Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are what you eat

by woodenrabbit - Compo Entry

Clear the random level of bad guys. Click with your mouse to move and attack. If you defeat an enemy then click on its corpse to gobble it up and gain some health.

I definitely suggest you use a mouse to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#211Audio3.27
#532Fun2.93
#568Graphics2.89
#683Overall2.89
#826Innovation2.30
#912Theme2.15

Comments

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:35pm

This is a slick game! I really like the random levels -- they're generated in an interesting way.

I found the game a bit too easy -- I could just click furiously on the enemies and I seemed to well that way. It would be nice to make some tougher enemies (perhaps with one-shot kill, but slow bullets which you can dodge).

NineBears says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

For some reason I love the music. Other than that the game is pretty basic, but I did enjoy the eating enemy mechanic. I also felt that the range on all the characters might be a bit too short.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:38pm

First off I want to say very good use of path finding.

I wish I didn’t have to do that second click to get the health off the enemies but that is a minor complaint on what is a very good game.

Technically it is a very well put together game, if you had of added a small upgrade system or high scores it would have had loads of replayability with the randomised levelled.

Koba0100 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Lovely level generation and very smooth to play! I also really liked the music (though I'm not sure how... monstrous it is?) However, with a bit of furious clicking, you're practically invincible, difficulty ramping up after beating a level would be a cool addition!

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02am

the audio was great.

the game was pretty decent, though very hard to play on a touchpad. I'll have to try this again with a real mouse.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:28am

Good Path finding. Very nice game..Good job

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:31am

Simple but engaging.

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:36am

I really like the feel that the game had in terms of movement and attacking in a range. I like the grid layout was really aesthetically pleasing. Also like the use of alpha on the tiles and stuff (really helped with the aesthetics). Like others have said, it would be great if there were more complexities to the game or more mechanics. But you did a great job. I also like the health bars and the good path finding the enemies had.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:10pm

nice level generation! A bit easy, but fun!

TMW says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Its a very good start, I recommend keep work in this game in the future if you have time. For example, make powerups, different enemies, (I better like skillshot attacks) so maybe change that (for example shoot with "space" and to mouse position).
Gj with the random map and pathfinding.

01010111 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:49pm

This is a really solid foundation for something really awesome! I'm gonna be peeping that level generation in your source :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]