Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

HUNGRY CTHULHU

by KodingNights - Compo Entry

Thank you for trying HUNGRY CTHULHU
-------------------------------------

Destroying Earth is hungry work.

Cthulhu has woken from a millennia long slumber and has finally woken up... and he is HUNGRY! Help Cthulhu build up some energy!

Kill all humans! Humans are so delicious! Then TURN THE WORLD INTO FLAMES!

Clear all levels to win the game!

REQUIRES JAVA (installed on most computers)

STARTING INSTRUCTIONS

Windows
Right click HungryCthulhu.jar, Open with.../Java Platform SE Binary
or
Double click run.bat

Mac:
Double click the jar file

Linux:
From the working directory:
chmod a+rx run.sh
bash run.sh

Alternative (all platforms)
In the working directory, type 'java - jar HungryCthulhu.jar' (no hyphens) - requires java on the path

CONTROLS

ESCAPE KEY exits the application

Keyboard
WASD to move
Space to attack

Mouse
Drag to move
Left click to attack

...or a combination of the above

I hope you enjoy playing the game as much as I enjoyed making it!

Please supply a comment with constructive criticism when you rate the game, I enter Ludum Dare to become a better game designer/programmer!

- DKoding / Koding Nights

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#303Audio3.08
#348Fun3.19
#386Theme3.51
#465Overall3.13
#568Graphics2.89
#611Mood2.75
#623Humor2.34
#730Innovation2.56

Comments

thx4nothing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43am

The game is very smooth, I like it :D
I had fun playing as Cthulhu and eating humans, but I think it was nearly impossible to dodge the bullets of the soldiers^^

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:49am

Really liked the pounce move :) hard to master.

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:10am

Nice one! But the 4th level is really hard for me lol

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:13am

Nifty, like the lighting effects & the movement of the humans. Could *really* have benefited from some kind of Human Radar, often took me quite a while to track down the last guy :p

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15am

Hard but really nice one!

scorched says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:17am

Have a crash right after splash screen. Here is the log: http://pastebin.ca/3126095

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21am

@scorched Thank you for reporting this! It seems your graphics card maybe is not hardware accelerated or has limited memory? What are your specs?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:26am

I quite liked it however allot of the time I didn't understand what some graphics were and I had 1 point still on my health when it said that I died.

otherwise though, the game was very fun. one of the better ones.

lanza says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42am

It's very fun and addictive, well done

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:59am

Pretty good! Hunting down the stragglers got pretty annoying (and time consuming), and it didn't seem that hard (I only went below 20 health once) - but aside from those minor complaints, it was probably the most fun one I've played so far.

Maybe if you had more time you could do a different graphics/sound theme for each level? They were good but they got a bit repetitive.

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45am

Great, another LibGDX game :-)

Entertaining game, and surprisingly hard, especially in the later levels where the soldiers have fortified themselves indoors.

Starting off the player in the middle of a group of soldiers in the later levels was a bit unfair :-D

grynca says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:46am

great main character and animation,
finding remaining humans is a little boring.

NexusBreaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:49am

pro
+ beautiful light
+ nice sounds and music
con
-graphics are not so beautiful

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56am

@Slashee the Cow Thank you! Yes I will continue on this game POST-LD to improve it in many ways!

@Somnium LibGDX is great!

@lanza Thank you!

@thebrickanator Yes the stats update once a second only...

@DragonXVI Thank you! Yes a radar would be nice, I considered it but thought the slime would tell you where you'd already been. LOVE your entry by the way.

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:09am

Pros :
- solid gameplay.
- smooth controls
- sounds and lightning

Cons :
- You should maybe have added an arrow pointing to the last human on the map. Easier to find.

Great job anyway

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:16am

Good to see a LibGDX user!

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:03am

Nice. The use of lights is very cool.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:05am

nice

games-placeo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:08am

Excellent game! I had a great deal of fun playing.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:23am

Fantastic game! The blood explosion is awesome!
Simple and neat, music is pumping and makes me jump straight into the action.

Job well done!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29am

THAT WAS SMOOOOTH.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:50am

Pretty nice. Fun at the beginning, but got boring rather quick, needs more variation, enemies, etc.
Explosions got pretty loud, but the music was nice.
Controls are a bit awkward - WASD + click is slower compared to the 'dragging' method, but that one is a bit more chaotic.
Also, the barrage of bullets in later levels got impossible to dodge.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52am

@Aurel Bílý Thanks for your constructive comment, unfortunately I did not get enough time to tweak at the end, but I have finished the game so it is possible!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Pretty nice game!

