Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Constellaris

by AnglerteamGames - Compo Entry

As a legendary beast, leave the realm of the mortals and take your place among the constellations in the heavens.
Ensure your image shines brightly in the night sky!

Controls:

Hold left-click to charge, release to fire. Aim by moving the mouse cursor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#154Mood3.55
#203Audio3.30
#203Innovation3.44
#313Overall3.31
#433Graphics3.16
#460Fun3.03
#938Theme1.81

Comments

Twiebs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:57am

Very atmospheric and good visuals. I don't see any connection to the theme.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

nice game.it is fun,good graphic and an calm audio.but i can't see the theme in it.(maybe i don't understand it)

Louspirit says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Zen athmosphere. No connection to the theme.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice game, but I don't see any connection to the theme.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Well done! Fun and love the music. The game is about "legendary beasts" - we are the monsters rising to the stars! Good luck.

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Nice game and challenging (but it's quite far to the theme).

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:41am

Great mood! Graphics and audio mixed up very well! Mechanics were fun but very brutal. It gets to be unfair, when sometimes half of a star is in circle it accepts it, and other times the whole star is in but it doesn't accept it. Couldn't finish the game due to difficulty...
I see your interpretation of the theme, but I found it a bit weak.
Anyway great job!

OccamsRazor says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Excellent atmosphere, and a really cool concept, and very solid visual design. Ya, not a lot of connection to the theme, but fun nonetheless.

Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Really enjoyed this, something quite different. Reminded me of dragonheart. To the stars!

bentglasstube says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:11am

The music was a bit repetitive but otherwise good. Ouroboros was really hard and frustrating. Fun concept.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:41am

Nice game, good little puzzler, not related to the theme at all really

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:42am

A great contribution. I found myself playing far longer than intended, though I finally got stuck on the level after "Centaur". Deceptively simple, and yet hard to perfect. If you continue to develop this outside of the compo, I would love to see: more levels with overlapping rings, a bit more elasticity on star-on-star collisions (otherwise stars get 'stuck' in a position) and a bit longer music loop. Thanks for the great game!

Chaosmore says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:17am

Imagine a pool game you shoot a ball to stop at an exact location instead of shooting it into the pocket. You can see how hard it is.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Kinda fun, but tenuous connection to the theme. Sometimes, I would have a star completely inside a circle, but it wouldn't register. Other times, I would have a star just on the border, and it would register.

Dunric says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 8:15am

Good job on the game.

Raspadsistema says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:58am

Love what you did here, enough said.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Thanks for all the feedback!

I've just had time to track down and fix the star-inside-circle bug -- it should register properly now.

I did try to take the theme in a different direction: you're playing as monsters in broken-up-constellation star form, trying to re-create your image in the night sky.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I love this game. I don't know anything about constellations in our universe. Your game is really pleasant to play (physics and mechanics are perfect) and really interesting so as to discover all stars. The music reminds me the Blade Runner main theme. However, I think respectfully you are far far away from the theme - you are the monster - even if you tell us this non conventional story. A marvellous entry. Thank you - I have my game for the next week-end ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]