Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Corruption-5

by hexagore - Compo Entry

Hello you!

This is an adventure platform game with lifts (or "elevators") and buttons and NPCs and story and even a bit of close quarters combat involving guns.

The theme is in the story and in a few of the mechanics and "puzzles". It's short and hopefully fun.

The '5' in the title refers the number of levels and the fact that this is my 5th compo entry :)

--CONTROLS---
- Cursors to Move
- Enter/Space to Interact/Shoot
- M toggles the music.
- F puts you into fullscreen then esc takes you out of it again. Which is annoying but browsers are basically annoying.
- P toggles the post-processing shaders to improve performance on terrible GPUs
---

--Support--
- HTML5 version Tested on Chrome and Firefox
- HTML5 version Probably doesn't work on Microsoft Edge
- 64bit Linux Version (untested)
- 32bit Windows Version (tested)
- 64bit OSX Version (untested)
----------

--TECH--
- Made in Javascript using my own 'Hexr' WebGL game engine (uses Three.JS)
- Level data made in my own 'Hexr' game editor
- Pixel art done with Swanky Paint
- Sound made with Propellerhead Reason
- Binary distributions thanks to nw.js
--------

--UPDATES--
- Fixed a few game breaking bugs: If you were sick while doing an action you'd get stuck doing that action. Monsters no longer sharing AI data. All players can now shoot monsters.
- Added binary distributions
- Added post-processing shader toggle
- Fixed another game breaking bug where it would either freeze or stop you shooting the last monster on the first level. Sorry.
-----------

Thank you for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#14Mood4.22
#18Theme4.30
#26Graphics4.37
#30Overall4.00
#45Audio3.82
#229Fun3.38
#294Humor3.11
#412Innovation3.08

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:40am

I really liked the background art and the ambient sound.

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09am

Sorry, accidentally cross-posted. Loved the artwork. It was a bit buggy dieing and re-playing.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57pm

The OS/X and Linux links are not working.

The game itself is awesome.
It looks great, the music is fitting, even though it is repetative even for a short game. I liked it.

hexagore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Thanks TiByte, fixed :)

frondeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Nice audio and graphics!

Belug says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Very Good game I loved it! I wish there could be more!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

It sometime freezes randomly. The post-processing is really moody. Well Done!

marudziik says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Looks very good, impressive work on your engine - the game is very much responsive and feels polished. Liked it very much.

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01pm

The art and mood were great. I like the transformation to a monster.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

This is very nicely done. And very creepy. And marvellous. Good Work ;)

rnlf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

The art is really amazing! Reminded me a lot of your game from last year, it's cool that you have a unique style. This high definition shader looks really cool on the pixel art! The parallax is cool, as are the story and the music!

Really great game!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Three words: very slow elevators. :D
Otherwise pretty good entry. :)

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Well done! I like the story and the visuals. Controls are somewhat clumsy. Do actions with Enter moving with arrows is not too comfy, I'd suggest at least doubling the controls: say, arrows and WSAD for movement, Enter and Space for the action.
Still, good job overall.

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

Very polished. The story made me a captive audience. The teleporters were highly suspect until it suddenly hit me - poor doggie! This made me run through a wall.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39am

Great graphics, awesome sound, and the world's slowest elevators.

jackrugile says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:53am

Such an awesome game! Amazing entry as usual.

No idea how you pulled this off in 48 hours, I'm impressed. Your engine looks great. Is that something you ever plan on releasing, or is that just your in house tool set?

I loved the progression of the monster, such a great concept. The art, audio, and story all came together for a cohesive experience. 5 stars, would play again ;)

Only one issue for me: damn you slow elevator!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

Great graphics, audio and idea as usual!

Some things (events, speech) were a bit off because I didn't play it exactly how you expected me to

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Very nice, I liked the artwork, and music. I also liked the effects on camera. Good job.

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Well done on the theme and the mood. Great game. One of the best I have played.

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Great game, I've found a little bug, when I eat the arm of a guy, walking right I walk through the wall then I fall into darkness.

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Even the final twist is wonderful. Top5.

