Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the Lobizarudo

by cleitoneldorn - Compo Entry

A throwback at 50's B movies. Absorb projectiles of your own color to grow or the opposite color to shrink. Grow too much or shrink too much and you're dead!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#89Theme4.03
#216Graphics3.60
#226Audio3.22
#283Innovation3.29
#327Mood3.19
#394Humor2.88
#398Overall3.20
#577Fun2.86

Comments

mathias234 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Fun little game.

d_pendikov says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:30pm

fun

zenith says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:31pm

great concept

-muffin- says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 6:00pm

I really liked the animation and especially the scan lines. It had a great mood.

Connors says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I loved the intro, and the voiceover... And the graphics filter and everything just set the mood really well. The music is...strange, but so is the gameplay. And yet, in spite of the strangeness, this little one-button game has a decent amount of replayability. It was much harder than I expected since it's entirely possible to get a lot of one color in a row and get to big and/or small if you don't actively switch colors. Good stuff.

EmanP says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Pretty cool consistent theme.

Darkhaul says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Nice, simple, functional. And looks really nice, i like the style :)

snarf says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very nice!

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Fine.
Game is without ending? Just scoring?

Jajo says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I found this game genuinely fun. Loved the retro graphics and gameplay especially.

Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Pretty interesting

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:22pm

this was cool nice

Jezz0r says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Great idea and well pulled off. Got boring after a while though.

totallybueno says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Pretty nice :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:34am

This feels like its based around a game mechanic that just didn't quite pan out. Its still good, just not as much as it seems it should have been on paper.

The execution of the mechanic feels pretty spot on though, along with the graphics. The music is a little bit grating, however.

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:06am

cool game, love the look and feel

well done :)

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:08pm

A pretty fun idea for a 1-button game, that would work great on mobile devices. The problem is, there is hardly any gameplay in it and it gets old pretty quickly. I wish there were more ways to interact with game or at least something different actually happened from time to time during the gameplay.

What I really liked about this game is the theme. The graphics and music add to it, making me feel like I'm playing a game on something like Atari 2600, but with music, which is actually not bad, but a little repetitive.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:10pm

wow, nice music with graphics!
but i didn't undestartnd: i should balance in my size to survive?
got too small or too big - you are dead
i have got around 1k score! ;)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Fun game & interesting concept. Doesn't work in Safari, but works fine in Chrome.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:13pm

A good game. But the sound effects are clipping sometimes.

Slandercakes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Really liked the idea of the game and the filter looked very nice - although I think the fact that you die if the monster shrinks OR grows too much was a little confusing. As you're playing the game you're not really sure whether you're almost too large or too small.

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice retro graphics and music. Reminded me of ikagura. Fun game.

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

Interesting! Haven't seen something quite like this mechanic/death condition before.

kmiitz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Funny game full of potential, maybe could change the distribution of white and black missiles, 'cause if you do nothing the monster can survive for long time.

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03pm

interesting.. fun for a time.. got score 10k, then got kind of bored
is there an end to this?

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Fun

zatyka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:30pm

I think the gameplay concept needs to be fleshed out a bit more. One of the issues is that you can probably not press X at all, and still be fine. It ended up feeling like less of a game when I figured that out. However, you did make a few things very nicely. The graphics were simple and elegant. The filter made the visuals a bit more interesting, and the intro was honesty what I liked the most.

colludium says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41am

I love the retro visual effects and animation.

miotatsu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:19am

very confusing to me; a lot of mental over-head for someone just jumping into it for the first time, and that's made worse by the fact that there was no in-game instruction/tutorial. Otherwise, good job

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:52am

Some cool retro graphics, nice audio too!

treeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:49am

I like the look of it but I found the growing too much or too small confusing.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:08am

Interesting, simple and fun game!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:07am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]