Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Blinky, The Simple Beholder

by twistedshield - Compo Entry

BUILD NOTES:
- No Audio! (sorry, I ran out of time)
- No animations for adventurers (again, ran out of time)
- I probably could have made prettier laser/particles, too.

Blinky, The Simple Beholder has been stuck underground guarding his dungeon for too long, and now he just wants to go out and explore the outside world!
There's only one problem... in order for Blinky to get outside he has to sneak past a hoard of dangerous adventurers!

Blink is a strong beholder, so he can blast away the adventurers with his magic eyes! He can't really control his strength though, so every time he uses his magic eyes, they explode!
Can you help Blink get outside without blowing up all of his eyes?

Controls:
X to Start
Arrow Keys to Move

Instructions:
Venture through each level of the dungeon until you reach the outside world!
Hide in the shadows to avoid being seen by the adventurers.
If you get seen, Blink will blast away the adventurers, but lose one of his eyes in the process!
If Blinky loses all of his eyes the game is over... :(


Created by Benn Lockyer for Ludum Dare 33.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#345Theme3.57
#528Innovation2.90
#574Humor2.45
#615Fun2.80
#655Overall2.93
#659Audio1.73
#692Graphics2.61
#710Mood2.59

Comments

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:08am

Does this game even have an ending? I went through 15 levels and I just get messages like "don't give up" or "I can almost smell the air" or something.
Solid game though.

Slandercakes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Simple game, fun to play for a shortwhile but gets repetitive quickly because it doesn't seem to get gradually more difficult - the difficulty seems slightly random at times. Good job though!

twistedshield says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Thanks for the feedback! The level design was done really quick, so I'm not surprised there's some inconsistencies with the difficulty.
And yeah, there's definitely an ending :)

Realize2D says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12am

don't really understood the mechanics, but the graphics were nice.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13am

nice game nice idea keep going good job!

Integershift says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13am

I let blinky down :(

Was fun at the beginning but didn't seem to add anything new. I also think an up and down could have been fun.

GameQuester says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16am

Yeah a bit repetitive after a while. I played to level 12. I had fun while playing it, good job!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:16am

I f***ing love stealth games. Good Job

anjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20am

Very cool game idea! You should definitely flesh it out some more.

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

I like the game, new way to play. Haha I don't know if someone do this, but I love to burn these adventures.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46am

Interesting mechanic, pretty repetitive. Mostly seemed a waiting game, not really that difficult.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07am

Error when running the Linux version: ./Blinky_LINUX_v1.0.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libXrandr.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Saphyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

Nice game :-) Not so innovative, but I had fun playing it :-)

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:10am

It neat and I think it would be great as a touch game. Well Done :D

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:16am

I like the initial concept and I think if developed further it could be fun! I'm rating highly because it is a jam and I understand the time restraints.

twistedshield says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Thanks for all the kind comments! I completely agree it can get repetitive, but I'm also really happy that people are having fun playing it! :)

Somfin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Good excuse for lost lives, but the central mechanic is done to death.

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

Loved the idea behind the game. Died at level 11 so not sure what kinds of gameplay innovations you have after that, but would have been nice to see a little more variation and even see Blinky do more against the guards.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Simple but fun and solid. Good job.

Jimbly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57am

Eye've always wanted to play a beholder.

Brelx says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:58am

Seems to just be a test of patience at times, but still a pretty cool game. I tried my best to not let Blinky down, but I lost at level 11.

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

Neat idea! Putting in some additional mechanics or level options would probably help replayability.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

died at level 11, interesting mechanic.

chabuduo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:38am

Interesting idea! getting spotted usualy kills you, so its a fresh take!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:37am

Nice game

maguera93 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54am

Good job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:58am

Nice game, but a bit too simple. It's basically just moving left and right.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34am

Feels a bit slow, which I found unsatisfying. But it's an interesting concept! With some more polish to the gameplay and backstory it could probably turn into a really cool and unique game.

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:24am

Reminds me of Mario for some reason. I think it's because of the graphics. Good job :D

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42am

Fun mechanic, good execution.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]