Arche-san says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Very good game. I fell a Lone Survivor inspiration here :) The general ambiance is impressive. Only the unexplained spikes got me out for few seconds of this really good experience.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:56pm

very dramatic, but I like it :D
at the beginning I thought I would be a stronger creature and be able to kill others, but in fact I turned one ugly monster and died :(

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Wow, that was great. Graphic is beautiful, audio makes perfect mood and history fits the theme in awesome way. The only think I would change is texts that disappear too fast. Great entry!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice work! I would have loved it if at the end, that guard had gotten into a teleporter.

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:26pm

aberdeenphoenix: THe original plan was to have it be the original player character shoot you, and then you carry on playing... alas, ran out of time!

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Shares the same DNA as your previous LD game :) Again, very polished looking, great presentation, but I feel that all came at a cost to the gameplay - the game is pretty straightforward, not much in terms of challenge or decision...

The way the story unfolds is pretty cool, though not unexpected thanks to the theme being an already known thing.

Yes, the elevators of snails that also robbed you of freedom of movement was very irritating. Plus I accidentally fired one off. Contextually sensitive button is cool, but there are cases where you really want separate controls. Maybe up/down would have been better (especially since the player can't do anything while the elevator was going)

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Tuism: It's fair criticism. I ended up having to sacrifice gameplay just to get the story in so that the game would be 'complete' in the time I had. Far too ambitious really.

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Funny and awesome ! Great atmosphere !
Super compo entry !

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

awesome game! love the graphics and the animations

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Kinda predictable, but still fun to play till the end. Very nice looks!

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Yes it's predictable. The flippin' twist is ruined by the theme :)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:13am

I like it! Even if it's spoiled somewhat, the story is great and I kept playing to see how things would turn out. The graphics and music do a good job of setting the mood.

kerotan24 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48am

Very good, i really liked.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:35am

I loved it, was a very good little game. Thought it was very cool how you kept on mutated through the transporters, very The Fly. The graphics and music where amazing! One of my favourite games this jam!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Excellent entry again :)

Hi res shading meets pixel art, lovely :)

If you have a working html5 player, why bother with downloads for platforms?

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Showing off? :P

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Fairly solid entry. I loved the progression of the character over time, as well as the general feel and ambiance of the game. The pixel art was itself very nice, but I felt like the post processing heavily subtracted from the aesthetic - it felt a little like my screen was covered in vaseline at times! I think the slow pace of the game added to the atmosphere, and you did a great job building that up. Great entry, keep it up in future!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Well done. Love the ending :)

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very polished and well-made game! Great mood and use of the theme. I liked the speed and progression although I would speed up the elevators a bit (are ok for this entry but would get tiresome if the game were longer)
Perfect art style and music!
I wanted more.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Let's start with the graphics. They were very simple pixel art much like most Ludum Dare entries out there. That said, they were well done and what helped them stand out a ton ware the screen effects and lighting. That and the creepy ambient music and sound effects made this a very interesting narritive especially considering how short it is. This is definitely the best and most touching narritive experience I have had this LD. Other than that, the gameplay was simple and to the point and everything else felt very well put together and polished. Overall, a great entry!

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:09pm

This was really awesome. Cute. Creepy. Funny. Complete. And I could see it being developed into a full game. This is a perfect Ludum Dare entry.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:16am

Solid entry. Smooth and pretty to look at. Had fun running through the world.

Jimjam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:20am

That was a great fun in terms of watching the story unfold! I liked the kind of cyclical nature of it. But like others have said here too, it would've been great to have a little more gameplay, if only in terms of choice.
Anyway, awesome game!

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:01am

Awesome!!! 48 hours for this... impressive.. really.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:43am

The scale is impressive, as well as the visuals and the audio. But well, that elevator... it have been giving me enough time to have a cup of coffee.

hexagore says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:54am

I guess some retro things are best left in the past :P

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Very polished.

Aevek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:27am

Really good looking game and a fantastic story given the time. One gripe I had (other than the slow elevators, but you seem to be getting enough comments about that) is on the last 'real' level with the mashy spike plates, I kept getting stopped by the characters puking animation at the worst possible times, and having to try a lot more times than I should have. My suggestion would be to have some kind of system for preventing the character from randomly stopping and puking while under mashey spike plates. I like the narrative idea of the sickness, but it got in the way of gameplay significantly at times.

