Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Possessive

by PeculiarCarrot - Compo Entry

Possessive is a game about an unnamed ghost girl with the power to possess others. She has been imprisoned in a laboratory for study, but the time has come for her to escape to the outside world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#70Innovation3.81
#127Audio3.50
#161Overall3.61
#167Fun3.50
#272Mood3.28
#288Graphics3.43
#365Theme3.54
#504Humor2.62

Comments

Skoggy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Good game! Didn't quite understand why the guards could see that I had possesed another one. Also got stuck in a room by posessing a guard through a door. But overall it was good ;)

peecestudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:24am

Interesting difficult game, i liked it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:31am

Really nice game - well put together. Music set the mood, sounds were all great; art was awesome too!

granut100 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:37am

Great game! This overall was done well. I couldn't quite get what happened at the end there.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:52am

Nice game. The difficulty curve too steep.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:57am

This was super enjoyable.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09am

Difficult, I think refining of the possesion mechanic would be the best way to fix that. Right now it's random at best.
Also, maybe if guards couldn't spot you (or only some could), but they needed cameras to point you out... I think that would set it more towards a puzzle game, rather than an action game.
Fun to play, works well, well done!

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

Simply awesome. Probably my favorite one so far. The art style is endearing. The music is great. The fighting has an interesting learning curve. The level design in on point. Just fantastic.

B216 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52am

Great game with a cute art.

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

Great graphics and visual style, same goes for the audio. The mechanic is creative and fun to use and I think fits the theme nicely. It's a pretty difficult game.

FlamingKiwi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:57am

Very challenging game, the music and sound effects where a perfect choice to fit the graphics!

thedashdude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10am

A bit difficult, but I liked it.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

It looks like you had a good idea for "Death is not the end" and tried to trick it into being "You are the Monster", but otherwise it's all really solid.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Really love AI in this game. Guis who had seen that you posessed someone, will attack him, but others are don't really know that guy was really posessed. Maybe too hard to play for me, but when guards generating from nowhere, it was a bit frustrating for me.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:45am

You know that concept was pretty great hinthint

chanko08 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:58am

Well put together game, very solid!

jofra says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:06am

A bit hard to get a good hang of it :s but a very cool entry and concept!
gj

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Cool story, fun challenging game. I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]