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I found the castle or whatever with tons of this crazy dudes, they were running lick cockroaches and I ate them all. well. nice. Bugged on the last guy though, couldn't eat him.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

@azakhary Thanks for telling me about this bug, I'll look into it!

Hurlenuit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Good game, i'm glad i took the time to dowload it.

It feels very satisfying when you achieve to eat a large group while avoiding bullets.

Difficulty at the last level was good for me, a little bit more challenging.

Finding the last survivor is sometimes really frustrating.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Quite interesting. Engine looks interesting too :D
Nothing too bad to say about. I like the contols, i like sounds and the music, the AI is hard enough to make game enjoyable.
But I would like to see a pointers for people, because it's pretty hard to find them, IMO

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46pm

MWAHAHAHAHA I HAVE EATEN ALL THE HUMANS!!!! Anyway, excellent game! It plays very smooth, the graphics are nice, the music made me want to rock out! I also wanted to pat you on the back for the white trail and blood stains as they helped me navigate around the map to find the last humans. Excellent design choice! This is probably a keeper on my pc.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Cthulhu destroys everything. Game is hard and nice. effect and movements are neat. Cool game what so ever! Good work

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Amazing!

cgmorton says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Some thoughts: The white humans move as fast as I do, so chasing them down is just a hassle, never mind finding them. I'm also not sure why you don't just attack automatically, since the hitbox seems to stay out for the whole duration of the attack anyway. Also I wish the drag move could be combined with the asdw move, but it seems that the keyboard overrides the drag.

On a totally different note, the character design doesn't remind me of Cthulhu at all :P

Fun game overall though.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00pm

liked it

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The batch file didn't open the game for me, but the java file did. I'm on Windows 7. As well, the game crashed for me when I went into the building in level one. The graphics definitely leave something to be desired but I like your interpretation of Cthulhu.

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Its a really nice game, the controls (killing someone) with the mouse are a bit wonkie but all in all the game is good, nice Work

SkullPixel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I like this one a lot! The gameplay is good and smooth, music, well, I can't believe you fit it in! I am impressed by the music, especially compared to my own skill, which is to the point I just don't do Music. :)

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

great soundtrack! gameplay is smooth and solid, if a little repetitive. good effort!

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Really good game. Very hard to play without arrow keys on azerty keyboard.

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50am

Works well, sounds good. Cool stuff

andyman404 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Fun exciting arcade action. Well done! Humans are crazy!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

I'm still hungry...

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

@HiVE interactive Considering making a post-LD version to satiate that hunger :-)

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Really fun an smooth gameplay and eating the humans felt so satisfying!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:58am

It was frustrating to catch up to the humans (and then get shot by them) but it was quite satisfying seeing them explode into a ridiculous blood spray when I did.

The music didn't seem to fit the cthulhu theme that well; something more creepy might have worked better. It kinda made me think of sci-fi aliens or something instead of cthulhu.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:13am

Overall it was a well design game and I had a blast playing it. Things started getting tricky near the end and hunting the remaining humans got a bit tedious, other than those little nicpicks it was damn fun! Great stuff.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Nice performance! I like the graphics. Maybe you should add a mini map to enchance visibility. Adding other enemies with specific pattern would be great too

KodingNights says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Thanks for all the ratings and all your comments! I will continue working on this game after judging, so I can incorporate all your ideas and fix the problems you mention.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:14am

A smooth easy to learn and hard to master gameplay ! Solid entry overall.

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:05pm

I enjoyed it! The animations for moving and attacking were pleasing to watch.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice game play mechanics. Animations look good. Well done.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Very cool game, the AI was impressive but the levels were a bit repetitive and the monster was a bit OP, at least in the first two levels I played.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:31am

I like the swish of the tail and the way the blood splatters is really satisfying! Movement is nice and smooth. Bit tough to dodge enemy attacks but you're very generous with the HP so it's fine!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice entry. Love the blood splatter. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/1VzFVc1MuWc

dollarone says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:33pm

The light inside the building is awesome. The game is smooth and plays well with the added challenge of mastering the attack animation. Would have liked some more speed as tracking down the humans is hard. One one level, after I was down to 2 humans, the attack button stopped working, which was frustrating! Anyway, good effort!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:04am

Good game! Map walls looked like buildings which was a little confusing, and level 5 was quite hard, but still fun. I loved the mouse controls, too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]