Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Omnipotent Program

by AnaglyphCoding - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT NOTE: below will be 2 download links. Both include the runnable game and the source code, however the top link includes the game's OST and so the download itself is much greater. If you don't want the OST, use the second link. Both should be expected to work properly on Windows and Linux, however OSX is unknown. If anyone can try these games on OSX, please let me know the result in the comments.

The Omnipotent Program(OP) is a game where the rules can be changed. It takes place in a world under the control of The OP- a program that handles everything that happens in the gaming world that is become increasingly aggravated at the fact that the player always seems to win against the enemy. One day, he decides to even out the playing field... upon figuring out that in order to win the game you must be the player, he decides to body-swap the player and the enemy. The outcome could be disastrous...

This game features a complex AI/PLAYER switch game mechanic that is likely to create a lot of bugs, however I have playtested as much as I can and so far the experience has gone just fine. However, don't use this as a reason to not expect bugs.

The player uses a disc in which they can throw at the enemy. When the enemy and player switch, the enemy will now shoot the disc at the player.

Upon destroying the enemy in it's monster form, you will proceed to the Master Program room, where you must figure out how to destroy the OP.

After that, RUN!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#457Innovation3.00
#483Audio2.67
#583Humor2.43
#594Graphics2.85
#674Mood2.65
#705Theme2.97
#761Overall2.76
#764Fun2.56

Comments

wicht says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:48am

Works on my Mac. Nice mechanic. I didn't really get if i hit the monster or not as there is some feedback on hit missing.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51am

A pretty big game, but overall a good one :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:03pm

I had a lot of trouble from the introduction figuring out just what I was supposed to be doing. Then after I killed(?) the monster(?) in the first bit, and the monster(?) went into the next room with the program(?) it just stopped moving forward and the graphics kept shuddering. I left it for a little while and it didn't seem to go any further.

And the music. Sounded cool at first. Thirty seconds later, not so much.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Nice music and art but its a bit confusing how you play

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:45pm

For those wondering why the enemy stops moving at the last room, you're supposed to release the blocks in front of the enemy in order to push it into the program and destroy it. Hope that clears things up a bit. Thanks for playing :)

mathias234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Over all nice, the music i find a bit annoying, i cant take repeating 8bit music

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The first set of controls doesn't seem to work for me. I would prefer to use that, because using Q for shooting the disks, having to move my middle finger over my ring finger is not a comfortable control scheme in my opinion.
Otherwise, the mechanic is pretty clever and I'm giving you a fair score for innovation and theme execution.
Nice game overall, but still has it's flaws.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Interesting game. I included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/SB3lix7PW1A

Grhyll says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:13am

Can't play :( I downloaded the second pack, but there is no .exe in it or what, just the assets and the source code...

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Nice mechanic, pretty interesting one :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:41pm

The mechanics are original but a bit strange. I could pass the first boss because the distribution of the keys are not the best option to play without problems. The graphics and music are nice, but you must improve the control and add some story clues to improve the narrative of the game. Nice job!

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Nice gameplay concept and good pixel art.

glerikud says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Very interesting idea and mechanics. The music was too short though, and it felt repetative.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nice entry, The mechanics are a bit hard to figure out at first, the graphics are good, the music as well, and sound wise i dig the atari sound effects that appear at the end :)

I think i found a small glich, in the bonus minigame room (collect all the bits) at some point i threw my disk and it was stuck in a wall with no way to retreive it

razieliyo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Good job, loved the graphics too much!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Really nice audio.

Nurbs says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:22am

Well, I beat it, I think. It's an interesting concept but it's too unpredictable to play reliably I think.

wallmasterr says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:28pm

nice mega man type feel and the swaping fit the theme nicely

JonathanG says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

It looks good, but it's hard to figure out what's going on! The disc flies everywhere, and it's difficult to tell what's damaging what, and which health bar is which?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]