Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Purple Monster Attack

by KuGrou - Jam Entry

Downloads include Win,Max, and Linux standalone builds
Note: Mac and Linux standalone builds are untested, but should work fine.

I didn't have much time this weekend, but I wanted to at least make something. The only gameplay is to kill as many people as you can by flying over them. The game ends after a set amount of time (just after sundown). The controls are "tank-like", meaning that movement is relative to the direction the monster is facing, not the camera.

Default Controls (configurable from launcher in standalone builds):
Movement: WASD keys/Arrow keys/Left Stick(gamepad)
Turn: QE keys/LR(gamepad)
Pause/Quit at end: Esc/Start(gamepad)
Submit(in menu): Enter/Return/A button(gamepad)
Toggle image effects: U(Depth of Field) I(Fisheye) O(Noise and grain)

Gamepad notes: Windows is the only standalone I've only tested the defaults with an XBox 360 controller
WebGL gamepad is a bit wonky, but might work for you.


Credits/Tools:
Engine & Standard assets: Unity 5.1.2f1 Personal
Game Jam Template from Unity Technologies (primarily base for menus/pause screen)

Music: Base midi file generated from abundant-music.com
Edited using LMMS using the FLUID R3 soundfont by Frank Wen

Some Textures: cgtextures.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#486Audio(Jam)2.90
#507Mood(Jam)3.14
#519Theme(Jam)3.46
#612Graphics(Jam)3.20
#652Humor(Jam)2.57
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#700Fun(Jam)2.83
#763Innovation(Jam)2.71
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Floaty purple monster was good to control and play. Game needs more development and the placement of the camera needs improving.

kakarotsan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:23am

I'm running Linux.
Clicked Options -> Segmentation Fault lol

Interesting game with a nice atmosphere.
It would have been nice to have a countdown timer to let you know how much time you had left to take out people.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:21pm

It is me or the camera turn around you all the time?
The gameplay is simple and the dusty screen add to some "vintage" gameplay as I would say.
It is interesting but maybe not too much gameplay, would have like to see more about that flying monster! :)

PurpleApes says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Nice Purple monster!

Andy Gainey says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Looked pretty and had good touches of polish, such as the bouncing people and the monster's dreads.

Would have preferred a more traditional camera, rather than a fixed rotating one, especially given the lag it exhibits when the character is moving quickly to the side (I was able to get the monster complete out of frame; makes navigation frustrating). Also, the left/right rotations were inverted from what I would have preferred, but I was mostly able to adapt.

Not much gameplay, as had been noted. Almost gave up before it ended and I realized that there was a timer and a kill count. (I managed to skip that part of your description above, whoops!) But even just basic UI elements with those two values on them would have prevented me from thinking I was just running around in a small tech demo with no objective. The fixed camera made it particularly hard to recognize that there was a moving shadow that could be tracked.

Pleasantly moody music. I want to say that a few sound effects would have added a lot to the experience, but upon reflection, I realize that I felt as though I was watching a silent film, which could actually be a desired aesthetic which could be expanded upon. Nonetheless, I felt unpleasantly disconnected from the action, needing some additional feedback as I killed the people below the monster. Especially since I couldn't actually usually see the people below the monster, again due to the fixed camera.

Goodzilla says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I liked the music, but it didn't really feel, that relaxing music fits to a scene of a monster killing happy, jumping people.
Noise/Grain was quite irritating, a bit too much, maybe, but gladly you let us turn it of.
I did like the tentacles though :-)

Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:17pm

The camera made things difficult, it would be nice to have some camera control with the mouse or something. Tentacles were nice, though.

My best death toll was 78!

Vladik Plays says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Thats not a monster, that's a cute flying thingy!!!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:12pm

- controls were hard to get used to
- i feel like turn left and right are backwards
- good music
- the camera is a bit frustrating
- graphics look cool and i like the physics on his dreads
- not much there in terms of gameplay but seems like a good start for something

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]