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:29am

Looks awesome, plays very smoothly.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:54am

Outstanding entry! The controls are smooth, the art is awesome and the story fits really well.
top!

Grhyll says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Brilliant '_' Best game so far for me, I loved everything (and especially the fact that I didn't have to start all over when I died to the traps).

shawn42 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Beautiful game. I loved the end. So. perfect. It was definitely more interactive story than traditional game. Very nice work though.

hexagore says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:43pm

shawn42: It was meant to have more game in it but because I ran out of time I concentrated on getting the story beats in so the game would feel complete. :P

collaboration says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Just great. Music kinda repetetive because of this arpergiator, but overall - great job!

Yrr says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Beatuiful game, great atmosphere!

pixzleone says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:27pm

that. was. awesome.

i mean dude, that was super cool for beeing a 48h game, good job! would love to see more!

Sanju says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Reminded me "The Fly" movie.
Loved the graphic style and the sounds.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Great art and lightning

HThomson says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:19pm

A fantastic entry, it's really impressive what you've achieved in the time available especially given that it's a compo entry. Love the mood, the bloom and distortion post processing effects paired with the eerie soundtrack makes for a haunting experience. Great job! :)

Ershany says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Loved the feel

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I think this was nicely put together.

axoona says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I really enjoyed your game, that's a nice concept and the evolution of the character goes with the story. And whatever you say, I find that the backgound art and the music are very good, they really fit well the mood (that's a remark regarding your post ;).

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:19pm

The automatic barfing killed me in the spikes section. :(

zatyka says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:22am

That was great. The little details made the game-world feel alive. You did a nice job of mixing storytelling with gameplay. One of my favorites.

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:07am

Gorgeous graphics, and a great idea. The speed of the elevators and unnecessary shooting and timing sections ruined the story a bit for me, but I still enjoyed the game from beginning to end.

disperse says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I can't believe you accomplished this in 48 hours, beautiful, complete story, great mood. Amazing!

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:29am

Superb stuff—one of the very best. Great story, great graphics, great lighting, great music, great sfx. It seems a silly thing, but I think the slow elevators were maybe the most obvious detraction from the "fun" of the game. Other than that it was a perfect game in miniature.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:54am

I loved it! Who knew a Fly movie / Metroid game combo was exactly what I've been yearning for. Great job, more levels, more story please!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:49pm

LOVED IT!
Cool concept, nice audio, awesome graphics.
Art, sounds, and filters all help set the mood perfectly.

A bit too short though, but still amazing; this is an incredibly polished compo game.

Well done. A great entry without a doubt.
I really enjoyed it.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Since it is story driven, I wish the text didn't disappear so quickly so I had time to read it all. :[ But a very nice entry, with kick-ass visuals.

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:46am

nice little game

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Sublime artwork really draws you into this experience, you got so much done in the time! I love the shader effects and the character animation. No audio for me? (Safari). The controls seems to stick a bit which was off putting but the effects were all really nice and it loaded very quickly - a great experience I could see being taken further, thanks!

hexagore says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:23pm

jimmypaulin: I hadn't tested this on safari so I'm not surprised there are glitches with the controls and the audio on it. Sorry about that. :)

OadT says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Your game has a great atmosphere. Of course it hasn't the deepest gameplay ever, but its cool to see the transformation of the character and there are also some funny ideas inside. The graphics (especially the shader) and your audio are great! Just the sound-effects of doors are a bit too loud compared to the music for me (Maybe because I played with headphones :D)

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:01am

I must be a such a shitty scientist.. why wouldn't one stop after the first teleporter!? Shit got real after the second port too...

Great game, very solid artwork and the shader effects really brings the mood out. Good audio, great narrative, solid interpretation of the theme, fantastic work!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Pretty short but I love the use of the theme in the game's plot plus those post processing effects look really awesome.

Yamzho says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Almost perfect !

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:02pm

This was a great experience :)
it reminded me of the movie (la mouche) and well the art is strong in this one. The audio, the ambiance, the story, short and concise. Well you got me there.
well done to you!

pavel_insight says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Gee, what a great story. I like atmosphere and style. Well-polished game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]