Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Coconuts

by congusbongus - Compo Entry

Drop coconuts on hapless tourists in this rhythm arcade game!

You can only throw coconuts on the beat, so listen to the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#91Audio3.58
#101Humor3.63
#163Fun3.51
#343Mood3.17
#347Innovation3.19
#527Overall3.05
#582Graphics2.87
#880Theme2.38

Comments

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very cool idea and nice implemented. I got 3100 points.
I like it

Sadale says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Doesn't load here. The progress bar stucks at the last bit.
Using google chrome.

Malor says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Very nice game!

lanestp says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Fun, I'm not sure if there is a strategy beyond hammering spacebar...
I got 9400 points!

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Nice implementation, but maybe the coconuts should go more in the place you poke or something so you could have more the "i'm doing something as i want" feeling (dont know if i explained myself) Also I m playing from my android on the browser and can't see all the screen, toy should resize it acording to the screen. Anyway i will play with the browser after rating, good job!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

Wonderful. I got 9900 points and a QUADRUPLE COCONUT KILL (you really should reward combos). Great game, audio 5/5

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:56am

@peterthehe thanks! You are right combos should be more obvious, they already give you more score but you may not have noticed because the different enemy types are worth different points already.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:28am

Amazing XD it was really fun to play, I also loved how every time you threw a coconut, it would land and make a sound in beat with the song :) great work

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54am

I got 8400 :D
The music is cool

OadT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:16pm

11400 points! :D Love the music. Controls feels delayed, but I thing it's intended (but make it feels a bit weird to play) anyway good work! :)

alkazar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Very nice!

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Nice game, but I find myself difficult to catch the rhythm and the direction.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Very nice :D Felt like an atari game, but remasted. Fun.

JustinJ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Fun game! Felt a bit imprecise to me, but I can see getting a bit more comfortable with it. I loved how the tourists bob up and down.

dhargan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

excellent entry! it could be perfect if the theme was "you are the tree". still great tho :D

lanestp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Fun! I got 9400!

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54pm

A neat little entry. Reminds me of the time when I was smaller and played flash games all day.

At first I wasn't quite sure whether my mouse cursor position or anything else I pressed had any influence on where the coconuts were going. A little arrow indicator that tells you where it will fly might have helped alleviate that question.

Sound wise this is perfectly fine. The track and effects are nicely goofy and fit into the overall theme of the work. Perhaps the effects could have been made a bit quieter to make the music stick out better.

The graphics are simple and charming. The coconuts feel a bit out of place as they are textured, whereas everything else is flat.

I really liked the bounce mechanic of the coconuts as a way to create combos. I think it could've been expanded further upon, where you have special types of coconuts that bounce differently, or fly differently, etc. That would have helped improve the variety of the game and increase its replayability.

Theme wise I'm sorry to say that I don't see this fitting in very well. While this palm tree is certainly a nuisance to the tourists, I wouldn't exactly call it a monster. Maybe an ape throwing around soft-drinks or something similar would have worked better.

BlockyFish says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Super fun game, managed to beat the high score - just.

games-placeo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Really fun game to play. Couldn't put it down for a while. If you choose to continue with it you should add some kind of award for getting past a certain score, like a medal?

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Nice game, the rythm is well visually represented. We don't have much control over the coconut's trajectory and we don't really have to throw them in rythm as our input seems to automatically triggers the throwing in rythm. Great game nonetheles.

MFEP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Really simple but fun, graphics could be better.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Fun little game

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Not sure how it relates to the theme, but it was a fun game. I got 9400.

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Got 11200 :) The best strat is rebounce using ! Nice concept ! Thanks for the game!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Very funny concept and a great take on the theme! Score attack games are always fun to play. Very nice music as well! :)

CowThing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Cute and fun game! My highest score was 9600.

folex70 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:09pm

wow very cool! i loved this happy music :) and game play 5/5

LogGiant says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:26am

That was a fantastic little game. I felt like the controls weren't as reactive to my input as I'd like, but it could have something to do with not being able to fire as the tree is moving between positions. I definitely laughed the entire time I was playing.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:49am

love the clouds, ocean, etc all dancing. Allowing attack only on beats also helps you to feel as part of the soundscape..pretty neat

good attention to detail with leaving the tourists upside down to mark past kill and making a sand noise for coconut impact.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:10pm

death by coconuts.you got the theme right were it need the music is fun and the gameplay feel relaxed.just getting that new highscore.

cudabear says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I have to admit I had way too much fun playing this game. My high score was 10,400. At first, I thought you could just spam the inputs to throw coconuts, but timing it with the music is definitely important. Simple graphics that work well, tie this all together! Well done!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Hilarious game ! The cloud animation made me laugh so hard ! I also really enjoyed playing this, the gamefeel is good ! Pretty memorable Ludum entry, take your nice score ;)

paracatgames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:36am

Funny little game. I really like the graphics and the bounciness of everything, but the best strategy seems to be just hitting spacebar as fast as you can.

HappyHour says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:43pm

The animations are cute! Very bouncy. It certainly feels good to hit multiple tourists with a single coconut.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I got 6700 points. Evil tree is evil! Great entry and loads of fun to play! Really enjoyed the artwork and bouncing to the music, while playing.

glerikud says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Coconutland is the Coconuts'

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:36am

Fun mechanics, fun looking graphics, fun concept.

piopio says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice game, but I'm not sure if it fits the theme.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Funny concept ^^

xWarZonex says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Good Stuff

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:21am

Ahhhh~~~ it is really so fun!~~
the Reborn-animation of these coconuts are so frequently and smooth~~~ The whole screen and progress are all full of rhythm~
Very Good~~ also the method of throw coconuts!
relax and fun~~ like it!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Neat game! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]