Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Echo,

by Robert - Jam Entry

Echo! is a game about sound. You play a blind goblin. And you need to escape the jail.

EDIT: I know that this game is simular to Dark Echo. I did not steal anything. Dark Echo did not invent soundwaves

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Innovation(Jam)3.96
#123Fun(Jam)3.67
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#263Mood(Jam)3.49
#295Audio(Jam)3.31
#637Graphics(Jam)3.14
#937Humor(Jam)1.71
#1007Theme(Jam)2.52

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Nifty game mechanic!

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very nice game! Would love to see more!

wicht says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Innovation full points! Very creative!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:03pm

This is fantastic. Took me some while to understand the mechanics, but it is a very nice idea very well implemented.
Well done.
I also see you had fun to create lots of levels.

steve says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Very cool idea, nice work

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

awesome!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Very nice: minimalistic and innovative. I liked all the sounds and thoughtfullness behind them (like the fact that guards don't just shoot at sight but first call out like "Hey!"). And even though it's not tied to the theme that well, this is a nice little game, I should say.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Really cool stealth mechanics, which made up a very unique and fun game experience. Sound effects were really good as well.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Really nice polish on your game. I really like the sound mechanic and the sound design was pretty good. The footsteps could use a bit more variety but overall nice work.

sprawl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Very interesting mechanic and visuals !

Howevever, It's hard to understand the Field of vision of the enemies sometimes and levels are sometimes really big but empty.

However, The game makes up for it with the fun gameplay.
Good job

Bitterdeath says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01am

Exquisite execution of a simple game-play concept.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18am

Really cool idea and pretty well-executed! I wish that I had a button to press to have the goblin make noise, though. I want more control over that.

Occasionally the guards would see me and run straight through walls.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

I already played one with the same mechanics lol :D
Nice one! :D

madcapacity says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:15am

Cool game mechanic!

jirrev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

Very Very nice game Mechanic. Reminds me of a game I saw a few months ago. The only problem is that I didn't realy see the theme coming back in the game.
I sure got a sence of dread due to the sounds though

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I really liked the game mechanic. You basically did Dark Echo in a matter of days.

Really nice accomplishment!

eLLectron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49pm

GG Dude it's really pleasent to play

faemir says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Fantastic minimal art design, enjoyable stealth puzzle game. Absolutely great! I love the mood conveyed by the art too.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I LOVED this, I found that the whole "hunter killer" style of stealth gameplay was really fun, it suited the theme really well in my opinion and I adored the unusual dark visual style, the audio was on point but could have done with an ambient background soundtrack to put in a bit of a scary factor and the visual style, the gameplay and the audio (especially the footsteps) gave an excellent mood, well done.

Spyboy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Nice! that's Dark Echo :)

Ethan Allwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Graphics are simple but effective. I like it!

dsoft20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Very innovative mechanic, great game!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Really nicely made game! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/vxHEoUQEThc

Teekeks says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:19am

That is a awesome mechanic you invented there!

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:18am

Dark Echo developer here. Nice game!

Fun fact: Dark Echo was originally built for Ludum Dare 26 (titled "You Must Escape"). I can also confirm that we did not invent sound waves. We totally would have, but someone else invented them first.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:58pm

unable to run the exe. Windows 10 ?

xvw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Truly innovative, and creative!
But, apart from the description, and the sound effect, the theme is not really apparent.
Nice work!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Very nice mechanic, very creative and unique, very fun... however it didn't fit with the theme at all in my opinion. However, the graphics(for what they were) were very appealing and added to the mood- gave full 5 stars for innovation and mood, well done! :)

Frozen Stick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Very cool game and very creative.Of course 5stars for the Innovation thing.

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:18pm

This once again shows that don't need amazing graphics to set up the mood. Well done! I think I have seen this "echo" mechanic before some ludum dares ago. Still. Good game.

parsia says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:25am

wow! one of the best ideas i've seen in ludum dare. very innovative. nice job dude.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:36am

Nice mechanic but the leveldesign was a bit straightforward. I think that new elements like enemies tracking noise + silent zone would have help to diversify situations. Your sounds really add a lot for the mood of the game.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Whilst it does look similar to Dark Echo since they both use soundwaves, gameplay-wise I think it's actually more similar to something like the Metal Gear series where you observe enemy patrol patterns and decide whether you want to sneak past or risk taking them out. Anyway, this was a pretty fun entry and I would definitely play a more fleshed out version in the future.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice entry, I love the echo mechanism ! Good job ;)

Louspirit says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Very great job on the sound and the mood. Lot of levels. Please thing about non-qwerty keyboard ! Use arrows instead of wasd

Patomkin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:30am

'Dem sounds of marching combat boots. Amazing mechanic, great execution. Enemies sometimes see and then run through walls, but that's easily avoided.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]