Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Death from above

by Crosstales - Jam Entry

​Wait for the chopper in an apocalyptic environment!

Story:
You are the last one of them. A lonely knight, lonely standing against a never ending flood of hellish creatures. Your divine rifle, righteous fire to incinerate your foes, vile servants of the Devil himself. Yet there is to fulfill your destiny, your final quest. Now take your rifle. Bring vengeance to them and hope the rescue chopper will come and pick you up soon.

Gameplay:
Your standing on a rooftop in the middle of a park and you can navigate to four different points on the rooftop by pressing the A or D key. Look around with the mouse, shoot with left mouse button and use the right mouse button for aiming with a scope.

Genre:
First Person Shooter

Number of players:
1

Controls:
Mouse : Look around / aim
Right Mouse Button : Scope
Left Mouse Button : Shot
Ctrl : Shoot
Mouse Wheel : Zoom while scooping
Shift : Hold breath
Q Key : Switch weapon
A Key : Go to the point left
D Key : Go to the point right
Escape (ESC) Key : Abort the game

Team:
Stefan Laubenberger, Lucien Ryter, Fabian Wiktora, Alessandro Rubino

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#419Audio(Jam)3.04
#436Graphics(Jam)3.57
#485Fun(Jam)3.11
#642Humor(Jam)2.59
#655Mood(Jam)2.95
#694Overall(Jam)3.03
#804Theme(Jam)3.05
#928Innovation(Jam)2.42

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32am

could not get past the title screen....

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35am

Can't run on web thou. Thou the screenshots are pretty solid.

Heissayen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

Stuck in the title

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46am

What a joyride. It was a really fun game and the music was great. Loved the ending of it the most though

ARubino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53am

Sorry about that, the Intro scene was broken. We Uploaded a (hopefully) working version ;) Check it out! cheers

MattV says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56am

windows binary crashed my computer with a gnarly BSOD. Productin values looked great though I was excited to play until that happened!

Aevek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:00am

Shooting zombies in the dick in slow motion simulator 2015.
Love the use of the unreliable narration and that bullet time effect is seriously cool.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Pretty fun. Although it doesn't help that the controls screen is wrong (unless maybe you're left handed) and doesn't mention that you can use the scroll wheel to zoom. Also I killed them all with over 30 seconds left and had to sit there doing nothing.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Bit buggy but the slow motion stuff is crazy cool when it works! Might need some more polish, but the actual gameplay was satisfying

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:08am

The ending was a definite surprise, but I couldn't get my name to enter correctly in the paper.

DrZanuff says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:10pm

The game is a bit slow in my laptop even with the lowest configs, but well, my configs are not that good anyway. But i played even with that and the game is cool. I found one of the most fun bugs of this Ludum dare... there was an Zombie breaking dancing all over the floor, non-stop. Man I laughed... Congrats!

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Couldn't play the web version but the desktop version played well on the fastest settings.

The usual unity button problems are there but you can get past that by having your cursor slightly to the left of where the button is.

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Looks beautiful, unable to get past the main menu... (On Windows 10).

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:47pm

It's hard to target in a web version because of lag, I would add more action ;-) Nice camera movement while shooting!

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15pm

+1 for a web-based fps. The end made me burst out laughing. Good audio, good graphics, awesome shaders! Well done!

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I liked the idea, but having the people look like zombies caused the ending to not make sense. It seemed like lots of the people disappeared before I could even find them. My guess is they were running away, however they just disappeared in the middle of a field. If tht is the case there should have been some sort of indicator that it would happen.

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:06pm

FoV made me feel ill, but I'm prone to that.

Otherwise solid. Great music

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Wow, it took a while to download web play. Looks very cool. Easy to control the aim. Slow on my mac air.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Very enjoyable game with a twist at the end. The only problem is that it's not well optimised, at least the web version runs quite slowly.

taaboo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Haha the twist fit the theme perfecly. What a good ending.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Wow, that is a good looking game with really great control. The glitch and bizarre manifesto make it really hit home, dang. Nice job on this!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28am

That is a seriously cool bullet time effect. First time I played through, something errored and there was no countdown timer, so I didn't experience the end, which really is what makes the theme. I decided to try it again and the game worked as intended. Awesome ending. If you don't make it to the end, don't rate this game until you do. Great job Crosstales!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:19am

The game is well made, I thought the gun was broken until I realised you can zoom in with mouse wheel :) Still, one major complaint: the warping effect is too nauseous!

Grhyll says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:36am

Well, that was pretty fun to play :) At first I look at all these monsters and know I have to kill them! Then I see one of them just jogging... then another stretching... And another one breakdancing '_' That's when I understood that maybe I have a distorded vision of reality. But hey, they are monsters, so I kept shooting them until the freedom chopper came!
Quite fun :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:23pm

very funny outcome, I saw it coming a bit with the theme in mind and all but it was still pretty funny. A solid entry

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Liked the music, the zombies dancing and the end. Had some glitch with mouse control but I think it was because of the embeded webplayer.

terop2 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:24pm

works fine. Nice effect where the buildings move in wave like pattern.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Very interesting game, though I didn't appreciate it until the twist at the end. Actually pretty clever!

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Loved the kill-cam shots, controls a bit clunky at times. Saw the ending coming, but still a good one. ;)

MAnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:39am

Played until the end, nice ending.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:26am

very nice execution for a jam game. It was fun to play except the fact that no more "mosnters" seems to spawn after few times of playing. I would say 30-40s before the helicopter, there's nobody in the park. The end twist is rather good, and rather unexpected :)

mortus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:15am

Even before the ending I was constantly thinking: "I am a monster indeed, killing those innocent dancers!". And when the heli arrived I tried to kill the pilot immediately but I guess you can't do it. Or I just couldn't.

Fun game and great mood! Like the music also.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Very good entry. At one point I seemed to stop being able to shoot for some reason, but very well done. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I have to agree with the others that the twist was somewhat spoiled by the theme, but otherwise this game is highly competent all round!

sleazywizard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Hangs permanently at title screen in Web and OS X downloadables for me... could not rate.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I was half expecting the ending but otherwise it is a great sniping game (I appreciate accurate bullet physics!!) with nice graphics. I had definitely fun playing it. Windows download is down btw.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Really liked the twist at the end. Great work!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Quite a nicely done 3D game. It didn't run completely smoothly with the web player, but I did enjoy the twist at the end. ;)

Crosstales says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Hi dear OSX-friends

Unfortunately, the standalone-build for OSX didn't work. Since Unity 5.1.3 (or earlier versions?) the x86 (32 bit) won't work. We had to compile it with "x86_64" and it's now working on our old iMac.
Sorry for the inconvenience!

Keep on gaming!

Crosstales says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:17pm

@all

Thank you very much for the valuable and kind reviews!
You're the best! :-)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:44pm

The snipping system reminds me a lot the "sniper elite" one. I laughed when I saw some dancing zombi animation. Good job!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:19am

Neat graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/OjNOJwfYtGQ

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]