am

Love the groans at the end!

colozz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

First, the sound really scared me x) (Good point)
The music is a good choice but of course it's a very simple game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14am

Yea the sounds are supposed to scare you haha

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14am

Are you sure you went through all 5 levels? :P

ireal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:28am

Fun!

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

Funny audio! Quite hard too :)

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Fun to play but also challenging:D The sound is great. Love the feel from the artwork on the side. Gives a nice visual for the eye. I saw that you used stencyl too:D that's great to see a fellow stencyler. Keep up the good work

wavertron says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Interesting little game. Screen res was a little small, hard to see on my small screen laptop. The charging mechanic was quite nice, needing some practice to judge the distance and not slide off but also not fall short and get hurt.

cudabear says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Very awesome! You took a solid mechanic and made a pretty fun game out of it. My only complaint is that judging the distance of a charge was very hard, perhaps it could be something you can hold to go further?

The graphics work well for the game, though sometimes it was hard to tell what an enemy was or if it was safe to attack it.

I love the sounds of the dinosaur! Got some good chuckles out of me.

Nice job on the game.

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Was a bit weird at start, but then I figured it out, and it was fun. not really sure why it does what it does, but dis is my island! Dat sound though...

ceosol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

The volcano level was pretty sweet. I really like how you have the same concept for all of the levels, but charge one tiny game mechanic to create a completely different atmosphere. I hope you continue working on this post comp. I think you could have it as a mobile game since the controls are fairly simple.

tullyhansen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34am

Took me a while (without reading explainer text) to figure out how to kill the… sheep? But once I got it, I enjoyed it – it's like Angry Godzilla, and nicely challenging! Also laughed aloud the first time I heard the monster charge.

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56am

Ya, nice concept. I can see the seed of an interesting mobile game in there. The death howl hurt my ears w/headphones on. :)

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56am

Cool game, I liked the charge mechanic a lot!

Saf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice sound effects :) Gameplay is challenging. I often die due to missed charge attempts. Good entry.

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I dont really feel connection to the theme.

The gameplay could have been better.

On the main screen instruction is difficult to read(color). Waves in grass level are stealing too much focus.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

The gameplay is challenging, but maybe a little too restrictive. I kept running off cliffs while trying to ram the enem- *uuh* good guys off.

The art is nice, but could be more descriptive. I could not tell what the enemy in the second level was (although from the sword-shing SFX, I'm guessing it was a samurai or similar).

I also think the "Press P to restart" should actually restart the level, not take you to the menu first. I love the SFX. 3.5/5 overall.

P.S. You can get rid of the border around the embedded game by using this URL: http://static.stencyl.com/games/31927-0.swf

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20am

@t4u You don't really feel the connection to the theme? It's quite literally the most literal connection to the theme there is. You are the monster, you are the bad guy etc. I'm not saying it's the best approach to the theme, I myself would rate it 4/5, but it's the only way you can't be wrong for sure.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:39am

I like the relaxing music.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:33pm

That was surprisingly tactical and enjoyably weird. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]